WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: skype install script  (Read 11251 times)

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: skype install script
« Reply #30 on: October 28, 2011, 07:26:21 AM »
I downloaded the skype install script and follow the directions by running cd ~ and sh skype.sh but I still get download failed aborting even after the download completes. So I changed the version in the script to the newest one skype_static-2.2.0.35.tar.bz but I can't figure out how to find the new md5sum from the website. And also is there anything else that I need to change in the script to get it working. Details pleaseeeeeee!

Thanks George, ;)

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: skype install script
« Reply #31 on: October 28, 2011, 08:27:36 AM »
I loaded skype statis according this advice  http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,10034.msg54786.html#msg54786
no md5 was required.
there was an issue with my pc (but nearly 100% sure not with skype).
So, have a look into the links given there?
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: skype install script
« Reply #32 on: October 28, 2011, 03:45:44 PM »
Thanks floppy but I believe I am all set now. I just simply downloaded the newest tar.bz2 and untard it. It seems good so far BUT I never made it into an extension. I did  NOT even use the script. I'm not sure if that matters. It actually seemed a little to easy. ???

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: skype install script
« Reply #33 on: October 29, 2011, 11:18:01 AM »
Thanks floppy but I believe I am all set now. I just simply downloaded the newest tar.bz2 and untard it. It seems good so far BUT I never made it into an extension. I did  NOT even use the script. I'm not sure if that matters. It actually seemed a little to easy. ???
you dont need an extension for this static. If you need it, I could search again how I started this static program (this is not on the pc I am currently in this forum)
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: skype install script
« Reply #34 on: November 25, 2011, 02:19:32 AM »
Modified install script for make static Skype 2.0.0.72 wich work with OSS
Script gets Skype by link from here http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,10034.msg54786.html#msg54786
Work was tested under TCL 4.1
« Last Edit: December 27, 2011, 01:31:48 PM by AbNoRMiS »
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline jls_legalize

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1400
    • Core17
Re: skype install script
« Reply #35 on: November 25, 2011, 04:55:09 AM »
Modified install script for make static Skype 2.0.0.72 wich work with OSS
Script gets Skype by link from here http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,10034.msg54786.html#msg54786
Work was tested under TCL 4.x
why #!/bin/bash and not #!/bin/sh ?
legalize them                                     ThisIsNotlYnuCsfrOmscR-Etch

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: skype install script
« Reply #36 on: November 25, 2011, 06:46:36 AM »
why #!/bin/bash and not #!/bin/sh ?

bash has remained from the original script, but it still works ::)
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: skype install script
« Reply #37 on: January 05, 2012, 08:00:11 AM »
Modified install script for make static Skype 2.0.0.72 wich work with OSS
Script gets Skype by link from here http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,10034.msg54786.html#msg54786
Work was tested under TCL 4.1
Thanks. Could you make an update for 4.2? (issue tce_dir since move from 4.1 to 4.2)
« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 08:02:33 AM by floppy »
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: skype install script
« Reply #38 on: January 06, 2012, 06:24:47 PM »
of course :)
now script works for tcl 4.2

merry christmas! :)
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: skype install script
« Reply #39 on: January 07, 2012, 12:20:37 AM »
A Big Thank you.
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline paxrex33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: skype install script
« Reply #40 on: January 17, 2012, 02:05:34 AM »
Thank you AbNoRMiS...
Script is working very well!!!

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: skype install script
« Reply #41 on: January 30, 2012, 10:47:49 AM »
of course :)
now script works for tcl 4.2

merry christmas! :)
thanks for it. I can receive video and sound. But I have still issues in sending my picture.
But, could we have the version for the latest skype (no OSS). This oss-version dont have a screen capture function of my wxcam picture (or at least.. I did not find it..)
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: skype install script
« Reply #42 on: February 03, 2012, 01:05:37 AM »
if i understand correctly, then wxcam shows,
but skype doesn't send a picture
really, for me skype gives an errors in console
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ skype
Skype V4L2: Could not find a suitable capture format
Skype V4L2: Could not find a suitable capture format
Starting the process...
Skype Xv: Xv ports available: 33
Skype XShm: XShm support enabled
Skype Xv: Using Xv port 63
Skype Xv: No suitable overlay format found

maybe should try to run skype, as recommended in this case
Code: [Select]
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/local/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /usr/local/bin/skypeor
Code: [Select]
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/local/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so /usr/local/bin/skype
this must be tested, because unfortunately i'm can't test this now
now test picture is not visible for me, but possible that video is sent
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 01:07:52 AM by AbNoRMiS »
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)