Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Base => CorePlus => Topic started by: madmax on October 16, 2019, 07:04:58 AM

Title: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 16, 2019, 07:04:58 AM
Hello:

Now that I have Thunar working, I cannot get it to keep the settings.
See

ie:
Edit -> Preferences 
View -> Show Hidden Files / View as Detailed List

I shut down properly with the Backup option and .filetool.lst includes Home and opt.
I have jpilot installed and it holds its settings properly.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Juanito on October 16, 2019, 07:11:42 AM
Where does thunar keep its settings?
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 16, 2019, 07:57:29 AM
Hello:
Where does thunar keep its settings?
No idea ...
I'm still trying to find out where that is to add it to filetool.sh list.

Cheers,

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 16, 2019, 09:02:18 AM
Hello:

I'm having to quote myself because I cannot find where to edit my last post.
I haven't been on the site for a while and cannot recall if the option was available.

No idea ...
I'm still trying to find out where that is to add it to filetool.sh list.

I actually forgot to mention the most important detail: Thunar does not hold settings within the same TC session.
ie: if I close Thunar and open it again, the options I set previously did not hold.

Cheers,

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Juanito on October 16, 2019, 11:39:47 AM
If you start thunar from a terminal window and then save the settings, do you see an error message?
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 16, 2019, 12:28:23 PM
Hello>
... thunar from a terminal window and then save the settings, do you see an error message?
No, no errors on the terminal.

I've also dicovered that Thunar does not hold settings not only after closing it and then opening it again but before it is closed.

eg> If I change the settings and then close the settings window ...

ie: Edit -> Preferences -> Close

... on opening the Preferences menu again I find that the settings I had changed have gone back to the previous state they were in, all this without having closed Thunar.   

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,
MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 17, 2019, 08:52:02 AM
Hello:
Where does thunar keep its settings?
In my Devuan ASCII installation, it seems that the Thunar settings are stored in /home/userid/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/thunar.xml

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<channel name="thunar" version="1.0">
  <property name="last-view" type="string" value="ThunarDetailsView"/>
  <property name="last-icon-view-zoom-level" type="string" value="THUNAR_ZOOM_LEVEL_NORMAL"/>
  <property name="last-details-view-zoom-level" type="string" value="THUNAR_ZOOM_LEVEL_SMALLER"/>
  <property name="last-details-view-column-widths" type="string" value="50,126,50,194,409,234,77,53,102"/>
  <property name="last-window-width" type="int" value="1181"/>
  <property name="last-window-height" type="int" value="835"/>
  <property name="last-window-maximized" type="bool" value="false"/>
  <property name="last-separator-position" type="int" value="182"/>
  <property name="last-show-hidden" type="bool" value="true"/>
  <property name="misc-single-click" type="bool" value="true"/>
  <property name="last-sort-column" type="string" value="THUNAR_COLUMN_NAME"/>
  <property name="last-sort-order" type="string" value="GTK_SORT_ASCENDING"/>
  <property name="misc-date-style" type="string" value="THUNAR_DATE_STYLE_SHORT"/>
  <property name="last-details-view-fixed-columns" type="bool" value="true"/>
  <property name="misc-single-click-timeout" type="uint" value="253"/>
  <property name="last-side-pane" type="string" value="ThunarShortcutsPane"/>
  <property name="last-location-bar" type="string" value="ThunarLocationEntry"/>
  <property name="last-details-view-visible-columns" type="string" value="THUNAR_COLUMN_DATE_MODIFIED,THUNAR_COLUMN_NAME,THUNAR_COLUMN_OWNER,THUNAR_COLUMN_PERMISSIONS,THUNAR_COLUMN_SIZE,THUNAR_COLUMN_TYPE"/>
  <property name="last-details-view-column-order" type="string" value="THUNAR_COLUMN_NAME,THUNAR_COLUMN_SIZE,THUNAR_COLUMN_TYPE,THUNAR_COLUMN_DATE_MODIFIED,THUNAR_COLUMN_DATE_ACCESSED,THUNAR_COLUMN_PERMISSIONS,THUNAR_COLUMN_OWNER,THUNAR_COLUMN_MIME_TYPE,THUNAR_COLUMN_GROUP"/>
</channel>

