Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Extensions => TCE Q&A Forum => Topic started by: MrBojangles on June 01, 2009, 10:13:14 PM

Title: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on June 01, 2009, 10:13:14 PM
So, one of my goals as of lately is to build my own (albeit ghetto) Client Side Hypervisor. That is, what I'm really looking for is to be able to have a distribution of Linux that is  really small as to not use a whole lot of computer resources which will allow for my Virtual Machines to have a lot of resources to consume.

What I know about VirtualBox (when it's running properly) that it has great support for USB Filtering, it's easy to establish a network connection, and it supports a lot of formats. It also exposes ACPI battery information to a guest OS (with the Guest Additions installed in the Guest) which makes it ideal for laptops.

With that said, I downloaded the .run file from the virtualbox.org website. Out of the box, it's first issue is missing GNU Make and Kernel Headers. I was able to get the necessary packages. During the execution of the .run file, it creates the kernel module and netfit kernel module. It mentions errors about ln, but that's just links, right? Of course, it also mentions that it cannot reconize the linux distribution and that it's tossing vboxdrv information into /etc/init.d/

Here's where the fun starts,

When I go over to /etc/init.d/vboxdrv and send the start argument, the first error is "(Cannot change owner vboxusers for device /dev/vboxdrv/). So, I ran the commands and made the vboxusers group. I then ran the command again and apparently it starts, by saying '...done'. If I use the status argument from vboxdrv, it says the modules are loaded. However, when I started vboxdrv (both with the fail error and with the success) it mentions "Starting Virtualbox kernel modulesleep: invalid number '.2'", but as mentioned, both kernel modules claim to start, so I don't know what this really means.

Now, according to VirtualBox.org User Manual:

Quote
You will need to install the following packages on your Linux system before starting the installation (some systems will do this for you automatically when you install VirtualBox):

    * Qt 4.3.0 or higher;
    * SDL 1.2.7 or higher (this graphics library is typically called libsdl or similar).

Note
To be precise, these packages are only required if you want to run the VirtualBox graphical user interfaces. In particular, VirtualBox, our main graphical user interface, requires both Qt and SDL; VBoxSDL, our simplified GUI, requires only SDL. By contrast, if you only want to run the headless VRDP server that comes with VirtualBox, neither Qt nor SDL are required.

So I looked through the package manger and found what it was asking for, then I installed it. I also installed Xlib because, somewhere in this mess, it was mentioned. So I installed it.

Now, when I run VirtualBox (which is the GUI as it states above) Xlib gives the error: 'extension "Generic Event Extension" missing on display ":0.0". I also get a pop up window (which is the first sign of some sort of external GUI actually trying to work) saying "Failed to create the VirtualBox COM object. The application will now terminate." If I click on the Details arrow, I get: "Callee RC NS_ERROR_ABORT (0x800004004), and that's that.

Now, it's possible I can get this working over VBoxHeadless (which starts the Virtual Machine as a process which can be accessed through VirtualBox's special implementation of Remote Desktop Connection they call VRDP (V I would assume means Virtual). However, I haven't tried this so I'll have to confirm at a later time.

In any case, that's where I'm at as far as getting the actually GUI and Hypervisor to start. Ideally, I'd like to write some sort of simple interface for booting into a menu for someone to start a Virtual Machine (or if there's only 1 machine, have it boot full screen). Essentially, I'd like to make this slim on the OS side but user friendly would be nice. I'd like to give something like this to technical amatures so that I can assist them into the benefits of Virtualization without the huge learning curve.

The major issue (as I can tell) is the pop up error mentioned above, but then again, I don't know. Any help, input, ideas?! Definitely appreciated.

In any case, great project. I love how slim and easy to use Tiny Core is, but until I can tailor it to my desires, it's obviously not a perfect fit for me. Looking forward to whatever help I can get!

Thanks!
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Juanito on June 01, 2009, 10:26:14 PM
Is this thread of any use:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=1657.0 (http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=1657.0)
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on June 02, 2009, 11:04:49 AM
I've ran down whatever dependency lists I could find that relate to this. I downloaded what I could. Seems that the biggest problem is these COM extensions as I'm unable to even create a virtual machine through the command line. Whatever the issue is, it stems further then just pulling up a GUI for me to work in.

