WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64  (Read 2525 times)

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1338
help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« on: October 08, 2019, 09:27:38 AM »
The gimp TC extension pulls in a lot of dependencies, so I'm trying to use an AppImage instead.

The AppImage for the latest GIMP release (2.10.12) for x86_64 is here (near the bottom):
https://github.com/aferrero2707/gimp-appimage/releases/tag/continuous

Supposedly all one needs to do is

Code: [Select]
bruno@box:~$ tce-load -wi fuse
bruno@box:~$ cd Downloads
bruno@box:~/Downloads$ chmod a+x GIMP_AppImage-release-2.10.12-withplugins-x86_64.AppImage
bruno@box:~/Downloads$ ./GIMP_AppImage-release-2.10.12-withplugins-x86_64.AppImage
DIR: /tmp/.mount_GIMP_AzTplZ8
AILIBDIR=/tmp/tmp.BurYu7

But that's the end of the road for me: gimp window never shows up, no additional information shows up in the terminal other than those two cryptic "DIR" and "AILIBDIR" lines. I tried the same AppImage in Debian and it worked just fine.

Here is an strace in TC in case it helps: https://pastebin.com/wRJBfxcw

Any idea how to get this AppImage to work in Pure64 10.1?
« Last Edit: October 08, 2019, 09:29:19 AM by GNUser »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10949
Re: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 09:50:26 AM »
The strace spawned several children, but didn't do anything interesting itself. You'd need the -f option to strace to track kids too.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1338
Re: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2019, 09:56:08 AM »
Here you go, with -f option this time:
https://pastebin.com/JTaiBMET

In this version I see, near the end, a complaint about fuse not being able to mount the AppImage. fuse.tcz is loaded and I'm able to use other AppImages, so I don't know what that's about.

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1338
Re: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2019, 12:37:26 PM »
I extracted the AppImage and made some progress, but each time I fix an error two new ones pop up.

AppImages are great when they work. When they don't work, they are Gordian knots. Never mind and sorry for the noise.

The dependency tree of gimp2.tcz is more reasonable than that of gimp.tcz, and the extension works great. Thanks for this and all your awesome extensions, juanito!

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1338
Re: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2019, 03:56:54 AM »
The developer for this particular AppImage is looking into it.
The open issue is here: https://github.com/aferrero2707/gimp-appimage/issues/37

Offline vinceASPECT

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
Re: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2020, 04:43:25 AM »
hello,

don't know it it is way too late for you to be getting GIMP appimage working....

there is a 2.10.13 GIMP version here.....

https://github.com/aferrero2707/gimp-appimage/releases/tag/continuous

https://appimage.github.io/GIMP/

thx

v
« Last Edit: November 13, 2020, 04:45:48 AM by vinceASPECT »

Offline vinceASPECT

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 745
Re: help getting GIMP appimage to work in Pure64
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2020, 06:53:58 AM »
i see it was solved.......on that link......(a couple of deps were needed)

great

thx