Tiny Core Linux

General TC => General TC Talk => Topic started by: alex on June 02, 2009, 06:46:42 AM

Title: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: alex on June 02, 2009, 06:46:42 AM
Hi:

I'm using TC running under Qemu in Windows 2K. The company where I work has an internet proxy that requires a username and password, it's a ISA proxy.

I'm unable to connect to the internet. I set in network preferences of the browser the proxy's IP address (http and port 8080), but an error message says that it can't see the proxy. Appbrowser don't work either.

Interface eth0 is up and runnnig. Do I have to set something extra in any place in TC??

Thanks,
alex

Title: Re: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: bmarkus on June 02, 2009, 06:56:27 AM
Hi,

is it a MICROSOFT corporate environment with Active Directory? If so, it may require MS IE to get through.

Regards

Béla
Title: Re: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: alex on June 02, 2009, 07:32:03 AM

Hi, actually I'm using opera (browser identifies as Opera) in the host and I have to authenticate (usr/pass) when I open it, then I can browse without problem

I did some search and found something like NTML authorization proxy could sit between the ISA proxy and qemu, but i'm not sure as I don't have admin rights on the host.

alex.
Title: Re: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: ^thehatsrule^ on June 02, 2009, 09:46:39 AM
Try setting http_proxy and/or ftp_proxy environmental variables
Title: Re: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: alex on June 04, 2009, 01:55:14 PM
Hi:

To isolate the problem I tried with another distro with the same host configuration(qemu files, host W2K behind ISA proxy). Opened firefox browser and set manual proxy xx.xx.xx.xx:8080 , after that firefox pop up a user/pass windows to authenticate and can browse the net!

May be is an opera browser issue or a wrong configuration of the interface eth0 in TC, I will download firexof in TC and give it a try.

wget don't work, I need to explore a little more.

regards,
alex

Title: Re: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: alex on June 05, 2009, 12:14:01 PM
Try setting http_proxy and/or ftp_proxy environmental variables

^thehatsrule^: where can I set that to make persistant after reboot? is ther any profile?

regards,
alex
Title: Re: can't browse the net from TC in qemu
Post by: ^thehatsrule^ on June 05, 2009, 01:00:55 PM
Typically ~/.profile is used for user specifics.
For system-wide settings, /etc/profile can be used.