WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Wbar Problem  (Read 3571 times)

Offline jaygeetiny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Wbar Problem
« on: February 09, 2009, 03:33:53 PM »
Since installing mtpaint-3.21.tce my apps and wbar menus are out of sync.

All the apps in the apps menu function perfectly but there's a problem with the wbar menu.

The wbar displays the standard 3 icons plus icons for beaver, emelfm2, opera and roxfiler.

When moused over/clicked the last 2 icons display/launch mtpaint and opera.

File /home/tc/.wbar is corrupted after the mtpaint "c:" value as follows:

i: /usr/local/tce.icons/mtpaint-3.21.png
t: mtpaint
c: /usr/local/bin/mtpainti: /usr/local/tce.icons/opera.png
t: Opera
c: /usr/local/bin/opera -nomail
i: /usr/local/tce.icons/rox-filer.png
t: rox-filer
c: /usr/local/bin/rox 

I can correct the file using emelfm2 and/or vi  and following an immediate "Restart Wbar" execution
I get the standard three icons plus beaver, emelfm2, mtpaint, opera and roxfiler and everything works correctly.

After a backup and reboot or cold boot everything reverts to the original unsynched state.

Is this a bug or should I amend some other setting to correct the situation?
 
Using TC 1.1 in PPR/TC mode on a bootable USB stick with boot options "quiet noswap tce=sda1 waitusb=7 pause"

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: Wbar Problem
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 06:01:07 PM »
Verified.

This is a bug in the mtpaint extension, in which the icon entry file has noeol.

[Moved thread to TCE Bugs]

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Wbar Problem
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 06:18:56 PM »
Fixed now in both tce and tcz versions.

Offline jaygeetiny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Wbar Problem
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2009, 12:43:59 AM »
Many thanks.

From what I've read It seems that uninstalling a tce is a no-no.

Will a simple fresh installation of mtpaint-3.21.tce overwrite the existing installation and correct the missing eol problem?
Using TC 1.1 in PPR/TC mode on a bootable USB stick with boot options "quiet noswap tce=sda1 waitusb=7 pause"

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Wbar Problem
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2009, 02:57:54 AM »
In a word, no.  Though overwriting the existing files of the extension can be done, it will not result in a proper menu and icon bar which is what you are after in the first place.  Rebooting is recommended in this case.

Offline mikshaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
Re: Wbar Problem
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2009, 04:57:04 AM »
There should be no reason to do anything in particular once you have replaced the mtpaint.tce file in your tce folder, if you've already corrected the wbar file.
The next time you reboot the new version of the extension will be used.  In the meantime, if your desktop works now after doing your manual fix, there's no need to intentionally reboot.

Offline jaygeetiny

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Wbar Problem
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2009, 02:18:10 PM »
Thanks gents. I've since reinstalled TC 1.0 on my USB stick and there's now no wbar problem with mtpaint.
Using TC 1.1 in PPR/TC mode on a bootable USB stick with boot options "quiet noswap tce=sda1 waitusb=7 pause"