Any thoughts towards these missing COM objects?
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: ^thehatsrule^ on June 02, 2009, 11:58:13 AM
Quote
* Qt 4.3.0 or higher;
Did you use qt-4.2.2 from the repository?
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on June 02, 2009, 06:47:49 PM
Well what do you know, 4.2.2, for some reason I thought the 4 was a 3 and... *sigh*, I thought I was over the requirement. I guess I started to go crosseyed over this eventually....

How can I build said requirements?
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on June 03, 2009, 09:31:07 AM
Well, I decided to install 1.x instead of 2.x (since 2 is all release candiates, you would think I would start with something stable... -_-) anyway, I was able to make VirtualBox (latest) compile and install. I downloaded Minefield simply because I was too lazy to write the full path to the VirtualBox.run file with wget, so I just used the point-and-click method.

With libQT3 support, compiletc, SDL, linux headers, and XLib I was able to install VirtualBox. You need to manually start the VirtualBox kernel which unless you make a 'vboxusers' group manually, it will fail. If you do that, it should start the Kernel, then typing 'VirtualBox' should work.

After running through all of that, I guess the best summary is my problem is solved. =]
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: dWLkR on June 30, 2009, 07:09:01 AM
miiiiister booooojangels - miiiiiister booooooooojangels!!!!!

hi!

THANK YOU!
pls keep on working on this!
because it is really nice!

i was looking for sth. like this for a looooooong time! :D

i.e.: http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=966.0

fyi: if you do not totally hate windows pls check: www.sanbarrow.com - page of the user "continuum" a mastermind concerning windows and vmware based topics...

pls keep us updated!
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on June 30, 2009, 07:39:24 AM
Thanks, dWLkR.

This project has been sort of put on hold for me, but it's resurfacing (thus, my visit back to the forums).

I see a lot of power in using VirtualBox as Virtualization software. A lot of people sit here and say that VirtualBox is Type 2, but under the right conditions (such as having a really light OS like TCL as the Bare-metal portion, essentially a Dom0, what makes it so different?) Aside from that, the world is waiting for things such as Xen Client, who knows when that will actually show up. Xen documentation to me, in general, is confusing as hell  ???)

But there is a downside....

Here is a few problems I'm having in hopes that people who are way better at using Linux, or atleast TCL, can help me with. Most of them are part of TCL and either don't come pre-packaged that I don't know how to use or may not be supported.

1. Personal problem, I'd like the xwindow system to start using 1440x900 widescreen resolution. I've been using a Dell Inspirion 9400 for testing and cannot get widescreen. I started secondary xwindows and I know how to manipulate the resolutions, but 1440x900 seems to be off limits. Help?

2. VirtualBox complains about not having USB Support. In other words, I simply can't get the USB Filter to work without additional tweaks. This will be elaborated on a bit more once I get the old project computer powered back on. It's been a while, the information isn't fresh in my head.

3. I might have fixed this (again, it will go with getting the old project computer back on), but there was an issue with VirtualBox Audio support, drivers perhaps. - I installed OSS Audio and when activated (which as of right now, needs to be done on start up), the Audio extensions for VirtualBox works fine! I'm listening to music on projectplaylist.com and it sounds fine! (EDITED)

4. Can someone help me get vboxdrv to start during TCL's startup procedures. I think I left off looking for the boot script, but couldn't find it =/

5. ACPI. I think. Basically, even when running TCL without the power cord, I do not see a battery meter or a way to know how much power is left. A fix for this would be nice. Anyway, it stretches a bit further. VirtualBox has the ability to pass Battery and power management information from the Host to the Guest. On Ubuntu, I can clearly see a Windows XP guest report a battery meter the same as Ubuntu would. Clearly this is to help manage power and give someone running a Virtual Machine in fullscreen mode clear thoughts of power. I'd like to fix it, I just don't know how.

