Tiny Core Linux

dCore Import Debian Packages to Mountable SCE extensions => dCore X86 => dCore x86 Imported Extensions => Topic started by: uggla on October 12, 2013, 08:47:02 AM

Title: cups not starting
Post by: uggla on October 12, 2013, 08:47:02 AM
I have Cups in my mydesktop mega-sce but I'm unable to make it work.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: beerstein on October 12, 2013, 11:06:36 AM
Hi: please tell us:
1. which tcl version?
2. which cups version did you install?
3. did you check this:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:printer_setup_using_cups
4. any error messages?

Thanks
 
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: jls on October 12, 2013, 11:25:12 AM
uggla is using dCore not core
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: beerstein on October 13, 2013, 12:50:00 PM
aha - so I assume that he installed cups from the repo. I have no idea whether cups is in the dCore repo?
Still - I think a statement such as " I'm unable to make it work." is not enough for me to help.
I need more info as stated in my previous post
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 13, 2013, 04:20:58 PM
I see that cups will not start (/etc/init.d/cups start) and it's postinst script is huge, I will look into it and hopefully get it going soon.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 13, 2013, 07:29:53 PM
I am getting there, some simple startup script changes gets cups running, I will hone and test it.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 13, 2013, 09:15:41 PM
Startup script added, /etc/init.d/cups starts and the web interface appears working, but I don't have a printer to test with.  Please test and give feedback, if I can't fix any remaining issues that may be remaining based on feedback I will borrow a printer if needed. 
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: uggla on October 14, 2013, 09:38:41 AM
Re-imported but still doesn't start for me.  :(
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 14, 2013, 06:50:59 PM
I re-imported cups and with only it installed the init.d script started.  Then I load a desktop and firefox displays the web interface and it overall works as expected. 

What is your md5 of your /tmp/tcloop/cups/usr/local/tce.installed/cups script?  Mine is d170892217514208ecff7633fdcc79ba

I have a hunch you are using a mirror and it has yet to sync with the main repo.tinycorelinux.net.  I just now looked at a mirror in Greece and it has not synced the cups.deb2sce script yet.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: uggla on October 15, 2013, 11:50:17 AM
My md5 is the same, but my cups is loaded from a mega-sce.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 15, 2013, 12:31:15 PM
Ok.  When you issue "/etc/init.d/cups start" what is the exact error message?
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 15, 2013, 01:02:56 PM
Ok.  When you issue "/etc/init.d/cups start" what is the exact error message?

in my cups.sce no /etc/init.d/cups-file is included! :-(
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: uggla on October 15, 2013, 01:27:25 PM
Ok.  When you issue "/etc/init.d/cups start" what is the exact error message?
$ sudo /etc/init.d/cups start
Starting Common Unix Printing System: cupsdcupsd: Child exited with status 1
.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 15, 2013, 03:01:41 PM
No /etc/init.d/cups   is included?

You are using the cups import,  "import cups" and not a different package?

Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 15, 2013, 10:34:20 PM
You are using the cups import,  "import cups" and not a different package?
yes, i use "import cups"!
during the process i have to choose between different versions of cups and it's dependencies...
first i tried the middle versions of the *-i386.deb-alternatives, in a second step i chose the latest versions for my x86-platform... but always the same result.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 16, 2013, 07:17:40 AM
Ok, since the menu came up during import and another deb was chosen for either the main package or it's dependencies I can't know if you have version compatible versions of packages chosen.  I used to see that menu come up when my Debian packages list was not current.  The menu allows us to be able to get a working package when there is an issue fetching the proper one, but it can also be another variable when testing.

What mirror are you using?  I have a hunch your mirror is not in sync with repo.tinycorelinux.net.

Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 16, 2013, 02:15:01 PM
hi jason w,

i didn't change any mirror-settings and actually i'm not aware which mirror i used.
would you give me a hint which mirror you successfully used and how i can check whether my mirror-settings are o.k.?

thank you for your help.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 16, 2013, 05:21:52 PM
Hi, I use the main http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/.  When re-importing a package that has just been fixed it would be advisable to use that mirror as it is the main server where the files are adjusted in real time.

"cat /opt/tcemirror" will let you know what mirror you are using.

And of course, make sure the sce package you are testing is loaded before any others if you are loading multiple sce's during boot and are not going from a file list.

