Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Base => TCB Talk => Topic started by: curaga on September 03, 2010, 11:48:36 PM

Title: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 03, 2010, 11:48:36 PM
Quote
Want to help translate the base GUIs?

https://translations.launchpad.net/tctools



Our translations are hosted at Launchpad, so you will need an account there.

The front page shows all languages with any existing translations, if you'd like to translate to a new language, go here:
https://translations.launchpad.net/tctools/trunk/+pots/tinycore


The translations will be snapped ~once per release to the base-locale.tcz extension. The first release to support base apps' translations is 3.1.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: vinnie on September 04, 2010, 09:36:07 AM
Finally! great idea :)
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: eluring on September 06, 2010, 11:29:43 AM
great deed  :)
Quote
The first release to support base apps' translations is 3.1.
will the translations be in a rc before final?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 07, 2010, 04:30:46 AM
Supported in the rc series since 3.1 rc2:

Quote
* Internationalization (setlocale) added to FLTK GUIs.

However the extension will only be updated for stable releases.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on September 08, 2010, 06:14:47 AM
is the "&" supported? So the user can use alt+something?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: eluring on September 08, 2010, 07:10:41 AM
Quote
is the "&" supported? So the user can use alt+something?
Yes, it is.
I have just tried.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on September 08, 2010, 07:20:43 AM
how have u tried?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: eluring on September 08, 2010, 07:45:41 AM
Quote
how have u tried?

my
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cmdline... lang=de_DE.UTF-8 ...

set locale to lang in
Quote
sudo getlocale.sh
no reboot

go to https://translations.launchpad.net/tctools/trunk/+pots/tinycore/it/+translate (https://translations.launchpad.net/tctools/trunk/+pots/tinycore/it/+translate)
there is a link:
Quote
Download translation
(that is your translation)

I have downloaded mine as .po
copied to /home/tc
and renamed as tinycore.po

get the extension gettext.tcz
make .mo file
Code: [Select]
msgfmt tinycore.po -o - > /usr/local/share/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/tinycore.mo
launch Apps and/or Panel

and look at your translations

to correct anything:
geany tinycore.po
save and
Code: [Select]
msgfmt tinycore.po -o - > /usr/local/share/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/tinycore.morelaunch Apps and/or Panel
loop until satisfied
then upload tinycore.po

don´t forget to save your tinycore.mo
Code: [Select]
echo "usr/local/share/locale/${LANG:0:2}/LC_MESSAGES/tinycore.mo" >> /opt/.filetool.lst

hope that helps (if not, ask again, of course )
ciao

edit:
attached screenshot shows how it looks in my translation
(tested locally, uploaded, downloaded tested, changed and uploaded again)
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on September 16, 2010, 06:09:31 AM
Altough I've translated all the items I still see some windows still in english:
-appsaudit
-wallpaper
-swap

And what about the shell scripts? Like update apps for example?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 16, 2010, 06:28:23 AM
Fixed wallpaper and swapfile. Appsaudit would need refactoring, I'll ping Robert on that.

Shell scripts won't get translations.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: eluring on September 16, 2010, 06:31:00 AM
Quote
And what about the shell scripts?
I am working at usbinstall (UTF-8 in urxvt)
wait awhile, please  :)
edit: script and pot finished, just translating to de

@curaga
which do you prefer?
1: messages of all scripts in tc_scripts.po, or
2: add them to tinycore.po
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 16, 2010, 09:00:30 AM
Let's keep tinycore.pot for the GUIs for now.

I'm against translating shell scripts, because it would clutter them, and add ~36kb of binaries. Besides losing readability, they have to be able to work in all consoles, not just urxvt with a good font - the linux console is restricted to vga fonts, IIRC 256 glyphs.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: eluring on September 16, 2010, 11:23:58 AM
Quote
Let's keep tinycore.pot for the GUIs for now.
OK: tc_scripts.po

Quote
I'm against translating shell scripts, because it would clutter them
Could you please explain what is clutter?
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
# (c) Robert Shingledecker 2010
# After boot setup for TCE directory and backup

# i18n by eluring 2010
#export TEXTDOMAINDIR=/usr/local/share/locale
export TEXTDOMAINDIR=/home/tc/tc_scripts # first test only
export TEXTDOMAIN=tc_scripts
source /usr/local/bin/gettext.sh

