Tiny Core Linux

Off-Topic => Archive / Obsolete => Release Candidate Testing => Topic started by: roberts on November 21, 2009, 03:14:42 PM

Title: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: roberts on November 21, 2009, 03:14:42 PM
The Third Release Candidate of v2.6 (microcore_2.6rc3.iso), is now posted and ready for testing only.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release_candidates/microcore

microcore_2.6rc3.iso
microcore_2.6rc3.iso.md5.txt

Change log for v2.6rc3:

* Dropped upx'ed bzImage due to reported system errors.
* Updated rebuildfstab to reflect removals..
* Updated select utility added paging through long select lists.
* Updated tc-restore.sh. restore boot option overrides default backup location.

Notes:
You must have your tcz collection updated, i.e., all squashfs and all with 4096 block size.

Be sure to update your kernel..

The distribution files are also availble:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release_candidates/distribution_files

Please check md5sums after downloading..
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: jls on November 21, 2009, 03:34:19 PM
doesn't detect my PH (persistent home) on hda3, my backup and my tce dir.
hda3 is ext2.
my kernel line:
Code: [Select]
kernel (hd0,2)/tce/bzImage quiet embed lang=it_IT max_loop=120 tce=hda3 nodhcp home=hda3 settime kmap=it TZ=CET-1CEST-2,M3.5.0,M10.5.0 noutc
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: jpeters on November 21, 2009, 04:19:47 PM
doesn't detect my PH (persistent home) on hda3, my backup and my tce dir.
hda3 is ext2.
my kernel line:
Code: [Select]
kernel (hd0,2)/tce/bzImage quiet embed lang=it_IT max_loop=120 tce=hda3 nodhcp home=hda3 settime kmap=it TZ=CET-1CEST-2,M3.5.0,M10.5.0 noutc

Same on tc; problem restoring backup..so no files in $HOME, etc.
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: roberts on November 21, 2009, 05:52:01 PM
Works fine with this test setup
Code: [Select]

title Tiny Core on sda1 (home=sda4 opt=sda4 local=sda4 base norestore)
kernel (hd0,0)/tinycore/bzImage waitusb=5 quiet host=dev home=sda4 opt=sda4 local=sda4 base norestore tz=PST+8PDT,M3.2.0/2,M11.1.0/2 settime
initrd (hd0,0)/tinycore/tinycore.gz


Lets start by looking at a couple of files. Is your hda3 listed in fstab?
Please post the output of fdisk -l and cat /etc/fstab
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: roberts on November 21, 2009, 05:55:34 PM
doesn't detect my PH (persistent home) on hda3, my backup and my tce dir.
hda3 is ext2.
my kernel line:
Code: [Select]
kernel (hd0,2)/tce/bzImage quiet embed lang=it_IT max_loop=120 tce=hda3 nodhcp home=hda3 settime kmap=it TZ=CET-1CEST-2,M3.5.0,M10.5.0 noutc

Same on tc; problem restoring backup..so no files in $HOME, etc.

You quoted jls, Please post the output of showbootcodes
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: jpeters on November 21, 2009, 06:36:39 PM
tc@box:~$ showbootcodes
quiet restore=hda1/tc_backup2  tce=hda1/tcZ2 max_loop=100 noicons showapps
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: roberts on November 21, 2009, 07:14:24 PM
Hmm, I cannot reproduce.
I have tested a similar configuration and it is working as expected on a test machine:
Code: [Select]
quiet host=dev tz=PST+8PDT,M3.2.0/2,M11.1.0/2 waitusb=5 tce=sda1/tce-micro restore=sda1/mystuff pause

Does adding a waitusb=5 help?
Is hda1 listed in fstab?
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: jpeters on November 21, 2009, 10:25:25 PM
Does adding a waitusb=5 help?
Is hda1 listed in fstab?
Yes, fstab looks good; waitusb doesn't help. I'm using grub with boot from hda3.   Extensions all working fine,
just not loading the backup. New bzImage works fine with tinycore_2.6rc2.  
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: roberts on November 21, 2009, 10:36:23 PM
OK. Thanks for the feedback. I think it may be a race condition. I might have a fix. We will see.
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: jls on November 22, 2009, 01:36:05 AM
works ok now with waitusb=3
showbootcodes:
quiet waitusb=3 embed lang=it_IT max_loop=120 tce=hda3 nodhcp home=hda3 settime kmap=it TZ=CET-1CEST-2,M3.5.0,M10.5.0 noutc

my backup is in the tce dir
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: jpeters on November 22, 2009, 01:52:22 AM
I got my backup to boot as well, by placing backup in the tce_dir.  Only problem is that the noicons
bootcode gets removed:

quiet   tce=hda1/tcZ2 max_loop=150 showapps

edit: solved that by placing noicons up front:

quiet noicons  tce=hda1/tcZ2 max_loop=150 showapps
Title: Re: microcore_v2.6rc3
Post by: roberts on November 22, 2009, 06:25:26 AM
Thanks for great feedback. My intention was not to force backup in tce directory. I have found the bug in restore. Will post rc4.