Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Base => Corepure64 => Topic started by: labeas on April 13, 2017, 04:32:19 AM

Title: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: labeas on April 13, 2017, 04:32:19 AM
Google gave me the 2010 post:
http://strotmann.de/roller/linuxkistchen/entry/oberon_v4_unter_tinycore_linux
which is very interesting for me.

So I fetched the pointed to oberonV4.tcz and:

tc@box:/tmp$ tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
oberonV4.tcz: OK

tc@box:/tmp$ which oberonV4
tc@box:/tmp$ which oberon
tc@box:/tmp$ which V4

tc@box:/tmp$ tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
oberonV4 is already installed!

I didn't expect it to install, since I'm running TC64,
but then I'd expect an error message, or some sign of what happened ?
Title: Re: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: Misalf on April 13, 2017, 04:47:27 AM
/usr/bin/sob
Requires bash.
Title: Re: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: Juanito on April 13, 2017, 05:12:43 AM
tce-load will mount any valid squashfs archive, but that doesn't neccessarily mean the contents of the archive will work.

Take a look in /tmp/tcloop/oberonV4 to see what the archive contains.
Title: Re: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: labeas on April 21, 2017, 01:00:09 AM
> Take a look in /tmp/tcloop/oberonV4 to see what the archive contains.
---
== 20 files: apparently from recent installs.
=> cp to /tmp & reDo
-> tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
!! WOW !! /tmp/tcloop/oberonV4
   has the whole good-old V4-DirTree !!

=> cp to: /usr/local/oberon
-> cp -r /tmp/tcloop/oberonV4 /usr/local/oberon

$ cd /usr/local/oberon
tc@box:/usr/local/oberon$ ls
INSTALL       System/       oberon        sob
...
$ ls -l ./sob ==
lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root 41 Apr 21 10:33
 ./sob -> /tmp/tcloop/oberonV4/usr/local/oberon/sob

=> INSTALL ==  required.  o XWindow, Release 11
OK. Lacking X11, I can't use it.
Strange that opera-12 runs without X11 ?
 Thanks !
Title: Re: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: coreplayer2 on April 21, 2017, 07:27:49 AM
labeas, what is it "Paths?"  We're trying to enlighten you here to the TC way, but it's a struggle huh?..

I'm referring of course to:
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
If oberonV4.tcz is placed in the TCE install directory as it's expected there is no requirement for a path in the tce-load command.  It matters not where you open a command line, tce-load will expect to find the extension in the correct system tce path.

Try placing oberonV4.tcz in your tce install directory (tce/optional/ ) and run:
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i oberonV4
Note: No path or file extension is required at least with regard to tce-load command
 8)
Title: Re: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: labeas on April 21, 2017, 11:10:20 PM
-> chroot /mnt/sdd15 info coreutils 'dirname invocation' ==...
`dirname' prints all but the final slash-delimited component of a
string (presumably a file name).

So, the uncommonly used description of DIRNAME is what I've been
wrongly refering to as <PATH>.

Is there any good reason to write "(tce/optional/ )", instead of the
full/unambigious/standardNotation:<BASENAME>/tce/optional ?

My verbatim previous "INSTALL" refered to V4's <install> once it's been
<installed> in TC's file system.
Title: Re: tce-load -i ./oberonV4.tcz
Post by: coreplayer2 on April 22, 2017, 01:36:44 AM
Is there any good reason to write "(tce/optional/ )", instead of the
full/unambigious/standardNotation:<BASENAME>/tce/optional ?
Yes there are a few good reasons.  one being that /tce/optional is unambiguous and meaningful.   " /optional " is in fact the only constant in this equation.  The standard location for extension installs is " /tce/optional "  however both the tce directory name (Tiny Core Extensions) and path can be changed as provided by boot code per one's specific installation.      For example, I don't use the standard path or filename for the tcedir on any of my TC frugal installs and I have many.

The path can be found by reading " /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/optional "

The final forward slash is commonly used to denote optional as a directory not a file.