Tiny Core Linux

General TC => General TC Talk => Topic started by: SunBurnt on August 12, 2011, 08:45:59 PM

Title: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: SunBurnt on August 12, 2011, 08:45:59 PM
Title says it all, it`s a pain remembering that name.

After all... Doesn`t the apps. installer "get" everything?

Or as has been suggested, supply Firefox with it.
But this may be against Adobe`s usage policys.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 12, 2011, 08:53:35 PM
If we could package and distribute flash player, we would have never bothered with a fetch and install script, believe me.

And since the extension only gets flash player, I think it would be more confusing to simply name the extension "flash10.tcz".
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Rich on August 12, 2011, 08:57:35 PM
Hi SunBurnt
That might create a conflict since the getflash extension creates an extension called flash10. It threw
me (and possibly others) the first time I scrolled through the extensions looking for it. If roberts sees
this and is so inclined, maybe rename it to something like  flash10installer.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: SunBurnt on August 12, 2011, 09:05:18 PM
Yep... That works for me, just so it starts with "Flash" !
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Rich on August 12, 2011, 09:09:53 PM
Hi SunBurnt
Well, it's roberts extension, so it's his call.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Guy on August 13, 2011, 12:00:28 AM
I like the name flash10installer, as it makes it clear what it is.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: SunBurnt on August 13, 2011, 12:57:04 AM
Kinda like the same reason I don`t use "The" at the start of media names.
It creates a sub category that separates everything in it making it hard to find.

The repeated Qs in the forum should be enough to provoke a name change.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 13, 2011, 02:19:08 AM
Typing "flash" in the appbrowser and hitting the search button brings getflash10 up as the first result.  I have not seen any posts by anyone in regards to not being able to find the flash installing extension.  I am not saying that it would hurt to change the name, but if it did not show up in a search for "flash" then I could see folks having a hard time finding it.  Right now there are so many extensions it is not easy to manually search through the whole list of them, hence the search function that I am sure most folks use.  Renaming the extension would only help folks who are looking through the list of extensions one by one.

But I have seen potential issue with running the getflash script needlessly once flash is installed, which breaks flash for the current session.  And that issue was addressed with a feature that prevents it from happening.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: hiro on August 13, 2011, 03:12:41 AM
If the tcz file is replaced shouldn't the file handler from the squashfs mount still point to the old one, thus not breaking the running session?
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 13, 2011, 03:45:58 AM
My experience is it can break the running flash session.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: roberts on August 13, 2011, 06:35:03 AM
I only did the original get flash extension, but Jason has been maintaining the extension.
Jason has done an excellent job in its updates. I will therefore leave it up to Jason regarding a possible name change.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: gerald_clark on August 13, 2011, 07:54:27 AM
I think flash10installer is misleading, as it does not install flash.
It only gets flash, and makes an extension from it.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 13, 2011, 08:03:38 AM
Thanks Robert.

As I am normally resistant to name changes in extensions unless there is a pressing need, as a name change will break the automated updates of it and then some folks wondering what happened to getFlash10.  Kind of robbing Peter to pay Paul.

I will keep this renaming in mind when Adobe moves to its next version of flash, ie 11 or 12, since the name will need to change then anyway.

Oh, and i just now see Gerald's post.  And I agree that renaming to installer may also be confusing.

Perhaps "flash10-installscript" is more accurate than flash10-installer, but again the difference is still only in semantics.  And the flash version number would need to remain in the extension name as it creates a unique version of flash(version).tcz.

I lean towards leaving it alone still, but I will ponder it some more.

Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: coreplayer2 on August 13, 2011, 10:02:25 AM
I think the current name clearly indicates it's purpose and it's also easy to find ;)
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: hiro on August 13, 2011, 10:09:39 AM
Please call next version getflash.tcz (no need for the version number if there's only one available).
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: gerald_clark on August 13, 2011, 10:29:25 AM
Hiro, I think the point was that there will be more than one version.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 13, 2011, 10:41:34 AM
The only thing I see about removing the version number is that the next version of flash may not work so well for some situations or browsers, and some folks may want to stick with flash 10.   At least during the transition phase before the next flash is used almost universally like 10 is now.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: hiro on August 13, 2011, 12:36:12 PM
Ok, I didn't know it was even possible to download older versions.
Then just keep the current naming scheme, I'm sure most users know how to use the search function in the appbrowser. Don't break it.
Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: cast-fish on August 13, 2011, 09:09:48 PM
hello,

my own experience is its pretty simple to understand where Flash is in tcl
and how to install and run it.

