WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: xfe  (Read 3351 times)

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
xfe
« on: June 03, 2009, 07:08:27 PM »
xfe is a file manager for X:

Code: [Select]
Title:          xfe.tce
Description:    X File Explorer (Xfe) is a filemanager for X
Version:        1.19.2
Author:         Roland Baudin
Original-site:  http://roland65.free.fr/xfe/
Copying-policy: GPL
Size: 2.2MB
Extension_by:   Jason W
Comments:       This extension is PPI compatible. Depends on
fontconfig and Xlibs_support and fox.
Change-log:     ----
Current:    2009/06/03 First version 1.19.2


 

Code: [Select]
Title:          xfe.tcz
Description:    X File Explorer (Xfe) is a filemanager for X
Version:        1.19.2
Author:         Roland Baudin
Original-site:  http://roland65.free.fr/xfe/
Copying-policy: GPL
Size: 2.2MB
Extension_by:   Jason W
Comments:       Depends on fontconfig and Xlibs_support and fox.
Change-log:     ----
Current:    2009/06/03 First version 1.19.2


Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: xfe
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2009, 01:05:36 AM »
i have 2 questions for xfe, I hope not to mistake not creating a new one topic.
For first, new version of xfe is out (19/10/2009 - Version 1.32 released)
In second istance, the button for open new root windows of xfe not work.


Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
Re: xfe
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2009, 02:18:52 AM »
I will look into building the new version of xfe and I will try to find a fix for the issue of opening a new root window. 

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: xfe
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2009, 03:06:12 AM »
Thanks  ;D

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
Re: xfe
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2009, 05:12:46 AM »
When run in a terminal, using that button produces an aterm error claiming that -bc is not a valid option.  What is happening is xterm is a symlink to aterm in the system, and xfe is calling on xterm with options that aterm doesn't support.  I haven't looked closer yet but I am sure that is the case.  Likely I could tweak the source and remove the options from the xterm call that aterm does not support.

The -bc is for text cursor blinking, which I am sure is not needed.

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: xfe
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2009, 10:31:55 AM »
mmm, if I understood correctly I hope it is as you say.    
thanks for pervasive intervention.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
Re: xfe
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2009, 05:56:52 PM »
New version needs to fix.  It simply works.  Will package it after updating firefox and seamonkey.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
Re: xfe
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2009, 06:22:36 PM »
The new version needs a root password to open a root xfe with the button.  I changed that to not need a password, but the mount function does not work while it works fine in 1.19.2.  I fixed the flwm window issue with the mount function the same as it was in 1.19.2, but an error shows when mounting a drive when in fact it should not show.  I did look into it, but I would rather stick to a well working 1.19.2 than a not so well working updated version.  The root xfe button in 1.19.2 has been fixed.

Code: [Select]
Title:          xfe.tcz
Description:    X File Explorer (Xfe) is a filemanager for X
Version:        1.19.2.1
Author:         Roland Baudin
Original-site:  http://roland65.free.fr/xfe/
Copying-policy: GPL
Size: 843kb
Extension_by:   Jason W
Comments:       Depends on fontconfig and Xlibs_support and fox.
Change-log:     ----
    2009/06/03 First version 1.19.2
2009/10/06 Patched for the mount/umount function
to work with flwn (patch by Mikelockmoore).
Current: 2009/10/31 Patched for proper root Xfe button launch.

 

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: xfe
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2009, 12:58:03 AM »
ok, great work jason :)

Offline yesbdb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: xfe
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2011, 05:03:15 PM »
New version of xfe is out (2011/06/04 - Version: 1.32.3 released by Roland Baudin).
But the button for open new root windows of xfe not work, it asks "Enter the root password"


Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7331
Re: xfe
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2011, 05:33:45 PM »
Thanks, but I had actually updated to 1.32.3 on 6/4/11, it is in the repo.

The root passwd thing is just a feature of xfe, and is adjustable to use sudo in Edit > Preferences > General > Root Mode.  Check to use sudo and it will not ask for a passwd.  It works when you have to enter a passwd though, you just have to have set a root passwd and then enter it when asked.