. /etc/init.d/tc-functions

[ -f /opt/.tce_dir ] || exit 1
read TCEDIR < /opt/.tce_dir
if [ "${TCEDIR:0:8}" != "/tmp/tce" ]; then
  echo
  echo -n "${GREEN}`eval_gettext \"Your TCE Drive, ${TCEDIR}, has already been selected!\"`${NORMAL}"
  sleep 5
  exit 1
fi

TMP="/tmp/tcesetdev.$$"
TMP2="/tmp/tcesetdev2.$$"
awk '/mnt/{printf "%s\n",$2}' /etc/fstab|sort -n > "$TMP"
while read F; do
  if  grep -qv ${F##*/} /etc/sysconfig/cdroms ; then echo $F >> "$TMP2"; fi
done < "$TMP"
mv "$TMP2" "$TMP"

[ -s "$TMP" ] || exit 1
echo "${GREEN}"
select "tce-setdrive - `gettext \"Choose Drive for TCE directory\"`" "$TMP" 1
echo "${NORMAL}"
ANSWER=`cat /tmp/select.ans`;rm "$TMP"
[ "$ANSWER" == "q" ] && exit 1

DEVICE="$ANSWER"
LOCAL_DEVICE="${DEVICE##/*/}"
[ -z "$LOCAL_DEVICE" ] && exit 1
find_mountpoint "$LOCAL_DEVICE"
if [ -n "$MOUNTPOINT" ]; then
   if [ "$MOUNTED" == "no" ]; then
      mount "$MOUNTPOINT"
   fi
fi  

TCEDIR="$ANSWER"/tce
if [ ! -d "$TCEDIR"/optional ]; then
  sudo mkdir -p "$TCEDIR"/optional
  sudo chown -R ${USER}.staff "$TCEDIR"
  sudo chmod -R g+w "$TCEDIR"
fi
[ -f "$TCEDIR"/mydata.tgz ] || touch "$TCEDIR"/mydata.tgz
echo "$TCEDIR" > /opt/.tce_dir
echo
echo -n "${GREEN}`eval_gettext \"Your TCE Drive, \\\${TCEDIR}, is now enabled!\"`${NORMAL}"
sleep 5
exit 0
Quote
have to be able to work in all consoles
why that?
We are talking only about cpanel which is launching one console.
Anyway, the work is done:
usbinstall tce-setdrive and tce-update are ready to be translated.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 16, 2010, 11:43:08 PM
Quote
Could you please explain what is clutter?

Well, all the calls to *gettext. Triple quoting on the last echo (\\\${TCEDIR}).
Because of all the calls, boot or shutdown scripts are a definitive no. For others, there is the terminal requirement (+ the size increase of gettext and gettext.sh).

Quote
why that?
We are talking only about cpanel which is launching one console.

Micro Core. Or people who have a preference to work in the console, even when X is available.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: roberts on September 17, 2010, 04:19:10 AM
Fixed wallpaper and swapfile. Appsaudit would need refactoring, I'll ping Robert on that.

Shell scripts won't get translations.

I will adjust Appsaudit to support translations.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: roberts on September 19, 2010, 05:28:53 AM
Curaga has come up with a much better method, function, to support translations.
Working great in Appsaudit.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: rodin.s on October 07, 2010, 06:32:52 AM
Supported in the rc series since 3.1 rc2:

Quote
* Internationalization (setlocale) added to FLTK GUIs.

However the extension will only be updated for stable releases.

I  have downloaded tinycore-3.1 but I can't find setlocale GUI. Can you help me.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on October 07, 2010, 06:48:11 AM
There is no GUI for picking a locale per se, you would add support with the getlocale extension and select with a boot param.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: rodin.s on October 08, 2010, 10:07:13 AM
Thanks. Now I understand. My mistake.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: rodin.s on October 30, 2010, 11:40:34 AM
I have made Russian translation and Russian .mo file. But it does not work. It seems like all this interface does not understand utf-8. When I put .mo file where it should be and start some applications - I have strange signs instead of letters.
Looks similar to aterm and Cyrillic symbols which are OK in LXterminal.
Is there any chance for Russian translation to work in TC?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on October 31, 2010, 12:03:00 AM
No utf-8 is a limit of fltk, sorry.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: TCP312 on December 17, 2010, 02:21:20 AM
is there  Chinese ?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Star Brilliant on January 20, 2011, 08:36:46 PM
I got a problem. Chinese charactors were shown incorrectly in aterm.
Also, I cannot use fcitx in many of the fltk applications.