Flash is described in the wiki.

Lets agree, the tcl Flash extension  is not as elegant as other tcl extensions
that just download and install and are ready. But I believe Adobe's licence laws
mean that the current tcl Flash scenario is the only option.

still, having said that, Flash is an important feature for many computer web users
and warrants discussion.

V.

Title: Re: Should change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10.tcz".
Post by: SunBurnt on August 14, 2011, 12:07:25 AM
I`m sure anyone will agree, having pages and docs. describing things is a far cry from "ease of use".

cast-fish may be right that it`s against Adobe policy to have Flash auto install.
I`m reasonably sure it`s not allowed to have it pre-installed in any fashion.

Simple fixes: Have the name start with Flash in the TC installer.
When the download is done have a popup dialog to run the install.

No looking for the package, and no Qs as to how to get it to work.
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: Rich on August 14, 2011, 12:37:04 AM
Hi SunBurnt
Quote
No looking for the package, and no Qs as to how to get it to work.
I've already given my thoughts on the package name, so I won't go into that again. However, when
you click on a package in AppBrowser, the first thing that comes up in the right panel is the info tab.
Taking a minute to read it will sometimes provide additional information for the application, for
instance, getFlash10 sums up in four short phrases the requirements to get flash running.
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: coreplayer2 on August 14, 2011, 01:53:58 AM
Seems perfect right,  so why fix it if it ain't broke :)
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 14, 2011, 02:17:02 AM
As for installing getFlash10 from the appbrowser and then launching a web browser just to wonder why flash is not working, I have done that many times myself when using TC in cloud mode at work or somewhere I am booting from a base CD.  I think that is the user friendliness issue, rather than the name of the flash getting extension.

I will look in to whether there is a reliable way to make getFlash10 run when it is installed and there is not an installed flash10.tcz and not run during subsequent loads during boot.  That way, install getFlash10 for the first time during a running session and it fetches flash without having to run it from the menu. 

I don't think that it is against Adobe policy to auto install, since we are auto installing with a run of the getFlash10 script.  We just can't distribute it prepackaged
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: Jason W on August 14, 2011, 12:59:26 PM
Added the automatic fetching of flash when flash is not already installed.   Works as expected whether X is running or when in cli mode.
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: SunBurnt on August 14, 2011, 08:05:49 PM
Works for me... Just need to get use to searching instead of looking for extensions.  ::)
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: cast-fish on August 14, 2011, 08:32:58 PM
will give things a go here.

Try a virgin tcl boot  here and

0) fetching "Opera-11.tcz" browser from the apps store (running it)
1) then fetching "getflash10.tcz" from the apps store
2) then running Opera browser again and seeing if Flash is working.

V.
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: robc on August 14, 2011, 10:01:56 PM
If the getFlash extension is going to be renamed, it should be done when 4.x is released.  That way the name of the extension will be consistent for the life that version.
Title: Re: Change "getFlash10.tcz" to "Flash10installer.tcz".
Post by: cast-fish on August 15, 2011, 01:16:16 AM
Hello

the Flash improvement is working fine here.

I did a virgin boot of tcl from CD disc. I did not instruct tcl about any permanent (tce/) directory location.

0) Downloaded "opera-11.tcz" from the apps store.
1) Downloaded "oss.tcz" from the apps store
2) With OSS in it's default state of soundON, i then ran the Opera browser, then i closed Opera browser.
3) i downloaded "getFlash10.tcz" from the apps store and it executed a script where a gui window was seen
4) I then ran Opera browser again and Flash is working fully. Flash video and sound and all normal flash features
are working.

thanks

V.