WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Get APPS with no internet on TC laptop? Load APS on boot from auto-mounted USB?  (Read 36800 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14573

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
I will try the browser

So I sorta gotta get Firefox working and

Skype is next...

« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 12:55:05 PM by grandma »
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14573
Windows cannot handle linux permissions and uses different "end of line" symbols to linux, thus text files saved in windows will be messed up in linux and vice versa.

The best thing to do is the following:

1. Make yourself a folder for scripts on permanent storage - note that this storage needs to be formatted for linux (eg ext2), not windows:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo mkdir /mnt/hda1/scripts
$ sudo chown tc:staff /mnt/hda1/scripts
subtsitute your actual drive location for "hda1"

2. You can either start the built-in text editor from a terminal with "editor &" and copy and paste the script or enter it directly from the terminal like this:
Code: [Select]
$ cat > /mnt/hda1/scripts/wireless.sh << "EOF"
#!/bin/sh -e
#
tce-load -i wireless-2.6.33.3-tinycore.tcz
tce-load -i wireless_tools.tcz
#
sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "ssid_name"
#
sleep 2
sudo udhcpc -b -i wlan0
#
# EOF
EOF

..and then make it executable:
Code: [Select]
$ chmod +x /mnt/hda1/scripts/wireless.sh

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
having difficulty "creating" files - i.e. sh scripts - then executing - sometimes I will be sitting right on top of them - can ls -l  and see them but try to run and nope
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 12:56:03 PM by grandma »
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14573
'Glad to hear wifi is working at last - that's going to make things a lot easier.

You didn't answer if you bit the bullet and integrated skype yet..

Due to licensing issues, we cannot integrate skype (even if we wanted to) and cannot offer it as an extension.

There is a script to download skype and make an extension out of it here:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=3165.msg46017#msg46017

Note that you will need the oss sound extension for this - works fine for me, even video..


Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
I will try the browser

Unfortunately about 1/3rd of the 70 sites I have REQUIRE Firefox or they kick you out.

That would imply that those are all of extremely crappy design.
BTW, easy to spoof opera to be masked as firefox   ;)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
I now have 2 browsers on that laptop - firefox and one with built in flash - and have tried Opera - nice looking. As for requirement for Firefox on some sites - IE can't do billion dollar infrastructure math accurately and consistently so after 3 months of wrestling with it we went with Firefox - which has its own bugs - but works for those and until we find another browser that "CAN" - that's just what users need or we don't let em in.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 01:40:31 PM by grandma »
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14573
launched Firefox and it seized and coughed - then got a blank gray browser sized box on screen - x in corner wouldn't close it. Any ideas?

Did you download firefox using the apps browser - if so, it should have downloaded the required deps. If not, maybe you are missing one or more of the deps?

You can check the above by typing "firefox" in a terminal window and checking for error messages.

To get rid of a hung program, you can type "killall program_name" in a terminal window.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14573
BTW, to try and locate the issue you had with tinycore not finding your /tce folder and not automatically restoring your backup, you could try this:
Code: [Select]
$ cat /opt/.tce_dir
$ cat /opt/.backup_device

..which should show where tinycore thinks your /tce folder and backup are

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks

A browser with built in flash - no adobe required - and OPEN SOURCE - is really nice.

Just awesome.


Am playing with teaching GRUB to hunt for TC in

C:\TC\BOOT -
C:\TC\TCE\OPTIONAL
C:\TC\OPT

etc.

Got it to boot but can't get the .sh file to run - yet - give me a sec.

« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 12:58:00 PM by grandma »
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14573
Then today I stumbled on a browser (Win2K/XP etc. PLUS Linux) Open Source, clean front end

What is it called?

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Chromium?

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
Internet Surfboard - great browser for windows users who don't want to load Adobe - I use that plus Firefox for other things - works well.


Ok - Juanito - Lee - Poodle - and Robert - just so ya don't think I am a complete retard (dense sometimes - often if you ask my ex - but not completely brain dead)...

...this is my first post to the forum on TC Linux - whooo hooo

Used Grub4DOS - on a primary partion - G: - I sliced out of the C: NTFS drive, reading my USB stick with the password file on it, cutting and pasting that from editor & to the opera session after manually running wireless.xxx and wireless tools, a lan0 connect and dhcp, then a ping test - in one script (that I need to put in local etc. - will try that next), and writing but another long winded thank you.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 01:41:08 PM by grandma »
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
http://weltweitimnetz.de/files/internetsurfboard_inst.exe (DOS/Windows)

or go to his home page - has all kinds of stuff - source code too - nice interface - can this thing be integrated easily?
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
"Restoring your backup"

Seems to retain most everything, but never gotten desktop background to load without manually dragging it from the hard drive /opt/backgrounds to ramdisk, then running control panel - wallpaper - then it goes away on next boot, can't tell if mouse settings are retained, Opera becomes a fresh install.

Does appear most of the tcz files are loaded - but not active or run.

Haven't figured out how to make bootlocal.sh execute on FIRST boot sitting on a Windows 2000 NTFS system.


Can TC be made too boot and take over a machine on FIRST BOOT - installed on an NTFS drive with no requirement for the user to open a Win or Linux partition GUI?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 01:07:16 PM by grandma »
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.