Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Extensions => TCE Corepure64 => Topic started by: nick65go on May 12, 2019, 12:26:38 PM

Title: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 12, 2019, 12:26:38 PM
'ldd /usr/local/bin/cheese | grep not' shows that there are not directly missing libraries. I run lsmod, and my integrated web-cam drivers show-up as loaded. but image is black/ not capturing.
I remember that cheese was OK in VirtualBox under win10, I need to check if cheese was 32 or 64 bits, and come back with snapshots attached, if/when working in another environment.

from the snapshot image attached and the messages, I guess that a libvpx is wrong version... or a dependency is missing.
summary: out of the box, cheese is not working in TC10 x64.
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 12, 2019, 02:43:59 PM
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ uname -a
Linux box 4.19.10-tinycore64 #1999 SMP Tue Dec 18 15:18:54 UTC 2018 x86_64 GNU/Linux

tested in virtualbox also,with the same 'machine' configuration for both TC8x32 and TC10x64.
in tc8x32 works, the HP camera shows by face :)
in tc10x64 the black screen shows white on black 'No device found'. But on a real machine it did not show this message, it is just blank.
tc@box:~$ cheese                                                                                                                                     
** Message: 21:39:41.637: cheese-application.vala:211: Error during camera setup: No device found
(cheese:9778): cheese-CRITICAL **: 21:39:41.680: cheese_camera_device_get_name: assertion 'CHEESE_IS_CAMERA_DEVICE (device)' failed
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 12, 2019, 03:24:02 PM
FYI: testing/recording the webcam can be done just with mplayer, or VLC.
in VLC just using menu 'open capture device' / capture device tab, capure mode= video camera.
then play/see in real time. Use pause to take a photo, or recording to have  a movie, etc.

So, for a Linux x64 (with BIG size apps, fire firefox, vlc), cheese become ...useless.
summary: not big deal is this aplication will not be recompiled...
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: Juanito on May 12, 2019, 09:45:07 PM
cheese works for me in CorePure64 10.x - there are a few warnings about missing gstreamer deps, but otherwise things seem OK and I can take a photo and video:
Code: [Select]
$ cheese
(cheese:10938): Gtk-WARNING **: 08:37:55.343: Theme parsing error: cheese.css:7:35: The style property GtkScrollbar:

** (cheese:6828): WARNING **: 08:36:26.709: Icon 'image-jpeg' not present in theme Adwaita

** (cheese:6828): WARNING **: 08:36:26.716: could not generate thumbnail for /home/tc/.gnome2/cheese/media/2019-05-13-083609.jpg (image/jpeg)

$ ls /home/tc/.gnome2/cheese/media
2019-05-13-083609.jpg   2019-05-13-084215.webm

Maybe you could try checking for updates with the apps gui?
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 13, 2019, 12:38:13 AM
All the time, as a thumb rule before reporting something, I use the default tools, like apps, to update the *.dep and check/update all downloaded *.tcz.
The thing is (I suspect), that more and more developers will compile from IDE (integrated environment) like gnome, lxde etc :(
So extra dependecies, or extra config files, will become necesary (they should not) in a SIMPLE (out of the box, flwm + aterm) TC, like I use for testing/reprting to you.
IMHO, if you start testing with boot code base, norestore, maybe you will see what I mean.

For example, I do not have ~/.gnome folder after I use tce-load -iw cheese.tcz

Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: Juanito on May 13, 2019, 12:45:07 AM
I don't use a backup or permanent home/opt and I use flwm and gtk1 apps so that they do not interfere with compiling stuff.

cheese creates ~/.gnome when it runs.
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 13, 2019, 05:03:37 PM
I loaded many extensions, for other purposes, and today cheese is working :)
So it was one dependency not loaded. I will provide feed-back which tcz should be loaded, or which service was started.
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: Juanito on May 14, 2019, 12:20:31 AM
remember to delete ~/.cache/gstreamer-1.0 every time you add an extension to force gstreamer to re-scan its plugins
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 15, 2019, 05:21:18 AM
Quote
remember to delete ~/.cache/gstreamer-1.0 every time you add an extension to force gstreamer to re-scan its plugins
yes this was a good tip. without it i could not see the error msg after i typed
tc@box:~$ XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/home/tc cheese -d /dev/video0

summary: cheese started, but it did not detect (neither inside its functional menu) my webcam (/dev/video0).
tested in Virtualbox (in win10) in the same time cheese, vlc, and guvcviewer. both vlc and guvcviewer works (led light on webcam etc), but not cheese.
the error is about libva (device), called by both vlc and guvcviewer. so it is not libva, but maybe gstream calling it with wrong parameters...
i tried (without succes) to mess with load/unload libavdevice{-,3,4}.tcz but maybe this lib is about sound not video. I have lost track of how many tcz i loaded, almost all (resonable) gkt* and gst* and gnome*. and played with 'XDG-*=name cheese' etc.

EDIT: and yes, dbus was started with something like /usr/locale/etc/init.d/dbus (start then status).
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: Juanito on May 15, 2019, 05:50:44 AM
it looks like I adjusted libvpx.tcz -> libvpx17.tcz in the cheese dep file locally, but not on the server (now fixed).

To double check, this works for me:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i graphics-KERNEL Xorg-7.7-3d alsa-config alsa flwm wbar aterm
$ startx
$ tce-load -i cheese
$ cheese

Note that libva is not loaded.

If I exit to the console prompt and do this:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i intel-vaapi-driver
$ startx
$ cheese
..it still works
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 15, 2019, 06:12:55 AM
thank you, I will try it when i will be in my linux (AMD cpu+gpu). i started on the long/wrong path to compare the scripts (because in tc8 worked)
cd cheese-3.28.0 ->http://www.tinycorelinux.net/9.x/x86_64/tcz/src/cheese/compile_cheese
cd cheese-3.22.1 ->http://www.tinycorelinux.net/8.x/x86_64/tcz/src/cheese/compile_cheese
Title: Re: cheese pseudo-works (no image capture)
Post by: nick65go on May 16, 2019, 02:14:25 PM
Quote
it looks like I adjusted libvpx.tcz -> libvpx17.tcz in the cheese dep file locally, but not on the server (now fixed).
Thank you Juanito! now cheese works OK.