6. VirtualBox has a RAM limitation. I'll have to play with this more, but it is conscious of how much total RAM there is vs. the amount it thinks you should be able to use in a Virtual Machine. My example is that I have 512 RAM in this laptop (which I purchased a 2Gig upgrade for and am waiting on delivery). Of that 512, I was unable to surpass 400 MB of RAM allocation. I forget the EXACT number. I guess one question is roughly how much RAM does TCL use out of box? The Linux Memory commands always seem to report higher than actual use. Someone mind throwing me a way to find out EXACTLY how much RAM the system is using BEFORE VirtualBox allocates VM RAM? (Thanks) - It's possible it might have been 400 + VRAM which I overlooked back then. I'll revisit this and get more information. In a perfect world, if I have 512 and TCL has 10 MB being used, I'd like to be able to allocate 500 MB! - VirtualBox will NOT let you save your settings if the amount of allocated memory is more than 75% of system memory. I don't know if this is just the main GUI or if there is a way around it

7. I'll check on this once again, but I don't think I'm not able to run VirtualBox after a restart without running the .run file and reinstalling it again. If that's the case, this is obviously a huge problem. (EDITED)

Overall, I have it functioning. Number 7 is really the only huge problem. Number 1 is just a problem for widescreen users. 2,3,4,5 is definitely just minor tweaks to improve overall functionality. 6, if I'm right (Which I hope I made a mistake in my previous testing) would be unfortunate. I'd imagine something like that could be overcome with a tweak a recompile, though I personally like letting Sun do the expert work and just worry about using it.

FUTURE PROJECTIONS: At one point in time, if I could get all of this working, I'd like to make some sort of custom interface that's tailered more towards using VirtualBox in a Bare-Metal Hypervisor like mode. For example, have the computer boot directly into the VM if only one VM is present. Otherwise, have it boot to a screen that's designed like the Windows Vista login screen where you have a giant Icon representing a VM and pressing it will boot the VM in full screen mode. I'd like some sort of key combination to swap VM's under this condition, haven't a clue on how to get started, but Numbers 1-7 need to be resolved first anyway.

In short, I see a lot of advantages to this, and so does dWLkR. For anyone who doesn't, please tell me the concerns you have about running VirtualBox as I'd like to either see the light or compel you to join my side and help me get this working. =]

THANKS!

Items (EDITED) above
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on June 30, 2009, 02:08:04 PM
In reference to #6, which I've verified as having a limit of 75% of system memory (which my 512 MB computer is reporting 494 MB total - I suppose that's what is left after TCL's consumption) that VirtualBox GUI does not let you exceed this number. If you use the VBoxManage CLI function:

Quote
VBoxManage modifyvm VM-NAME --memory #

Where VM-NAME is your VM's name (use quotes if it includes spaces) or that ID number (GUUID, I think) and # is the amount of memory, in MB you want to change it to, you can surpass this limit. Your GUI won't like it, but it can't stop you.

However, running WinXP Pro with 494 (as mentioned above as max) and even with 480 causes it to ABORT the VM while it's running. Obviously they are right in wanting to limit you, but surpassing 75% can't be that bad, can it??

I'm still playing with numbers, but there is a GUI limit and you CAN surpass it.

Seems to like to crash with even 470 as the number of RAM... not sure why. 400 works fine which is 30 MB over the 370 limit based on 75%....
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: grabur on July 02, 2009, 12:53:25 PM
You can remaster tinycore, and while it normall wouldn't be recommended...

Copy out the tinycore image.

Chroot into in:

Take the tces of the components you need for vbox, and just untar them into /usr/local

Try installing vbox - you might need to mount some devices to the chroot env, though I'm pretty dumb when it comes to this, so someone else might be able to help.

You might want to symlink log directories.

Then zip up tinycore, and merge back into the iso - or wherever you put it.

A startup script should be trivial.

I like the idea of this also. How about vmware's esxi instead? Not that I've used that.

Bypassing vbox's gui sounds quite a good idea. But if you do use it like that to host servers, you'd probably be better off with openvz, bsd or solaris or something else.

[^thehatsrule^: whitespace edit]
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: dWLkR on October 13, 2009, 01:38:44 AM
any news? :)
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: tclfan on October 13, 2009, 12:50:59 PM
As I am reading these posts much later now, as I must have missed them before, this is a very interesting project and I was myself thinking of idea to using TinyCore as base OS for a VM Hypervisor, but making this work was way beyond my Linux knowledge to attempt. An option would be ESXi, but in principle TinyCore should be smaller, so leaving more memory to VMs and running in memory performance should be excellent!
I am curious now if this got accomplished...
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: dondamiano on February 26, 2010, 05:16:00 PM
Hello everyone,
first post here ! Trying to wake up this thread.
I was trying to have VirtualBox working on TinyCore when I found this topic via Google.
It's basically exactly what I'm looking for : a minimal OS acting like a pseudo bare-metal hypevisor using Virtualbox.
I don't know what is the problem, but it just doesn't work for me.
I'm trying to install VirtualBox 3.1.4 in TinyCore 2.8.1.