I think it's goot to offer xfonts-wqy in repo. Why not offer tty-wqy-zenhei as well?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: MrG on December 29, 2011, 04:20:38 AM
Hello all! I'm a 16 year old boy from belgium that's studying IT management and has recently fell in love with tinycore. I've already been using linux or about 3 years now and I like learning about it and tinkering with it.
But enough about me, what I'd actually like to say is that I'd like to help this great distro and I think I could do tthat by helping translating in dutch (I'm from flanders) since that hasn't been done a lot according to launchpad.
I also hope to learn a lot here!
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: vinnie on December 29, 2011, 07:21:10 AM
 ;)
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on December 29, 2011, 09:19:12 AM
Please do. You don't need to ask us to do so, registering an account at launchpad is enough - we have set translations to be available to all who want to help.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on March 29, 2012, 12:56:56 AM
transaltion page "says" that everything is translated into italian but appsaudit still has some menu items in english:
-missing dependencies reporting
-fetch missing dependencies
-select mirror

scm broser in almost completely untranslated
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on March 29, 2012, 01:59:21 AM
Yes, I usually sync the translations once per release. Haven't yet done so for 4.4, will do today.

edit: 4.4 template uploaded, it may take a day or two for it to become translatable. base-locale.tcz also updated to latest translations.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on March 30, 2012, 06:27:48 AM
Appsaudit is now ok, but scm browser no.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on March 30, 2012, 07:24:24 AM
Yes, the new template can be translated now. The page shows 17 strings not yet translated to Italian, most are in scmbrowser.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: AbNoRMiS on March 30, 2012, 02:16:32 PM
once i tried the base-locale.tcz but it not support unicode
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on March 30, 2012, 09:41:14 PM
The translations are UTF-8, actually. It's FLTK that doesn't support unicode.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: AbNoRMiS on April 01, 2012, 11:28:45 PM
if i understand correctly then if lang settings in tinycore set with utf8 coding
then basic guis translations will not be displayed correctly in any case
because fltk does not support unicode?
or maybe there is some way to resolve this issue?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on April 02, 2012, 06:34:18 AM
See fltk_projects_unicode in the repo; fltk 1.3 does support it, but it's bigger.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: AbNoRMiS on April 02, 2012, 09:21:35 AM
i understand that not worth powder and shot :)
and moreover that core version does not match
actually it was not necessary but just was wondering
sorry for disturbing
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Onyarian on May 11, 2012, 09:17:04 AM
There are some items in Apps and ScmApps to be translated for tc4.5.2!
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on May 12, 2012, 01:08:31 AM
Sure, initiating the upload. Sad that this can't be automated.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: ananix on September 13, 2012, 06:50:48 AM
I dont get it.
I would really like to participate as im translating some of the tc- programs into danish anyway i might as well do it the right way so all can benefit from it the easiest way.
How does one get the translations working in TCL? i thought i had my envoriment set for danish on serverel machines but i have never seen a danish translation even though i see there is quite alot.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 13, 2012, 07:28:34 AM
1. Install support for your chosen locale, via getlocale.tcz. da_DK maybe?
2. Set it, either via bootcode, shell start file, .profile, or any other desired way. The getlocale output suggests the correct bootcode.

