Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Base => CorePlus => Topic started by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 07:08:06 AM

Title: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 07:08:06 AM
I am running TCP 14 from USB stick, I have lenovo m715q tiny PC.  inxi -Fz gives audio info:
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD Kabini HDMI/DP Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
  Device-2: AMD driver: snd_hda_intel
  API: ALSA v: k6.1.2-tinycore status: kernel-api

my onboot.lst contains:
alsa-config.tcz
alsa.tcz
alsa-plugins.tcz
alsa-modules-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz
alsa-oss.tcz

I have installed alsa related files as suggested here
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22145.msg138620.html#msg138620

1. Install alsa-config.tcz
2. Install alsa.tcz   --   check that Alsa service has started; ControlPanel > Services > Alsa = green
...

Even after backup and reboot, there is no alsa service icon...

what am I doing wrong?
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: polikuo on August 13, 2023, 08:50:41 AM
Try
Code: [Select]
alsactl initto initialize

Run
Code: [Select]
aplay /usr/local/share/sounds/alsa/Noise.wavto test

That usually works as tc user, sometimes you'll need sudo to initialize

To preserve your settings, add var/lib/alsa/asound.state to your /opt/.filetool.lst
Sometimes you will also need etc/asound.conf in /opt/.filetool.lst

Then, append this to your /opt/bootlocal.sh
Code: [Select]
if [ -f /usr/local/sbin/alsactl ]; then
  su tc -c 'alsactl restore'
fi
ignore "su tc -c" if root is required

Backup everything and reboot to test
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: Rich on August 13, 2023, 09:00:08 AM
Hi puppybyte!
I am running TCP 14 from USB stick, ...
Did you include a  waitusb  boot code to make sure your device is recognized?

Quote
... my onboot.lst contains:
alsa-config.tcz
alsa.tcz
alsa-plugins.tcz
alsa-modules-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz
alsa-oss.tcz
That suggests you are running corepure64, but  alsa-oss.tcz  is
not available in the corepure64 repository. Are you running
core64 (64 bit kernel with 32 bit apps)?

Quote
... I have installed alsa related files as suggested here
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22145.msg138620.html#msg138620

1. Install alsa-config.tcz
2. Install alsa.tcz   --   check that Alsa service has started; ControlPanel > Services > Alsa = green
...
When you got to step #6, did you hear the phrases  "Front Left"
and  "Front Right"?
Did you run steps #7 through #10?

Post the results of the following commands:
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep snd
ls -l /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa*
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: curaga on August 13, 2023, 09:17:01 AM
If inxi sees them, but in that order, could be that HDMI is default but you want sound via the analog output?
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 12:34:19 PM
Try
Code: [Select]
alsactl initto initialize

Run
Code: [Select]
aplay /usr/local/share/sounds/alsa/Noise.wavto test


polikuo:   I ran the alsamixer and since I don't have the speaker thru HDMI, generic is the correct one and adjusted volume, and when I initialize I get the response.  when I try to play the *.wav there seems to be a problem "...unable to open slave.."  Same setup works well in puppylinux.
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 01:17:41 PM
Hi puppybyte!

Did you include a  waitusb  boot code to make sure your device is recognized?

That suggests you are running corepure64, but  alsa-oss.tcz  is
not available in the corepure64 repository. Are you running
core64 (64 bit kernel with 32 bit apps)?

Quote
... I have installed alsa related files as suggested here
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22145.msg138620.html#msg138620

1. Install alsa-config.tcz
2. Install alsa.tcz   --   check that Alsa service has started; ControlPanel > Services > Alsa = green
...
When you got to step #6, did you hear the phrases  "Front Left"
and  "Front Right"?
Did you run steps #7 through #10?

Post the results of the following commands:
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep snd
ls -l /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa*

Since my USB and Lenovo PC is relatively modern, I didn't use the waitusb code.
I have 64bit PC and didn't realize 32bit OS (I downloaded the coreplus on the main web site).  My neofetch confirms I am using i686..., How do I correct this?, is there a separate download else where?
I did run steps 7-10 but no audio.
Here is the response
Code: [Select]
*tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek    90112  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    40960  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     32768  1
snd_hda_intel          28672  0
snd_hda_codec          57344  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core           36864  5 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_hwdep              12288  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_intel_dspcfg       12288  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm                53248  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              20480  1 snd_pcm
snd                    40960  8 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              12288  1 snd
tc@box:~$ ls -l /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa*
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     staff           45 Aug 13 12:07 /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa -> /tmp/tcloop/alsa/usr/local/tce.installed/alsa
-rwxrwxr-x    1 root     staff            0 Aug 13 12:07 /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa-config
-rwxrwxr-x    1 root     staff            0 Aug 13 12:07 /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa-modules-6.1.2-tinycore
-rwxrwxr-x    1 root     staff            0 Aug 13 12:07 /usr/local/tce.installed/alsa-modules-6.1.2-tinycore64
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 01:19:07 PM
If inxi sees them, but in that order, could be that HDMI is default but you want sound via the analog output?