The User Manual says it needs  :
Qt 4.4.0 or higher;
SDL 1.2.7 or higher (this graphics library is typically called libsdl orsimilar).

Now, which packages needs to be installed on TC to have everything working ?
make, gcc, linux headers are needed to run the "VirtualBox.run" script.
I tried to install qt 4.5 (base and qt3support), make, gcc, linux headers, coreutils, libQT3, compiletc, XLibs_support, SDL and SDL_dev, python, python_dev, Xorg-7.4.

As I understand it, that's should be enough to make it run.
I can compile the script.
When I run this, I've got :
/etc/init.d/vboxdrv start
modprobe: not supported
Starting Virtualbox kernel module...done.

Checking with /etc/init.d/vboxdrv status returns the same "modprobe: not supported" and confirm that every module is loaded.

Then, in one term I run
/opt/VirtualBox/VBoxSVC
In another one, I run :
VirtualBox
and then I have a Xlib error: 'extension "Generic Event Extension" missing on display ":0.0".
and also a pop up saying that it "Failed to create the VirtualBox COM object. The application will now terminate." Details "Callee RC NS_ERROR_ABORT (0x800004004).

Am I missing something obvious or can it be the software version I use (too recent) ?!

Please, give me a hand on this one, I'm stuck on it for three days...

Cheers

dondamiano
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on February 26, 2010, 08:41:06 PM
The fix for that particular error is creating the proper user and group and change ownership of the vbox devices.  But I will stop you here.  Ive spent a lot of time trying to get VBox to run on TC and have determined that TC not being able to handle exceptions keeps a VM from booting.  There is a fix coming in TC v2.9, so lets hope we can get VBox running soon.
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Juanito on February 26, 2010, 09:38:18 PM
The fix is in rc5, maybe you could try it out for us  :)
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: dondamiano on February 27, 2010, 10:39:18 AM
Hello,
thank you Kingdomcome and Juanito for the answer !
Here is what I did, I wrote down everything :

- Create TinyCore VirtualMachine in my Windows Host.
- Boot it with tinycore_2.9rc5.iso.

- In TinyCore I installed the following (feel free to tell me if I installed something useless for VBox to run).
  NB : indented packages are dependencies.

Make

Qt-4.5-base
  glib2
  openssl.0.9.8.h
  qt-4.5-base
linux-header-2.6.29.1-tinycore
libQt3Support.so.4
XLibs_support
gcc
   gcc_libs
SDL
   libmad
SDL-dev
python-dev
   python
      sqlite3
      openssl-0.9.8h (already installed)
      tcl_tk
coreutils


- Downloaded VirtualBox-3.1.4-57640-Linux_x86.run
- chmod 777 VirtualBox-3.1.4-57640-Linux_x86.run
- sudo ./VirtualBox-3.1.4-57640-Linux_x86.run

- created a snapshot just in case...

got this error when installing :
gcc: error trying to exec "as": execvp: No such file or directory

installed binutils

-in order to recompile VirtualBox kernel module :
  /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup   
Compilation ok this time.

- get the usual message :
(Cannot change vboxusers for device /dev/vboxdrv)

sudo addgroup vboxusers

got a super-long-error saying that libGL.so.1 cannot be found.

- installed :
bzip2
glew
libglade
   expat2
   glib2
   graphics-libs-1
   libxml2
   fontconfig
   ttf-bitstream
   gtk2
   atk
   cairo
   pango
   pixman
libglade-dev
freeglut
   Xorg-7.4


- Finally :
$ VirtualBox
and it's seems to be working !!!

I created a Test VM and launched an ArchLinux iso and it looked fine !

Thanks a lot !

Just one things is bugging me, I still have this error :
ps: invalid option --'U'
   BusyBox v.1.14.3 (2009-11-14 10:19:18 PST) multi-call binary

Usage: ps

Report process status

Options:
      -o col1,…

Xlib: extension "GenericEvent Extension" missing on disly ":0.0".


Probably nothing, but is there a way to use the "original" ps instead of busybox' ?

