WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: MicroCore-Startx  (Read 12084 times)

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

MicroCore-Startx
« on: January 06, 2011, 07:16:05 PM »
 I first want to start off by telling ya that I'm a COMPLETE NEWBIE TO LINUX PERIOD. Anywho I'm very much determined to learn, even though starting out with Tinycore has been very overwhelming for me.

I started out with Tinycore last week and managed to install it and get it up in running with firefox, Xfce4 ect ect blah blah blah but I could not get the wbar to stop pupping up every time the Xfce desktop would start. So I got feed up and decided to be crazy enough to try out Microcore and NOT install wbar. Plus, it would be really nice to accomplish such a thing seeing that I'm still on my first week with Linux and I never went to school or anything like that for Computers.

Anyways to get to my point, I downloaded the Microcore.iso and burned it then pupped it in the computer but I see a Terminal? Right? .........Okay So I browsed the forms and found out that "ab" brings up the app-browser. Okay, so now I download Xfce4.tcz and Xvesa. "I figured ok soo maybe now I can startx but I get a message saying startx is not found! Hmm....... Now what? Also I receive a message that Desktop.sh is NOT found. After trying for about 24 hrs none stop "I'm also receiving a message that says try a easier Distro" ! lol I fully realize that I'm pushing myself to hard, seeing that I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT LINUX "BASICALLY". Is it possible to startx without first installing microcore or do I have to install microcore first? Why no desktop.sh? Why startx can not be found? and what is desktop.sh?

I refuse to try an easier Distro "I love Tinycore/Microcore for obvious reasons."

Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks George

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: MicroCore-Startx
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2011, 07:30:57 PM »