WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes  (Read 3873 times)

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
Re: in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes
« Reply #30 on: October 28, 2023, 08:04:16 PM »
Hi Rich. Now I understand you 100%.

The missing piece for me was that we are dealing with an environment where SIGPIPE has has been disabled. My TCL14 instance with Xorg has an intact SIGPIPE and none of these  yes  shenanigans.

So it seems busybox yes sometimes errors-out and sometimes enters an endless loop in an environment where SIGPIPE is disabled. GNU yes seems to consistently error-out and not enter endless loop.

Thread may be marked as solved. Thank you all.

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11263
Re: [Solved] in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes
« Reply #31 on: October 28, 2023, 08:22:48 PM »
Hi GNUser
Marked as solved.

By the way,  busybox yes  does not appear to be aliased. So if
you extract the  yes  executable from  coreutils  , copy it to
/usr/local/bin/  and add it to your backup, it might fix it.

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 933
Re: in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes
« Reply #32 on: October 28, 2023, 10:15:22 PM »
So it seems busybox yes sometimes errors-out and sometimes enters an endless loop in an environment where SIGPIPE is disabled. GNU yes seems to consistently error-out and not enter endless loop.
Not sometimes. If the string to output is single-byte it exits with error, but if the string to includes more than one byte, yes hangs up.
Aren't You in the mood to send the bug report to busybox?

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
Re: [Solved] in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes
« Reply #33 on: October 29, 2023, 05:11:18 AM »
Hi jazzbiker. Yes (pun intended), that is a more precise statement of the problem. Thank you :)
I'm a bit worn out by this at the moment. Maybe I'll find the inspiration later. If you'd like to give the busybox developers a bug report, please go ahead.

The developer of my compositor fixed the issue with this:
https://github.com/labwc/labwc/pull/1210
I have recompiled labwc with this fix and resubmitted it for the repo.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14583
Re: in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes
« Reply #34 on: October 29, 2023, 08:01:29 AM »
Since all terminal emulators and shells seem to be affected, I think the problem may have something to do with how weston or labwc is being started. Can you suggest a way to start the graphical session different from this (which is what weston.tcz.info suggests):

Weston used to use weston-launch to start, but this is deprecated and still had the error. I believe sway uses seatd-launch, but I haven’t tried it.

Gnome-session uses the mutter wayland compositor and doesn’t exhibit the error in gnome-terminal, but I haven’t tried it with havoc.

Perhaps it’s worth moving the XDG_RUNTIME_DIR statement to /etc/profile and/or .ashrc to see if that helps?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14583
Re: [Solved] in havoc terminal emulator: yes causes broken pipes
« Reply #35 on: October 30, 2023, 04:20:48 AM »
havoc does not have the broken pipe error with gnome-session