Also would it be possible, or is it too complicated, to create an extension or a kind of script which would install VirtualBox automatically by downloading all the dependencies ? Or at least a virtualbox-dependencies package ? Because it's a pain to load everything manually... (it took me half of the day).

Take care

dondamiano
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on February 27, 2010, 03:41:24 PM
I was under the assumption that we would need to wait for 2.9 to become final for some dev files to be updated.  The fact that you have a running VM is quite excellent news.   I already have a build script ready to build an extension, although Im not sure if I am going to have time to properly create an extension for the repo until the end of next week.
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: dondamiano on February 27, 2010, 03:59:24 PM
Just for the curious !
Note to self : running Vbox into a virtualized Vbox environnement is not the best idea...
It took about half an hour to load DSL Live CD !!! But loaded it is.

Excellent news about the extension.

Keep on the good work.

dondamiano
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on February 27, 2010, 06:49:02 PM
Just one things is bugging me, I still have this error :
ps: invalid option --'U'
   BusyBox v.1.14.3 (2009-11-14 10:19:18 PST) multi-call binary
Usage: ps
Report process status
Options:
      -o col1,…
Xlib: extension "GenericEvent Extension" missing on disly ":0.0".
Probably nothing, but is there a way to use the "original" ps instead of busybox' ?

Install procps.tcz and see if that error disappears.  If it remains, you may have to remove the symlink /bin/ps and recreate a symlink pointing to /usr/local/bin/ps.

One thing I didnt see in your process was a mention of qt-opengl.  That is a dependency of the OSE version that is not currently in the TC repo.  Do you recall seeing any mention of qt-opengl during your building?
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Juanito on February 27, 2010, 07:25:05 PM
I was under the assumption that we would need to wait for 2.9 to become final for some dev files to be updated.

Depending on what you're trying to do, it's true - some dev files will need to be updated once 2.9 is final.
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Onyarian on February 28, 2010, 11:41:36 AM
It seems that, finally, the extension is coming soon.

Good news!!  :D :D

Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: dondamiano on February 28, 2010, 02:17:42 PM
Kingdomcome,
I reinstalled today to make the install persistant with boot parameters :
tce= hda1 opt=hda1 home=hda1. It works fine for the extensions.

But it turns out it'll need some scripting for VirtualBox... According to the VBox user manual, the .run script :
• It builds the VirtualBox kernel module (vboxdrv) and installs it.
• It creates /etc/init.d/vboxdrv, an init script to start the VirtualBox kernel module.
• It creates a new system group called vboxusers.
• It creates symbolic links to VirtualBox, VBoxSDL, VBoxVRDP, VBoxHeadless and VBoxManage in /usr/bin.
• It creates /etc/udev/60-vboxdrv.rules, a description file for udev, if that is present, which makes the module accessible to anyone in the group vboxusers.
• It writes the installation directory to /etc/vbox/vbox.cfg.

Apart from the /opt/VirtualBox folder, nothing remains after a reboot. Do you think this is something that can be "fixed" in a way or another ?

The OpenGL extension you refer to was freeglut. I installed it and it worked, but it turns out Xorg (which is dependent of it) was the one who really fixed my problem.

While I was reinstalling, I tried to use only the necessary extensions from my previous post.
The ones necessary (at least for me) to have a working environment for VirtualBox are the following (indented are dependencies) :

make
Qt-4.5-base
  glib2
  openssl.0.9.8.h
  qt-4.5-base
linux-header-2.6.29.1-tinycore
binutils
gcc
   gcc_libs
python-dev
   python
      sqlite3
      openssl-0.9.8h (already installed)
      tcl_tk
XVesa
Xorg-7.4   
   expat2
   fontconfig
   openssl-0.9.8m
   pixman
SDL
   libmad

Hope this answers you question and will help in the extension development.

PS : I already did the trick for ps after installing procps, I was wondering if they could replace BusyBox' binaries or symlink automatically. Anyway, this doesn't prevent VBox from running, so the priority is low on this one.

Take care !

dondamiano
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on March 05, 2010, 12:36:54 PM
Well folks, I have great news.  VBox OSe runs quite well on TC 2.9.  I still have some tweaking and testing to do, but I expect to have the extensions submitted to the repo this weekend.  I was unable to get the latest versions working (3.1.x), but 3.0.12 compiled and ran just as it should.  The problem with 3.1.x has to do with the kernel modules and may require a kernel update before it will work (although I have not researched this.) I believe kernel incompatibility is keeping the guest additions from working as well, but I will report in that thread as well.  For now, I will leave this screencap of TC running inside TC.