HDMI is default but changed to analog output via alsamixer without sound....
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: jazzbiker on August 13, 2023, 01:20:23 PM
Hi puppybyte!

Have You firmware-radeon.tcz and graphics-KERNEL.tcz loaded at boot?
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 01:30:37 PM
Hi puppybyte!

Have You firmware-radeon.tcz and graphics-KERNEL.tcz loaded at boot?

do I need these? 
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: polikuo on August 13, 2023, 06:27:45 PM
I have 64bit PC and didn't realize 32bit OS (I downloaded the coreplus on the main web site).  My neofetch confirms I am using i686..., How do I correct this?, is there a separate download else where?
First things first
If you're sure you wanna go full 64-bit for better performance, it better to redo everything from scratch.
If you want a 64-bit kernel that can access to more memory (4G barrier), you can simply replace the kernel and the modules.
If you're fine with 32-bit, then we can keep on working with your alsa setting
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 13, 2023, 06:46:55 PM
First things first
If you're sure you wanna go full 64-bit for better performance, it better to redo everything from scratch.

gonna start fresh...  do I want TinyCorepure64...iso from this page?  How do I make it a bootable USB? use unetbootin?  dd command does not work for persistence on the stick.
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: polikuo on August 13, 2023, 08:02:18 PM
tc-install script supports both 32-bit and 64-bit (pure) in net mode. (download from internet)
If you prefer a GUI interface, you could download that. (tc-install-GUI.tcz)

If you're going net mode, it will create a clean USB with no extensions in it.
The script/GUI will ask for a TCE path to a previous installation.
Please leave it blank, so you won't have 32-bit files in your new installation.

If you want to install via ISO mode, grabbing TinyCorePure64 will give you a Xfbdev as a minimum X server instead of Xorg
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 14, 2023, 05:03:17 AM
tc-install script supports both 32-bit and 64-bit (pure) in net mode. (download from internet)
If you prefer a GUI interface, you could download that. (tc-install-GUI.tcz)

If you're going net mode, it will create a clean USB with no extensions in it.
The script/GUI will ask for a TCE path to a previous installation.
Please leave it blank, so you won't have 32-bit files in your new installation.

If you want to install via ISO mode, grabbing TinyCorePure64 will give you a Xfbdev as a minimum X server instead of Xorg

downloaded TinyCorePure64...iso using dd command I was able to boot from a USB then used tc.install-gui to install to a 2nd USB, but when I booted I ended up with a prompt that resulted in "??" after couple of seconds, rather than a expected graphic screen...
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: jazzbiker on August 14, 2023, 06:58:20 AM
Hi puppybyte!

1. Haven't You chosen "Whole disk" option in installer? It failed for me. Manual partitioning before installation and installing into "Existing partition" succeeded.
2. Is Your box driven by BIOS or UEFI?
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: puppybyte! on August 14, 2023, 07:02:28 AM
Hi puppybyte!

1. Haven't You chosen "Whole disk" option in installer? It failed for me. Manual partitioning before installation and installing into "Existing partition" succeeded.
2. Is Your box driven by BIOS or UEFI?

I will try existing partition!!  UEFI first and BIOS.  thanks!
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: polikuo on August 14, 2023, 08:47:28 AM
What settings did you picked?
My suggestion, go silent mode
Code: [Select]
sudo tc-install.sh /path/to/TC.iso frugal /dev/sdx 1 ext4 yes no Core none noneThis should give you a corepure64 only USB stick

See arguments (https://github.com/polikuo/tc-install/blob/master/Arguments.md)

Since you have mentioned UEFI, it's more preferable to setup everything manually.
Just search the forum for UEFI installation tutorial.
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: jazzbiker on August 14, 2023, 10:20:54 AM
Since you have mentioned UEFI, it's more preferable to setup everything manually.
Just search the forum for UEFI installation tutorial.

Hi polikuo,

Does it mean that tc-install.sh is not able to provide UEFI compatible installation?
Title: Re: no sound...
Post by: polikuo on August 14, 2023, 05:06:15 PM
Does it mean that tc-install.sh is not able to provide UEFI compatible installation?
Not at all.
Experienced users setup their installation manually.