Thanks.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 16, 2013, 11:42:43 PM
hi jason,

this time everything worked smooth and fine without any questions about versions or platforms.
finally i could start a working cups-environment on my localhost.
soon i will test my printers and give a feedback.

great work!!! i really appreciate this dCore-approach, thank you.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 17, 2013, 07:56:35 AM
hi jason,

cups offers only few printer-drivers and ppds,
so i installed cups-driver-gutenprint, too.

now cups starts, but i cannot print, cause the dbus is not started successfully.
i get an error message that dbus cannot start, cause the user "messagebus" does not exist.
there is only the group "messagebus".
after i added the user messagebus, dbus asked for a working-directory /etc/dbus-1/system.d.
with this dir dbus starts without errors.
afterwards i restarted cups successfully.
now when i print to cups my cups-printer answers with the error message "no profiles specified in PPD".

how could we solve this?
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 17, 2013, 12:36:16 PM
Ok, I will attempt to fix this tonight with the startup script.

Also, install ghostscript-cups, that may fix the PPD issue.  If so, i will add it to the cups dep list.

libgs9-common may also be needed.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 17, 2013, 05:41:13 PM
On my system, dbus adds the user messagebus and starts without error, and that system.d directory exists already.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 22, 2013, 10:55:03 PM
hi jason w,

finally i can successfully print with small adjustments!

first i need to start or restart dbus and cups,
so i added following lines to /opt/bootsync.sh:

sudo /etc/init.d/dbus restart &
sleep 3
sudo /etc/init.d/cups restart &

and
the directory /etc/dbus-1/system.d is still missing

so i added following line to /opt/.filetool.lst
etc/dbus-1/system.d

perhaps you see there a way to improve this settings ;-) !

thank you for your commitment and help.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 23, 2013, 04:37:56 AM
Ok, I adjusted the startup script to create that directory, I had done that earlier but there was a typo.

Is there a dbus error when doing "/etc/init.d/cups start", is that making the need to restart dbus?  Or can it work by simply starting dbus?  Cups starts here with no error and no need to start dbus.

Re-import and try again if you would, using the mirror repo.tinycorelinux.net.  Thanks. 
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 23, 2013, 10:48:22 PM
Ok, I adjusted the startup script to create that directory, I had done that earlier but there was a typo.
now i get /etc/dbus-1/system.d, so that works now fine for me :)

Quote
Is there a dbus error when doing "/etc/init.d/cups start", is that making the need to restart dbus?  Or can it work by simply starting dbus?  Cups starts here with no error and no need to start dbus.
i do not notice any error message.
are there any log files i could examine?
both has to be restarted, dbus and cups, then everything works fine.

thank you for your help.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 24, 2013, 07:47:31 AM
Ok, I read other places that a running dbus has to be restarted before cups can be started, it is normal and not a dCore specific issue.  However, I am not really wanting to script in a restarting of dbus into cups' init.d script since I read of how restarting dbus during a running X session can cause issues.  Maybe that is why dbus is not restarted with cups is in Debian, I will try on Debian and see how it is handled there and maybe there is a solution to prevent having to restart dbus.

But I can prevent cups from being started when the package is being loaded if that is what is happening, that way cups would not have to be restarted and the user can have control when they want to start it up. 
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Juanito on October 24, 2013, 08:43:22 AM
Take a look at the tc x86 dbus script - I recall there's a reload (or similar) function that doesn't cause the same issues as restart
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 24, 2013, 09:17:40 AM
Ok, I will.  Thanks.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 24, 2013, 05:47:20 PM
Thanks Juanito, "force-reload" or "reload" is an option in the Debian one that will reload the config.  I am having cups do that on install.

I have made changes to dbus.deb2sce install start script as wells as to the cups.deb2sce one.  Netnomad, please re-importsce and test.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 24, 2013, 08:03:28 PM
netnomad - hold off for right now, I am still verifying the changes to dbus.  Thanks.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: Jason W on October 25, 2013, 02:50:05 AM
I think I have it figured out.  Proceed in testing.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 28, 2013, 01:21:47 PM
hi jason w,

now dbus is flawless initialized in my environment.
but i need to restart cups manually with the help of my .xinitrc while starting my x-session:
sudo /etc/init.d/cups restart &
i guess thats o.k. for me, cause it's the same behaviour like i was used in 4.x.

thank you for your support and effort to improve the core.
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: gerald_clark on October 28, 2013, 05:51:49 PM
You should be starting cups in /opt/bootlocal.sh not .xinitrc
Title: Re: cups not starting
Post by: netnomad on October 28, 2013, 11:30:30 PM
hi gerald_clark,

you are right, thank you!