WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: anyone running tc3.1 on recent qemu on win xp??  (Read 1750 times)

Offline jhancock

anyone running tc3.1 on recent qemu on win xp??
« on: September 20, 2010, 06:04:53 PM »
I've managed to get tinycore 3.1 booting on qemu 0.12.5.  Its a bit quirky though.  Since I'm no qemu expert and new to tc, I thought someone here might be able to present some startup tweaks for this.

I'm looking to run tc as a kiosk browser appliance with firefox or chrome started by default and nothing else available.  So once I get something very stable, it'll boot from usb bare metal.  But for dev, I really need to run on win XP.  I can use qemu or virtualbox.  I've tried both and they seem about the same from early trials...which is to say tc runs a bit flaky at least for mouse movement.

thanks, Jon

Offline maro

Re: anyone running tc3.1 on recent qemu on win xp??
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2010, 10:25:51 PM »
Well, apart from using VBox I'm also a very regular user of QEMU (again on XP, but also from Linux systems). If I just want to look up something in the base of a running TC system nothing beats qemu -cdrom tinycore_3.1.iso for ease and speed. OK, to be honest I've got batch files depending on whether I want to use KQEMU (which I do most of the time) or not. Due to the fact that I operate mostly older systems with CPUs which would not support KVM (which is anyway not on option on XP) I tend to use the old QEMU version 0.11.1 quite a bit, as it was the last one supporting KQEMU. OTOH, for some comparisons I've got the newer version 0.12.5 equally available. One point to remember is that the newer version of 'qemu-img' have fewer bugs, in particular if it comes to playing with non-native disk formats (e.g. vdi, vhd, vmdk, ...)