My TC 7.2 installation (to see if I can get the nvidia-340 stuff working) only has home/tc/.config/Thunar/accels.scm and home/tc/.config/Thunar/uca.xlm

accels.scm is an automated accelerator map dump and uca.xlm is for setting Thunar custom actions.

Evidently, instaling Thunar does not pull these settings in (not in 7.2 or 10.1).
Is there some dependency missing here?

Thanks in advance,

MM



Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Rich on October 17, 2019, 09:06:49 AM
Hi madmax
... accels.scm is an automated accelerator map dump and uca.xlm is for setting Thunar custom actions. ...
uca.xlm  can be found here:
Code: [Select]
/usr/local/etc/xdg/Thunar/uca.xmlMaybe it needs  xdg-utils?
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 17, 2019, 05:43:26 PM
Hello Rich:
uca.xlm  can be found here:
Code: [Select]
/usr/local/etc/xdg/Thunar/uca.xml
It has different content.

Maybe it needs  xdg-utils?
I loaded it but still no fun.

Seems it's been rather a long time since the presently available version of Thunar was compiled for TC, like 4/5 years ago.
Maybe something's gone awry with it and the newer kernels/libraries?

The fact that libffi5 was needed and was not in the dep file sort of tells us something ...
No one noticed it before? eg: the version for TC 7.2 has the same problem.
Or is it just that Thunar is not a popular choice with TCers?

That said: is there any other suitable file managed for TC?

Thanks in advance,

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Juanito on October 17, 2019, 10:50:41 PM
Do you need xfconf or one of the xfce4 bits and pieces?
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Juanito on October 17, 2019, 10:55:57 PM
That said: is there any other suitable file managed for TC?

There's emelfm, midnight commander (mc), nautilus, rox-filer, spacefm and possibly others.
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 18, 2019, 02:34:21 AM
Hello:
Do you need xfconf or one of the xfce4 bits and pieces?
I really don't know, especially since I am not getting any feedback from Thunar ie: error messages.

But it seems to me that it's the .dep file that should know about what's needed for Thunar to work as intended.
And in consequence, drag in what's needed into onboot.lst.

I could try loading xfconf but what bits and pieces may also be needed, it's rather a lottery or loading every xfce file available and see what happens.

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Juanito on October 18, 2019, 03:46:32 AM
Looking for runtime deps is something of a lottery - you could also try looking at the thunar source code..
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Rich on October 18, 2019, 05:59:05 AM
Hi madmax
xfconf  is included in the dependency tree. I see there's a settings file that relies on  dbus:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~$ cat x/squashfs-root/usr/local/bin/thunar-settings
#!/bin/sh
#
# vi:set et ai sw=2 sts=2 ts=2: */

test "x$DISPLAY" != "x" || DISPLAY=:0

output=`dbus-send --session --print-reply --dest=org.xfce.FileManager \
  /org/xfce/FileManager org.xfce.FileManager.DisplayPreferencesDialog \
  "string:$DISPLAY" "string:$DESKTOP_STARTUP_ID"`

if ! [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
  echo $output
  exit 1
fi
tc@E310:~$