Now all apps that have translations for that language will show them. Dates, numbers etc will also be in the local form.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: ananix on September 13, 2012, 09:21:19 AM
i use da_DK.utf-8 and as i understand the languange docs it should be utf-8

But ok I guess i should just help with filling up the gabs in the translations before winning about not seeing any danish translations in the programs :)

I think i get the locale.h and bindtextdomain path as the technique and the languange file needs to be present there...
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on September 13, 2012, 09:35:57 AM
Make sure you have base-locale.tcz loaded ;)

For example exittc seems to have the buttons and part of the text translated in Danish:
(http://i48.tinypic.com/288si05.png)
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: ananix on September 13, 2012, 10:28:01 AM
ha ha awesome! i did have that installed once but properly did not notice any changes as i had another purpose for it and have left it out since.
I love danish translation ha ha
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: ananix on September 13, 2012, 10:43:35 AM
May i urge any danish translators to use the following guidelines provided by the DKUUG sub division KLID (Commercial Linux-Intresents Denmark), as also encouraged and heavily supported by SSLUG

http://www.klid.dk/dansk/ordlister/ordliste.html
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Zendrael on November 15, 2012, 10:21:47 AM
Hi!

I just ended the translations to my language ( Brazilian portuguese - pt-BR ). Great afternoon!

Is there any other brazilian to check if everything is ok?

Thanks!

Title: Re: Translations
Post by: aus9 on November 15, 2012, 03:46:43 PM
to all

I have previously commented on terminal utf8 support in another thread. And the terminal lilyterm-locale seems to work quite well for me, but I am US lang

In building a tcz extension I noticed that ncursew seems to offer utf8 support, if that is useful

HIJACK

I know this is TCB talk but found it when looking at recent posts

1) I have just rebuilt aspell and its english dictionary---still testing not submitted

I have stated a tce forum post seeking possible requests for spell check lang packs here

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,14419.0.html
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on May 21, 2013, 01:10:23 AM
Hi

untranslated:

apps:
select fastest mirror
md5 checking
load app locally
check for orphans
dependencies and deletions
check onboot unneeded
onboot manteinance
ondemand manteinance
installation options
toggle default..
selective copy.....
quit

scmapps:
install
uninstall
delete
boot list manteinance
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on May 21, 2013, 02:38:50 AM
OK, queued update to launchpad. Too bad their auto-pull system is limited (can't pull git over http, several bugs open on that), so we still need to manually upload new templates.

Check the import queue on when the new template can be translated. Should be available in a few hours.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on October 08, 2013, 01:33:08 AM
many items remains in english, maybe a base-locale rebuild is needed. Thanks
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on October 08, 2013, 06:54:54 AM
Thanks. Base-locale in both 4.x and 5.x updated.

We have four new languages, and Italian is up to 100% coverage for 4.7.7 and 5.0, thanks to jls. (for 5.0.1 the new sudo text remains in English; it will be a few hours before it's translatable in launchpad)
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: jls on November 09, 2013, 12:13:52 PM
editor not translated
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on November 10, 2013, 12:52:17 AM
Patches welcome: editor comes from a FLTK example, it's not our code. See fltk_projects/editor in git.

It's not a fluid project either, so you can't just tick a checkbox, you need to edit the code for each string.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 07, 2017, 07:58:14 PM
Does the translations available in TC 7 or 8?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: polikuo on February 07, 2017, 10:44:43 PM
Does the translations available in TC 7 or 8?
Download and install the "base-locale.tcz"
Note that some languages (ex: Chinese) require the FLTK libraries compiled with xft support and a UTF-8 font to display properly.
The fltk-full.tcz (FLTK full support) should appear anytime soon.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 03:20:59 AM
I use RPi3 and seems base-locale.tcz isn't ported to PiCore 7.1beta4 or PiCore 8.

But anyway thanks for the response :)
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Misalf on February 08, 2017, 03:44:52 AM
You should be able to use these, as they don't seem to contain x86 binaries.
http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/tcz/getlocale.tcz
http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/tcz/getlocale.tcz.dep
http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/tcz/getlocale.tcz.md5.txt
http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/tcz/base-locale.tcz
http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/tcz/base-locale.tcz.md5.txt

Just make sure you use their deps from the armv7 repo.
http://tinycorelinux.net/8.x/armv7/tcz/
by looking at
http://tinycorelinux.net/7.x/x86/tcz/getlocale.tcz.tree
Code: [Select]
getlocale.tcz
   glibc_gconv.tcz
   glibc_i18n_locale.tcz
   glibc_apps.tcz
   dialog.tcz
      ncurses.tcz
   squashfs-tools.tcz
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 04:03:38 AM
Is it confirmed solution that will be implemented in next PiCore releases, or you need anybody who will test that things?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Misalf on February 08, 2017, 04:23:35 AM
AFAIK, bmarkus is alone on developing piCore, and he might have other priorities than locales. So if you would be willing to test and report success, I'm sure bmarkus would be glad to hear and might consider to add respective extensions to the piCore repo earlier than currently planned (if at all).
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 05:16:36 AM
I 've installed both getlocale.tcz and base_locale.tcz from x86 repos with deps from armv7 as you said.
In 7.1b4 system (I haven't a second microSD flash, so before i decided to try on current system).
Of cource I used deps from 7.x armv7 app version branch.

