Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Base => Corepure64 => Topic started by: minux on July 23, 2020, 04:06:29 AM

Title: [Solved] How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 04:06:29 AM
Hello friends! As I said in the title,What do I need to download?
I find it difficult to install extensions like this. Is there a way to simplify?
Code: [Select]
wget xxx.tcz/.dep/.md5.txt
Why does corepure64 have to be loaded manually by the user after boot, rather than using onboot.lst?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 23, 2020, 04:52:23 AM
It would be much easier to get your wifi working and then use the normal method to install a gui.

You can use onboot.lst for normal operation, you should not use it when troubleshooting.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 23, 2020, 04:58:47 AM
As also mentioned in your wifi thread, if you do not have an internet connection, you can use the download script here:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23034.0.html

..you need Xfbdev, flwm, aterm and wbar and their dependencies.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 06:09:02 AM
As also mentioned in your wifi thread, if you do not have an internet connection, you can use the download script here:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23034.0.html

..you need Xfbdev, flwm, aterm and wbar and their dependencies.

You said that xvesa has been replaced by Xorg in CP64. Does xorg require a graphics driver? Also, I failed to install the sound card Driver on TCP today,  Is this not supported´╝č
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 23, 2020, 06:49:49 AM
Xfbdev has far fewer deps than Xorg-7.7, but you can replace it by Xorg-7.7 if you wish.

Most sound hardware is supported via the alsa or pulseaudio extensions.

It still would be much easier to get your wifi working first.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 07:00:01 AM
Xfbdev has far fewer deps than Xorg-7.7, but you can replace it by Xorg-7.7 if you wish.

Most sound hardware is supported via the alsa or pulseaudio extensions.

It still would be much easier to get your wifi working first.
Thank you. With your help, my wifi has been working properly.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 23, 2020, 07:18:58 AM
If your WiFi is working you can use these commands to get a gui:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -wil Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar
$ startx
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 07:43:43 AM
If your WiFi is working you can use these commands to get a gui:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -wil Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar
$ startx
Okay, but I'm a little confused. Didn't you tell me not to use" tce-load" ? Is the extension downloaded via tce-load TCL or CP64?
Aren't they incompatible with each other?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 23, 2020, 07:50:56 AM
I said not to use "tce-load" when you were using a CorePlus system with an internet connection to download extensions for use in a CorePure64 system without an internet connection.

Now that you have wifi working with CorePure64 you can use "tce-load".
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: xor on July 23, 2020, 07:55:44 AM
dejavu  :)
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 08:14:45 AM
I said not to use "tce-load" when you were using a CorePlus system with an internet connection to download extensions for use in a CorePure64 system without an internet connection.

Now that you have wifi working with CorePure64 you can use "tce-load".

Do you mean that the download url of the extension depends on the current version of the system I am using? Since I'm using CP64 now, it can be downloaded from the correct repository (i.e., XXX /x86_64/)?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: xor on July 23, 2020, 08:45:51 AM
here is the warehouse

http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86/tcz/
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86_64/tcz/

Unfortunately, the development of the warehouse depends on voluntary labor power.

I said not to use "tce-load" when you were using a CorePlus system with an internet connection to download extensions for use in a CorePure64 system without an internet connection.

Now that you have wifi working with CorePure64 you can use "tce-load".

Do you mean that the download url of the extension depends on the current version of the system I am using? Since I'm using CP64 now, it can be downloaded from the correct repository (i.e., XXX /x86_64/)?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Rich on July 23, 2020, 09:04:15 AM
Hi NOOB
... Do you mean that the download url of the extension depends on the current version of the system I am using? Since I'm using CP64 now, it can be downloaded from the correct repository (i.e., XXX /x86_64/)?
Yes. The download URL is determined by the version that is currently running.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Rich on July 23, 2020, 09:08:57 AM
Hi xor
... Unfortunately, the development of the warehouse depends on voluntary labor power. ...
Fortunately for us, none of the development depends on your contributions.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: xor on July 23, 2020, 09:22:35 AM
In the sense of SEO, my efforts in the forum are undeniable :D

Hi xor
... Unfortunately, the development of the warehouse depends on voluntary labor power. ...
Fortunately for us, none of the development depends on your contributions.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 08:52:33 PM
If your WiFi is working you can use these commands to get a gui:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -wil Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar
$ startx
Why does startX show "startx: not found"?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Sashank999 on July 23, 2020, 09:00:32 PM
It means that "startx" is not found. Are you sure that all the above said 4 packages i.e., Xorg-7.7, flwm, aterm, wbar are all loaded properly ?

Check if there is any text like "Not found" in the output.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 09:17:38 PM
It means that "startx" is not found. Are you sure that all the above said 4 packages i.e., Xorg-7.7, flwm, aterm, wbar are all loaded properly ?

