WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Transferring USB build images over the internet  (Read 6802 times)

Offline Tuftec

Transferring USB build images over the internet
« on: May 20, 2011, 05:06:50 PM »
Hi Guys,

I am a bit of novice with Linux and a bit new here so be gentle.

I have a need to transfer an image of my small built TC system (12.5MB) to a friend in another region.

I have built an image on USB that I have managed to get up and going and tested on a USB stick but I do not want to have to rely on the post to get the stick to him. I also need to send him the data quickly.

The image has been built so that it will run on a small embedded machine with no monitor, keyboard etc. The user interface will be via SSH from another computer (using Drop Bear on the TC box).

Unfortunately my friend has very limited resources at his end. He has a laptop running Windows an the box that he wants TC on but there is no spare monitor, CD drive, etc for him to fire up the TC box in the traditional way and load up the code.

What I want to be able to do, is somehow create an image of my machine here that I can email to my friend. He can then load this onto a USB stick, plug it into the TC box and he is then up an running with TC and an SSH connection.

Being a bit of a novice, I do not know the process involved in getting the data off my device in an appropriate format and then having him be able to put this on a stick. This part will all have to be done on troublesome Windows stuff.

Can anyone help with some advice?

Cheers

Peter.

Offline maro

Re: Transferring USB build images over the internet
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 05:31:15 PM »
First off to get a better idea of your own setup, e.g. what boot options are you using. This could be answered if you'd share with us the output of: cat /proc/cmdline