WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: JWM Missing Start/Menu Button  (Read 3943 times)

Offline SamK

JWM Missing Start/Menu Button
« on: September 06, 2010, 01:48:33 AM »
I'm just beginning to explore a few of the alternative window managers in TC3.  JWM has been installed, listed in OnBoot and loads at start-up.

At the left-hand side of the panel one normally expects to see a Start or Menu button - this is missing.

The panel appears at the top of the screen - how does one make it appear at the bottom?

Is there a guide for using JWM in TC3?

Offline tinypoodle

Re: JWM Missing Start/Menu Button
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 02:34:29 AM »
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml

To modify tray edit /home/tc/.jwmrc-tray.

Hint: It might be more easy to edit XML files using geany for syntax highlighting and to set filetype to XML (Alt+D->T->M)

For menu: Alt+F1

Personally i added
Code: [Select]
<Key key="F12">root:1</Key> to /home/tc/.jwmrc-keys to get the menu with a single keystroke  ;D

BTW, I'd recommend to also try jwm-snapshot, more functionality and more eye candy at same time.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2010, 03:07:09 AM by tinypoodle »
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline SamK

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 03:03:26 AM »
To modify tray edit /home/tc/.jwmrc-tray.

For menu: Alt+F1

Personally i added
Code: [Select]
<Key key="F12">root:1</Key> to /home/tc/.jwmrc-keys to get the menu with a single keystroke  ;D

BTW, I'd recommend to also try jwm-snapshot, more functionality and more eye candy at same time.
Does this mean that the standard JWM installation in TC3 comes without a Start/Menu button?  From a very distant memory I recall one being available in other distros by default.