WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing  (Read 15141 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7343
  • Founder Emeritus
Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« on: May 22, 2010, 12:11:19 PM »
Please continue testing the alpha versions of Tiny Core v3.0.

Alpha4 is now posted:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/3.x/release_candidates/tinycore_3.0alpha4.iso

Change log for alpha4.

* Updated zlib 1.2.5
* updated ncurses  5.7
* Updated sudo 1.7.2p6
* Updated pcmciautils 017
* Updated module-init-tools 3.11.1
* Updated util-linux-ng 2.1.7.2
* Updated libpng 0.43
* Updated libfreetype 2.3.12
* Updated libImlib2 1.4.4
* Updated tc-config, tce-setup, startx, desktop.sh for legacy window manager support of freedesktop and ondemand.

fluxbox, hackedbox, jwm, jwm-snapshot, icewm will soon be posted in the 3.x extension area.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 12:57:31 PM »
Hi!

The new alpha looks great! Haven't run any big testings, but the programs I use seems to work like they should. The most complicated I've done so far was playing pacman on the google site. Good work!

Have fun improving the new 3.0 Tiny Core,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 02:10:54 PM »
Hi again!

Had to try fluxbox and it works just like a charm.

Have fun,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline u54749

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 03:06:47 PM »
Rox-filer extension is broken in Alpha 4

Boot Alpha 4 without any extensions
Install Rox-filer via Appbrowser
The icon shows up but nothing happens when you click it


Boot Alpha 3 without any extensions
Install Rox-filer via Appbrowser
The icon shows up and opens a filer window when clicked

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 03:51:03 PM »
I can NOT confirm the reported problem with rox-filer.tcz on TC 3.0alpha4.

It works for me after booting a "plain" system from ISO (no backup, no persistence, i.e. "cloud" mode) both in GUI mode (using the 'wbar' icon or the 'Applications' menu) as well as in CLI mode (via rox from a 'xterm').
« Last Edit: May 22, 2010, 03:54:06 PM by maro »

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2010, 04:26:46 PM »
@roberts: Could that be a typo regarding the libpng version? AFAIK there was a 'libpng-1.2.43' released in February.

Offline u54749

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2010, 04:34:07 PM »
After further examination I found an "error" in the script that I need to run to load my network card firmware (and I need network access to use the appbrowser):  it mounts a persistent home over /home/tc and in that home directory is my ROX configuration directory /home/tc/.config/rox.sourceforge.net

If I don't mount this persistent home ROX does indeed start

For information the offending file that causes rox to not start is
/home/tc/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons
This XML file links icons to programs/directories

Why this file is interpreted differently between Alpha3 and Alpha4 is a mystery for me.  I will have to examine this further


Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2010, 04:51:36 PM »
Here is another one of my "silly" observations:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ echo $PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read d ; do ls -l ${d}/* ; done | grep -v 'root     root'
ls: /usr/local/sbin/*: No such file or directory
-rwsr-xr-x    1 root     staff       650048 May 20  2009 /usr/bin/Xvesa
-rwxr-xr-x    1 tc       staff          636 Apr 25 14:54 /usr/bin/flwm_topside_initmenu
-rwxr-xr-x    1 tc       staff           44 Nov 13  2009 /usr/bin/flwm_topside_restart
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     staff        42044 Feb 28 00:36 /usr/bin/wbar
-rwxr-xr-x    1 tc       staff          218 Oct 28  2009 /usr/bin/wbar.sh

I guess it's almost a "matter of taste" whether the initrd should contain all directories included in $PATH. Maybe another question is whether all executables in the "standard" $PATH should be owned by 'root:root' to have some consistency in that regard.

Offline u54749

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2010, 04:57:19 PM »
@maro:

What happens if, in alpha4 and with a freshly installed ROX,  you right-click on a file or directory and select the "Set Icon..." function?

Here it causes the filer window to disappear without warning.
In alpha3 you get the correct behaviour:  the Set Icon dialog appears.

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2010, 05:45:24 PM »
@maro:

What happens if, in alpha4 and with a freshly installed ROX,  you right-click on a file or directory and select the "Set Icon..." function?

Here it causes the filer window to disappear without warning.
In alpha3 you get the correct behaviour:  the Set Icon dialog appears.

I confirm this behaviour.

Offline althalus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2010, 07:31:10 PM »
Have either of you tried running ROX from the command line to see if it spews out any error messages when setting an icon?

I'm guessing the ROX extension probably needs to be rebuilt against the newer libraries to work properly with this revision of TC3.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2010, 07:33:13 PM »
Rebuilding Rox does not help. 

I will look into it further, but let's continue the Rox discussion in the Rox extension thread.

Thanks.

Offline lucky13

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • my mostly linux-related blog
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2010, 08:29:44 PM »
Boot Alpha 4 without any extensions
Install Rox-filer via Appbrowser
The icon shows up but nothing happens when you click it

Similar happened to me when I installed GIMP-1 via ab while using icewm (alpha 4). I got a GIMP icon in wbar (with no menu entry) but had to launch it from a terminal because clicking the icon did nothing. Didn't have more time to poke around but will try sometime Sunday.

Offline althalus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2010, 09:34:49 PM »
Didn't give any of the earlier alpha's a shot, and haven't been following the threads all that closely, but don't recall seeing this mentioned yet.

Wifi doesn't seem to work correctly for atheros chips.

lspci shows:
Code: [Select]
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)

iwconfig correctly shows wlan0 as being a wireless interface.

The command:
Code: [Select]
sudo ifconfig wlan0 upreturns "Unknown Error 132"


EDIT: Ok, so, apparently linux respects the wireless button on my keyboard now, so this is a non-issue, just an unexpected change in behaviour.

EDIT2: Further to this, it seems that if I reboot, I can't enable wireless again. Hard shutdown is necessary if I want wireless network when TC comes back up.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2010, 10:09:32 PM by althalus »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6580
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 4 Testing
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2010, 10:43:12 PM »
Similar happened to me when I installed GIMP-1 via ab while using icewm (alpha 4). I got a GIMP icon in wbar (with no menu entry) but had to launch it from a terminal because clicking the icon did nothing. Didn't have more time to poke around but will try sometime Sunday.

This is due to:
Code: [Select]
$ cat /usr/local/share/applications/gimp1.desktop
...
Exec=exec /usr/local/bin/gimp

Corrected version uploaded.

@Jason - it might be worth scanning the 3.x repo for similar errors?