Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Base => TCB Talk => Topic started by: Roberto A. Foglietta on April 09, 2009, 03:12:23 PM

Title: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: Roberto A. Foglietta on April 09, 2009, 03:12:23 PM
As you can see TC executable are very very stripped, what are you using to do that ??? If you are using sstrip from busybox I think you should include sstrip into tcbase's busybox.  ::)   

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~/downloads/wbar-1.3.3$ ls -al /usr/bin/wbar
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        41716 Apr  9 09:31 /usr/bin/wbar
tc@box:~/downloads/wbar-1.3.3$ ls -al wbar
-rwxr-xr-x    1 tc       staff       66520 Apr 10 00:07 wbar
tc@box:~/downloads/wbar-1.3.3$ size /usr/bin/wbar
   text    data     bss     dec     hex filename
      0       0       0       0       0 /usr/bin/wbar
tc@box:~/downloads/wbar-1.3.3$ size wbar
   text    data     bss     dec     hex filename
  63819     776     504   65099    fe4b wbar
Title: Re: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: Juanito on April 09, 2009, 09:52:27 PM
strip is included in the compiletc extension - it also seems like more and more packages accept "make install-strip".
Title: Re: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: mikshaw on April 09, 2009, 10:02:23 PM
but is that the same strip that was used in TC base?  I think that was the question.
Title: Re: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: Roberto A. Foglietta on April 10, 2009, 02:34:29 AM
but is that the same strip that was used in TC base?  I think that was the question.

yes that was the question because the strip included into compiletc does not do the same job of those used to make .iso content
Title: Re: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: curaga on April 12, 2009, 06:28:18 AM
Yes, it was the regular GNU strip. The reason why you don't get as small binaries lies in the optimization, for example try adding the "-Os" (optimize for size) to your CFLAGS before running configure.
Title: Re: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: Juanito on April 12, 2009, 06:56:35 AM
..but be aware that using "-Os" causes some compile runs to fail and the error messages do not indicate that "-Os" was the cause of the failure...
Title: Re: which version of strip are you using?
Post by: Roberto A. Foglietta on April 13, 2009, 02:47:12 AM
Yes, it was the regular GNU strip. The reason why you don't get as small binaries lies in the optimization, for example try adding the "-Os" (optimize for size) to your CFLAGS before running configure.

Regular 'strip' nor '-Os' give out a '0 0 0 0' when 'size' is called!  ::)