Check if  dbus  is running. Does this produce any response:
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep -i dbus | grep -v grep
A string search of the  Thunar  executable shows no sign of it running the  thunar-settings  script:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~$ busybox strings -n 10 x/squashfs-root/usr/local/bin/thunar | grep -iE 'conf|used|sett'
gtk_icon_size_lookup_for_settings
xfce_rc_config_open
gtk_settings_get_for_screen
libxfconf-0.so.2
xfconf_channel_get_string_list
xfconf_channel_reset_property
xfconf_channel_get
xfconf_channel_get_property
xfconf_channel_has_property
xfconf_channel_set_property
xfconf_channel_set_string_list
xfconf_channel_set_string
xfconf_init
_IO_stdin_used
Thunar: Failed to initialize Xfconf: %s
The selected application is used to open this and other files of type "%s".
Configure Columns in the Detailed List View
Configure _Columns...
Configure the columns in the detailed list view
Confirm to replace files
%s of %s (%d%% used)
toolbar-reconfigured
ThunarIconFactory
when the mouse pointer is paused over it:
<a href="volman-config:">Configure</a> the management of removable drives
--configure
Failed to display the volume management settings
Your Thunar settings have been migrated to Xfconf.
The config file "%s"
is not used anymore.
Configuration
tc@E310:~$

Maybe that script needs to be run before starting  Thunar?
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 18, 2019, 05:59:26 AM
Hello:
... you could also try looking at the thunar source code.

If I was knowledgeable enough to be do that ie: actually be able to make something out of what the source code says, I would have compiled a the new version.

But I'm not (don't have a clue) I'm not a coder/programmer, just a TC user.
The most I am able to do is try to get it working and report here whatever I find when it does not.
eg: like with the issue regarding libffi5.

Thanks for your input.
Cheers,

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: Juanito on October 18, 2019, 06:32:40 AM
If you start the xfconf daemon like this:
Code: [Select]
$ /usr/local/lib/xfce4/xfconf/xfconfd..then thunar settings are saved across thunar exit/restarts, but I don't know where.

Unless you are a fan of xfce4, I'd use one of other file managers suggested above.

Edit: settings in ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/thunar.xml
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: vinceASPECT on October 18, 2019, 12:23:42 PM
Hello,

Always had that "Fluff" on the Tinycore's here. 

......it has the simple In-road to Sudo . authority

Thx

V

Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 18, 2019, 02:01:15 PM
Hello Rich:

Sorry for the delay.

xfconf is included in the dependency tree.
... there's a settings file that relies on dbus ...

Check if  dbus is running.
Does this produce any response:
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep -i dbus | grep -v grep

Here's what I get:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ps aux | grep -i dbus | grep -v grep
7860 tc dbus-launch --autolaunch 65fbc30de015d1de836501e35daa1e0a --binary-syntax --close-stderr
7861 tc /usr/local/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog-only --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
tc@box:~$

... executable shows no sign of it running the  thunar-settings script:
Maybe that script needs to be run before starting  Thunar?
Could be ...

In any case, I'll see how I fare with Xfe as a viable alternative.
There must be a reason for Thunar not showing up in forum searches or not having been looked at/compiled since early 2014.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this up.
Much obliged.

Cheers and a good week-end.

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 18, 2019, 02:09:33 PM
Hello:
... xfconf daemon like this:
Code: [Select]
$ /usr/local/lib/xfce4/xfconf/xfconfd... then thunar settings are saved across thunar exit/restarts, but I don't know where.
I see ...

Unless you are a fan of xfce4 ...
Fan?
No, not at all.

I have it in my Devuan ASCII installation and wanted to have it in TC also.
But I'm always bitching about Xfce4 as there's always something acting up or complicating things, very convoluted and difficult to configure.

I'll see how I fare with Xfe as a replacement for Thunar and maybe even use it in Devuan ASCII if it is in the repository.

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,

MM
Title: Re: Thunar settings not holding
Post by: madmax on October 18, 2019, 02:12:30 PM
Hello:
Always had that "Fluff" on the Tinycore's here. 
... it has the simple In-road to Sudo .authority
Yes, I saw it.
Tried it but for some reason did not feel too comfortable using it.
Like many things maybe it's just a matetr of taste.

I'll have a go at Xfe and see how it goes.

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,

MM.