Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Extensions => TCE Bugs => Topic started by: uggla on January 12, 2012, 09:44:17 AM

Title: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on January 12, 2012, 09:44:17 AM
I have my wbar on the right side of the screen but when I load Xprogs, wbar is moved to the bottom. This wasn't happening for Core 4.2.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on January 20, 2012, 11:01:15 AM
Has anyone been able to replicate this, or is it just my installation?
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: Rich on January 20, 2012, 11:13:06 AM
Hi uggla
Just a guess, but maybe try moving xprogs up in your  onboot.lst?
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on January 21, 2012, 03:24:56 AM
I have it as ondemand.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on January 21, 2012, 04:06:44 AM
I've found why the wbar moves. Loading Xprogs closes the initial instance of wbar and starts a new one AS ROOT. Please fix.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: Rich on January 21, 2012, 08:11:30 AM
Hi uggla
If you don't mind me asking, why do you want to load  xprogs  ondemand?
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on January 21, 2012, 09:23:50 AM
Why load onboot if you don't use it that often?
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: Rich on January 21, 2012, 10:34:53 AM
Hi uggla
Quite honestly, I only use ondemand on one of my machines, and that is for Flashplayer so that it
doesn't load and gobble up 70Mb of RAM just because some site feels the need to use Flash
because they can, not because they have to. Example: A number of years ago I needed a new
hard drive. When I clicked on the  Weekly Specials Flyer  button on the Best Buy website, it told
me I had to install Flashplayer. My response was "no I don't", as I moved on and found a really
good deal at Office Depo , located in the same shopping mall.
Since extensions are loop mounted and therefore use very little RAM, I just leave everything onboot
so I don't need to keep track of what is onboot and what is ondemand, but that's just me, to each
there own.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: Pseudoman on January 21, 2012, 03:30:02 PM
I'm not sure if this is related to your problem with Xprogs.tcz and Wbar, but when I try to move wbar to the bottom-left through the "wbar conf" tool, wbar just sits at the bottom-middle.
I found that the configure tool writes a wbar configuration file that is missing the "-pos" argument, effectively omitting the position information. Something similar might be happening here with your wbar configuration. If you can manually edit the configuration file, then it should work as a workaround until the TC team resolves the issue.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on February 28, 2012, 11:55:17 AM
There are still problems in core 4.3 related to this. Running acroread from a terminal opened from wbar do normally work but doing the same after loading Xprogs ondemand generates this error:

Quote
Adobe Reader does not need to be run as a privileged user. Please remove 'sudo' from the beginning of the command.

Is wbar restarted using sudo?

Running acroread from a terminal opened from the flwm menu works both before and after Xprogs is loaded.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: roberts on February 29, 2012, 09:42:04 AM
ps | grep wbar

Looks like tc to me!
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on February 29, 2012, 10:29:40 AM
But why can't I start acroread from wbar after Xprogs is loaded? Acroread is obviously detecting something. Any ideas what?  ???

I can send my acroread.tcz, just tell me where to.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: Rich on February 29, 2012, 10:48:03 AM
Hi uggla
Did you upgrade to 4.3 from a previous version? If so, did you remember to:
Quote
Note must update Xlibs.tcz, Xprogs.tcz, wbar.tcz, and supported window manager as may be required.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on February 29, 2012, 11:04:17 AM
I remembered
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on March 04, 2012, 10:12:16 AM
I think I've found it!

If I recreate the wbar by rerunning /usr/local/tce.installed/Xprogs as user tc then I can start acroread from wbar again. But if I then rerun /usr/local/tce.installed/Xprogs using sudo then I can't. It seems that the tce.installed scripts are run as superuser.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: uggla on March 11, 2012, 03:19:03 AM
Removing sudo from update_system() in /usr/bin/tce-load solves this issue.

Code: [Select]
update_system() {
if [ "$BOOTING" ]; then
[ "$MODULES" ] && sudo touch /etc/sysconfig/newmodules
else
[ "$THISAPP" != "$EXTENSION" ] || [ "$DOWNLOAD_ONLY" ] || [ "$LOAD_ONLY" ] || echo "$THISAPP" >> ../$ONBOOTNAME
if [ "$MODULES" ]; then
sudo depmod -a 2>/dev/null
sudo /sbin/udevadm trigger
fi
sudo /sbin/ldconfig 2>/dev/null
fi
if [ -x "$TCEINSTALLED"/$2 ]; then
if [ "$BOOTING" ] ; then
echo "$TCEINSTALLED"/$2 >> /tmp/setup.lst
else
#HERE >>                 sudo "$TCEINSTALLED"/$2
fi
else
touch "$TCEINSTALLED"/$2
fi
}

If sudo is needed by a command inside a tce.installed script then it should be handled by the script itself. Tce-load shouldn't run all tce.installed scripts as sudo.
Title: Re: Wbar problem after recent updates
Post by: curaga on March 11, 2012, 03:58:26 AM
That would be breaking the tradition too much, all extensions expect it to run as root. Better fix the wbar startup script if it has an issue.