WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Fluxbox fonts  (Read 4282 times)

Offline aplannan

Fluxbox fonts
« on: May 09, 2009, 09:01:48 AM »
 I'm a newbie, not really the audience for TC, but I choose TC because I thought I'd learn more using it (and it erases most of my mistakes if I don't backup!). My setup is actually almost complete (well it will never be complete, what fun would that be.). I only have one thing I can't figure out. I am using tinycore with fluxbox and have been trying to set the fonts fluxbox uses. and have been having some problems. Was wondering if anyone had any advice. Here is the fluxbox wiki page on changing fonts:

http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php?title=Change_font

Is tiny core compiled with libxft, is there an extension which includes it? Thought maybe that was my issue.
Changing the font is so minor and unnecessary, but I can't stop trying to do it, so I figured I'd ask for suggestions before I wasted any more hours. Thanks in advance for any help.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: Fluxbox fonts
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2009, 09:07:19 AM »
The base is compiled without Xft, but the library is included. Just load expat2 and fontconfig, and truetype fonts become available to all apps with Xft support.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline aplannan

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2009, 09:27:15 AM »
Thank you curaga,
I have both expat2 and expat2-dev as well as fontconfig and fontconfig-dev, so I should be set there, which means that it is not tiny core. Well, I'll keep trying
Andy

Offline mikshaw

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2009, 06:25:51 PM »
It would help to know what specific problems you're having, and what you have done to change the fonts.

It's possible that fluxbox itself was compiled without xft support. 

Offline aplannan

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2009, 12:40:04 PM »
To compile fluxbox I downloaded 1.1.1 tarball from here:
http://www.fluxbox.org/download/