 (http://i48.tinypic.com/mi2fyo.png)
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: baz on March 05, 2010, 12:42:02 PM
HIP! HIP! ...
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Onyarian on March 05, 2010, 01:41:38 PM
... HURRA!  :D :D
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on March 07, 2010, 11:55:34 AM
Posted!
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Onyarian on March 09, 2010, 11:48:49 AM
Thanks!

goes like a charm!

Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on March 09, 2010, 04:27:02 PM
Great news.  Thanks for the feedback.


Kingdomcome
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: PhantomTramp on March 10, 2010, 06:29:26 AM
Kingdomcome,

When you install the additions, can you use seamless mode? For some reason that option is greyed out for me. I'm not complaining, these extensions rock as far as I'm concerned.

I'm trying to get Firefox to run seamless in a Tiny Core guest with Windows XP as the host. Hopefully the drive-by malware downloads won't happen with this setup.

You might see where I'm going w/ this...

The Tramp
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: Kingdomcome on March 10, 2010, 06:48:12 AM
PhantomTramp,

   I submitted an updated additions modules extensions yesterday that hopefully has a fix for this.  The problem is with the permission of the vbox devices. Please trying upgrading to the latest version of the modules extension and if that doesnt work you can use the the commands listed here (http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=2831.msg28267#msg28267).
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: PhantomTramp on March 10, 2010, 08:40:37 AM
Thanks, I will try that this evening.

I have a few "problem users" in the group who need something like this.

 :D

The Tramp
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: PhantomTramp on March 11, 2010, 05:58:37 AM
Kingdomcome,

Thanks, got it working despite my "newbie-ness." I still have work to do if I'm going to roll this out to problem users but I still think the basic idea is a good one.

The ideal would be to have a streamlined virtualbox-like "player" w/ a core Linux guest (or BSD, Solaris, whichever is faster and more seamless) that has a sole purpose of giving you a browser w/ java, flash, sound etc...

It would give the Windows-driveby-malware writers something new to chew on at very least.

The Tramp
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: MrBojangles on April 08, 2010, 09:13:03 AM
I'm surprised to see this thread has actually gotten some attention since the last time I was logged into these forums.

I feel a project like this can really take root if and when VirtuaBox has really good support for 2D and 3D graphic pass through and is able to dynamically allocate memory to VMs.

Seems like some people have had similar success as I had back when. I had Windows XP running virtualized as a guest with a TCL Host using VBox.

Just noticed Kindomcome's VBox-OSE-tcz app. Giving it a try, very cool~!
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: kjpeter on May 08, 2010, 02:14:27 AM
anyone having iso of tinycore with virtualbox in it? can u please ?  peterkonki at gmail.com
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: kjpeter on May 08, 2010, 04:27:52 AM
Hey i could install virtualbox . icon exists next to apps icon. but clicking it nothing happens. i am unable to install this to my usb drive.
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: maro on May 08, 2010, 03:37:16 PM
@kjpeter: I've repeated (at least somewhat) your steps and can NOT confirm your report.

I booted a "plain" TC 2.11 system (without persistence, no backup, i.e. "cloud" mode) and installed 'VBox-OSE.tcz'. After clicking the icon it took on my fairly slow test system (a QEMU VM without kqemu) almost 1 minute for the VBox GUI to appear, but it seems to start OK.

If you use just the command VirtualBox inside a 'xterm' do you get any warning messages besides from the well know and harmless ones ( i.e. Xlib:  extension "Generic Event Extension" missing on display ":0.0".)? Why do you think that your USB installation is faulty? Do you have other extensions installed on your USB, and how do those behave?
Title: Re: VirtualBox: Making it Run!
Post by: jklmnb on June 24, 2010, 07:49:25 PM
so far i have got a .vmdk file that is 50 megs and firefox is running successfully.  hopefully someone here already has a solution to what i am trying to get working.  i would like to know if it is possible to auto detect display information from the virtualbox video driver, and could you adjust the screen size accordingly? i can upload and link my .vmdk file if anyone is interested.

also the FAQ says that flash is not supported now.  has anyone hacked up a way to get youtube videos to play?