WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running  (Read 4526 times)

Offline bigpcman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running
« on: January 24, 2010, 01:12:28 PM »
Robert and team tc - great work on version 2.8. This was a tough release.

I know I must be doing something stupid but I can't get the desktop running.

Here's some base info:
Code: [Select]
showbootcodes
initrd=/boot/microcore.gz quiet max_loop=255 BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/bzImage waitusb=10 vga=790 tce=sda1

/mnt/sda1/tce
-rwxrwxr-x    1 tc       staff     3003728 Jan 24 14:17 Xlibs.core.tcz
-rwxrwxr-x    1 tc       staff      660805 Jan 24 14:17 Xprogs.core.tcz
-rwxrwxr-x    1 tc       staff      322694 Jan 24 14:17 Xvesa.core.tcz
-rwxrwxr-x    1 tc       staff          19 Jan 24 14:28 onboot.lst
drwxrwxr-x    2 tc       staff        1024 Jan 24 14:28 optional/

/mnt/sda1/tce/optional
-rwxrwxr-x    1 tc       staff       32768 Jan 24 14:17 flwm.tcz
-rwxrwxr-x    1 tc       staff          43 Jan 24 14:17 flwm.tcz.md5.txt

onboot.lst
flwm.tcz

After booting from the mc 2.8 cd iso I run "sudo tce-setup" followed by "startx".

I get an error response - command not found: startx (tried sudo startx as well)

What am doing wrong?
big pc man

Offline vitex

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 01:27:16 PM »
The core elements for 2.8 are *.core.gz, not *.core.tcz.  Get them from

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/microcore/

and place them in your tce directory.

Also, execute
Code: [Select]
echo Xvesa >/etc/sysconfig/Xserver to tell startx which X server you are using.  (This step should be built into the extension but is not.)

Offline bigpcman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
Re: microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2010, 03:15:48 PM »
The core elements for 2.8 are *.core.gz, not *.core.tcz.  Get them from

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/microcore/

and place them in your tce directory.

Also, execute
Code: [Select]
echo Xvesa >/etc/sysconfig/Xserver to tell startx which X server you are using.  (This step should be built into the extension but is not.)

Thanks, I knew it must be something simple. As it turns out I was reusing a little script to install the core extensions and I forgot to change the extension names on the destination files. Here's the corrected version if anyone is interested.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
wget ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/microcore/Xlibs.core.gz -O /mnt/sda1/tce/Xlibs.core.gz
wget ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/microcore/Xprogs.core.gz -O /mnt/sda1/tce/Xprogs.core.gz
wget ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/microcore/Xvesa.core.gz -O /mnt/sda1/tce/Xvesa.core.gz
tce-load -w -i flwm_topside
tce-load -w -i wbar


edit: updated script
« Last Edit: January 24, 2010, 05:50:42 PM by bigpcman »
big pc man

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2010, 11:40:45 AM »
The core elements for 2.8 are *.core.gz, not *.core.tcz.  Get them from

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release/microcore/

and place them in your tce directory.

Also, execute
Code: [Select]
echo Xvesa >/etc/sysconfig/Xserver to tell startx which X server you are using.  (This step should be built into the extension but is not.)

These are not extensions but initramfs, so no startup scripts.
However /etc/sysconfig/Xserver was missing from Xvesa.core.gz and has now been updated!
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline baz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
Re: microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2010, 02:48:44 PM »
To be sure, in 2.8.1 you place those in tce/optional not tce right?

Offline baz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
Re: microcore 2.8 - can't seem to get a desktop running
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2010, 02:53:53 PM »
Ok scratch that, even in 2.8.1 they go in tce not tce/optional