Check if there is any text like "Not found" in the output.
I don't know. I did exactly the code Juanito gave me
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 09:21:38 PM
It means that "startx" is not found. Are you sure that all the above said 4 packages i.e., Xorg-7.7, flwm, aterm, wbar are all loaded properly ?

Check if there is any text like "Not found" in the output.

the "tce-load"'s default image for download is too slow. How can I replace it with my own?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Sashank999 on July 23, 2020, 09:24:32 PM
Well, its the repo speed. Always its amazing fast but sometimes, it is slow. I usually reboot or reconnect to Wi-Fi if the network is slow.

Hence I change my mirrors regularly. Do `tce-load -wil mirrors` and then you can change mirrors.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 09:40:19 PM
It means that "startx" is not found. Are you sure that all the above said 4 packages i.e., Xorg-7.7, flwm, aterm, wbar are all loaded properly ?

Check if there is any text like "Not found" in the output.
Now I can run startx, but the screen is black...
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 23, 2020, 10:35:36 PM
Hence I change my mirrors regularly. Do `tce-load -wil mirrors` and then you can change mirrors.
Can you write a simple use case? I don't understand it very well, please
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 23, 2020, 11:28:25 PM
Now I can run startx, but the screen is black...

If this happens, you can look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log for error messages.

If you don't find any error messages, you can try this command:
Code: [Select]
$ Xorg -nolisten tcp ..and paste any errors you see in this thread.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 01:26:34 AM
Now my computer cannot download the extension and execute "Tce - load" Or & "tce-ab" will get error message, "Wget: bad address 'repo.tinycorelinux.net' "
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 24, 2020, 01:32:00 AM
You only need to use the command "tce-load -wil Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar", which downloads and loads the extensions and their recursive dependencies, once.

As the extensions have been downloaded and saved locally, you can now use the following command:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 01:38:02 AM
But my "tce-load" cannot be used properly now
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Sashank999 on July 24, 2020, 01:41:04 AM
What is the output of
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar ?

Does it say something like "aterm.tcz not found" ?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 01:51:15 AM
You only need to use the command "tce-load -wil Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar", which downloads and loads the extensions and their recursive dependencies, once.

As the extensions have been downloaded and saved locally, you can now use the following command:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar

I don't know what I did, so Now "tce-load" can't be used properly. Maybe it is related to the download address of the repo mirror that I changed wrongly just now, how should I change the mirror back now?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 24, 2020, 02:01:31 AM
If you reboot without making a backup the changes should be lost.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 02:05:05 AM
You only need to use the command "tce-load -wil Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar", which downloads and loads the extensions and their recursive dependencies, once.

As the extensions have been downloaded and saved locally, you can now use the following command:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i Xorg-7.7 flwm aterm wbar
I've got a few of messages so far:
1./mnt/s[drm:0xffffffffa01e6888] *ERROR* CPU pipe A FIFO underrun
2. ...desktop.sh not found
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 02:12:11 AM
If you reboot without making a backup the changes should be lost.
Why is the toolbar on the left side of the window instead of the top?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Sashank999 on July 24, 2020, 02:15:41 AM
Hey, you have successfully setup a GUI. Congratulations !

The toolbar is on left side for flwm. On top for all other Window managers.

I recommend jwm for all users for using TCL. It has toolbar on top and is also very good looking.

If you want to change mirror, do
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wil mirrors
tce-mirrors.sh
This will display a list of mirrors. Choose one.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 02:27:51 AM
Thanks! Can CP64 use JWM? What should I do if I can use it? How to change the font size of the terminal, the default font size is too small
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Juanito on July 24, 2020, 02:41:58 AM
Please don't quote the entire previous post when replying, it wastes server space.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Sashank999 on July 24, 2020, 02:44:44 AM
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22967.msg143416.html#msg143416
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 02:46:27 AM
Please....
I'm sorry. Thank you for reminding me.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 03:21:36 AM
Thanks.I also have to ask you a question I've been wondering: Can TCE64 run TCLx86 software? Is TCE64 compatible with TLCx86?
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Sashank999 on July 24, 2020, 03:27:24 AM
No.

That is what known as multilib and TCL doesn't provide that.
Title: Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: Rich on July 24, 2020, 05:23:43 AM
Hi NOOB
Why is the toolbar on the left side of the window instead of the top?
You can use  flwm_topside  instead if you want "normal" windows.
Title: [Solved] Re: How can corepure64 support GUI?
Post by: minux on July 24, 2020, 08:12:08 AM
Hi NOOB
You can use  flwm_topside  instead if you want "normal" windows.
Thank you.