When getlocale.sh asked me for locales, i checked en_US.UTF-8/UTF-8 and ru_RU.UTF-8/UTF-8 only.
The mylocale.tcz is generated, and as result i got mylocale.tcz and base_locale.tcz packages installed.

But now I get a question, how i can set up boot args to set lang to new locale???

F2, F3, F4 keys don't work at boot time on Raspberry Pi - it uses different bootstrap scheme rather then classis x86 PCs.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Juanito on February 08, 2017, 05:22:38 AM
lang=en_US.UTF-8
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 05:31:56 AM
Where i must type that?
Just typing it after system load does nothing.

tc@box:~$ locale -a
C
POSIX
en_US.utf8
ru_RU.utf8

Two additional locales appears :)

But topic is about system app translations...
Where must I set lang that differs from en to test?
FAQ says to use boot args by pressing F2, F3 or F4 buttons, but they don't work, at least at my RPi3 during boot time.

Title: Re: Translations
Post by: Misalf on February 08, 2017, 06:48:31 AM
Add to cmdline3.txt
Code: [Select]
sudo mount /mnt/mmcblk0p1 ; vi /mnt/mmcblk0p1/cmdline3.txt
If you don't know the hotkeys used in the built-in  vi  editor, you might want to use  nano  instead (nano.tcz), or  editor  if you have a desktop.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: bmarkus on February 08, 2017, 06:55:05 AM
mc (Midnight Commander) is also there, it has a nice built-in editor.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 01:02:19 PM
Why cmdline3? No such file, only cmdline.txt is present. I added lang=ru_RU.UTF-8 to cmdline.txt.

Now locale is ru_RU by default, it's ok, Russian chars are good in Midori.

All applications' UI language is still English.
There is no RU translation ready yet or I missed something?
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 02:17:59 PM
Figured it out, there is no cmdline3.txt in 7.1b4, only in 8.1.5. I've bought second microsd card and will report later
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 08, 2017, 04:34:41 PM
I repeated x86 base-locale and getlocale packages installation for arm. But now for PiCore 8.1.5.

1 There was different warnings and errors in 7.1b4 and 8.1.5 during TC install process.
2 And there was one diference during getlocale installation - in 8.1.5 many similar warnings appears
LC_IDENTIFICATION: inknown standard `ru_RU:2000’ for category `LC_*’

But all installation processes finished.

After reboot:
- the both microSD cards, 7.1b4 and 8.1.5, shows english UI interface
- midnight commander in terminal emulator, 7.1b4 shows question (?) symbols instead russian chars, 8.1.5 shows double-spaced dirty glitches
- both systems has selected (ru_RU.UTF-8) locale

Midori isn't available for 8.1.5, so there is nothing to compare or analyze.

What else can i see/do/show and how it can help to get:
1 russian-translated GUI in X-session programs ?
2 correct russian chars in mc running in terminal emulator ?

Thanks for the patience and hints.
 
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: zmaster on February 19, 2017, 09:47:58 PM
I would like to help translate in Russian, but can't do this in launchpad, because they need user with karma 100+
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: koutsenko on February 19, 2017, 11:07:34 PM
Sorry guys, I installed KODI to RPi3 and installed to customer as offline presentation and slideshow player. Just turned off fsck checks and GUI clocks. So it was work task, it completed and I exit forum now. I wish you luck and want to make an advice - find a customers. Like embedded hw for TV or smth else.
Title: Re: Translations
Post by: curaga on February 20, 2017, 04:40:58 AM
I would like to help translate in Russian, but can't do this in launchpad, because they need user with karma 100+
There shouldn't be any such limit, I've asked why in #launchpad.