WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser  (Read 8118 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14622
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2009, 06:48:43 AM »
It looks to be a story of symlinks.

oo2.tcel
/usr/local/bin/soffice -> /usr/local/oo2/program/soffice

oo2.tczl
/usr/local/bin/soffice -> /tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/bin/soffice
/tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/bin/soffice -> /usr/local/oo2/program/soffice
/usr/local/oo2/program/soffice -> /tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/oo2/program/soffice

It appears that something gets lost in the chain of symlinks and soffice cannot find these two files:

/tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/bin/pagein
tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/bin/soffice.bin

when it should be looking for these two files:

/tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/oo2/program/pagein
/tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/oo2/program/soffice.bin

This can be fixed by changing the menu item/icon to launch soffice by "/usr/local/oo2/program/soffice" rather than "/usr/local/bin/soffice"

This means that it cannot be started from the command line, but I guess if you use oo2, you probably wil not use the command line anyway  :)

Anybody see a better solution?

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2009, 05:51:51 PM »
Placing the scripts that are installed in /usr/local/bin (sbase, soffice, scalc, spadmin, sdraw, swriter, simpress, smath) in a user.tar.gz makes it all work as a tcz.  They themselves are symbolic links so they will not take up space.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14622
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2009, 12:17:39 AM »
Yeah - I guess this way we have consistency between the tcel and tczl extensions...

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10975
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #18 on: January 26, 2009, 04:20:14 AM »
Did you find the underlying cause? Which part is unable to follow several symlinks?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline dentonlt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
    • the trombone analog
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #19 on: February 24, 2009, 11:59:35 PM »
I didn't see anyone reply that this has been 'fixed.' I'm digging for a proper fix.

EDIT: for me, changing a link seems simple enough -

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

set -x

rm -rf /usr/local/bin/soffice
ln -s /tmp/tcloop/oo2/usr/local/oo2/program/soffice /usr/local/bin/soffice

exit 0
« Last Edit: February 25, 2009, 02:42:50 AM by dentonlt »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14622
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2009, 04:52:17 AM »
Sorry - I'd completely forgotten I needed to fix this. Give me a day or two and I'll get on it.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14622
Re: oo2 does't appear to install from tce/optional via app browser
« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2009, 08:22:12 PM »
I played around with the symlinks suggested above and several others besides - it still doesn't want to work.

I did discover I'd posted the user.tar.gz version though  ???