WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: rtl8821ae firmware problem.  (Read 1252 times)

Offline bonbob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2018, 07:33:22 AM »
Code: [Select]
root@TCL:~# modinfo rtl8821ae
filename:       /lib/modules/4.14.10-tinycore64/kernel.tclocal/drivers/net/wireless/realtek/rtlwifi/rtl8821ae/rtl8821ae.ko.gz
author:         Realtek WlanFAE <wlanfae@realtek.com>
description:    Realtek 8821ae 802.11ac PCI wireless
license:        GPL
parm:           int_clear:Set to 0 to disable interrupt clear before set (default 1)

parm:           disable_watchdog:Set to 1 to disable the watchdog (default 0)

parm:           debug_mask:Set debug mask (default 0)
parm:           debug_level:Set debug level (0-5) (default 0)
parm:           msi:Set to 1 to use MSI interrupts mode (default 1)

parm:           fwlps:Set to 1 to use FW control power save (default 1)

parm:           swlps:Set to 1 to use SW control power save (default 0)

parm:           ips:Set to 0 to not use link power save (default 1)

parm:           swenc:Set to 1 for software crypto (default 0)

alias:          pci:v000010ECd00008821sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v000010ECd00008812sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
depends:        rtlwifi,rtl_pci,btcoexist,mac80211
intree:         Y
vermagic:       4.14.10-tinycore64 SMP mod_unload
firmware:       rtlwifi/rtl8821aefw_29.bin
firmware:       rtlwifi/rtl8821aefw.bin


Code: [Select]
root@TCL:~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Host Bridge -OPI (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Iris Graphics 6100 (rev 09)
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP USB xHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #1 (rev e3)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #3 (rev e3)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #4 (rev e3)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #6 (rev e3)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP USB EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP LPC Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP SATA Controller [AHCI Mode] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP SMBus Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
04:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter

Code: [Select]
root@TCL:~#  /usr/local/etc/init.d/rfkill start
-sh: /usr/local/etc/init.d/rfkill: not found

aus9, I have send you an email. Check please.

coreplayer2, do you use your  Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8260 in softAP mode? What is the txpower? Can you post iwconfig output here?

If this adapter is the same:

I'd better buy it, and not waste my and yours time anymore.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 07:38:04 AM by bonbob »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2756
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2018, 08:26:52 AM »
...
coreplayer2, do you use your  Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 8260 in softAP mode? What is the txpower? Can you post iwconfig output here?

Hello bonbob,  no I have not used the adapter in AP mode.
Also, specifications appear similar but I haven't physically seen the adapter yet..

good luck
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 08:28:59 AM by coreplayer2 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2018, 06:57:11 PM »
@ bonbob

sorry busy last nite...will send email shortly.

Code: [Select]
tce-load -i pciutuls
lspci -vv

should show the kernel module you are using  rtl8821ae and its Device number....with luck
hmmm but that is only true for some devices not my ethernet ....hmmm

2) I use wicd....do you?

I would prefer for your test of package being sent called 8821ae as its module will conflict with rtl8821ae that you either manually make a backup
of wicd.tcz.dep and remove wireless-KERNEL.tcz

anyhow....I have confidence it will be better.....so to help others pls test and report how bad or good it is.

3) depending on your reply....if you have wicd "onboot" we may need to use a boot or cheat code to blacklist rtl8821ae

....hang on....let me remove that potential module via my install script...  be back soon

EDIT

3) looking at the repo module.....it loads a module called btcoexist ......and in one of your earlier replies you mentioned bluetooth.

ahhh I am not sure my module is going to do anything because I have a tower with no bluetooth....so I am unable to see anything bluetooth related.

errr I am dashing my hopes too soon heh heh
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 07:06:33 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #18 on: July 13, 2018, 07:16:29 PM »
in one of my earlier replies I mentioned the local bin script may need to have more modules unloaded before reloading to try out those parameter settings.

the same trick may apply to my install script.

email just sent ...good luck

and to try to avoid conflicts ....module name is 8821ae includes 3 FW and attempts to remove module rtl8821ae if found
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 07:48:17 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #19 on: July 13, 2018, 09:43:12 PM »
grrrr

In my build of 8188eu I do not need rtl wifi or usb or bluetooth.  Me thinks I will have to send a second email and include more modules than just rtl8821ae.  Also first email has an error....which I have only just spotted. sorry

In the meantime

Code: [Select]
tc@box:/tmp/rtlwifi_new/btcoexist$ strings btcoexist.ko | grep depends
depends=rtlwifi
__module_depends

module is built so too rtlwifi rtl_pci

so wait for email number 2 please
and still not sure if we are going to have multiple  conflicts as there will be duplicate names
I will try to amend my build script to delete the modules from wireless-KERNEL to hopefully avoid conflicts.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 09:54:01 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #20 on: July 13, 2018, 10:40:02 PM »
no I am sorry second email won't be coming today  here is why.....I should have done this earlier

from the build dir I check what depends on my new module

Code: [Select]
tc@box:/tmp/rtlwifi_new/rtl8821ae$ strings rtl8821ae.ko | grep depends
depends=rtlwifi,rtl_pci,btcoexist,mac80211
__module_depends

the first 3 are built but mac80211 is missing

EDIT

I was looking at the filelist for wireless-KERNEL and it mentions mac80211 and cfg80211

but now when I look at our kernel config....they are already modules
CONFIG_MAC80211=m
CONFIG_CFG80211=m

I am confused. Maybe if coreplayer2 has time to drop by he might shed some light on it.

I also tried to find his build script but those using TC-Tools or other smarter methods don't have to have a build script. ;)
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 10:57:17 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #21 on: July 14, 2018, 02:33:52 AM »
in the meantime, except for cfg80211 and mac80211,  modules built

Code: [Select]
tc@box:/tmp/rtl8821ae/usr/local/share/rtl8821ae$ strings btcoexist.ko | grep depends
depends=rtlwifi
__module_depends
tc@box:/tmp/rtl8821ae/usr/local/share/rtl8821ae$ strings rtl8821ae.ko | grep depends
depends=rtlwifi,rtl_pci,btcoexist,mac80211
__module_depends
tc@box:/tmp/rtl8821ae/usr/local/share/rtl8821ae$ strings rtl_pci.ko | grep depends
depends=mac80211,rtlwifi
__module_depends
tc@box:/tmp/rtl8821ae/usr/local/share/rtl8821ae$ strings rtlwifi.ko | grep depends
depends=mac80211,cfg80211
__module_depends

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #22 on: July 14, 2018, 02:48:43 AM »
Ok I am happier

I loaded rtl8821ae.....and not sure why but then had to do a modprobe of rtl8821ae and then we get this.....looks good to my eyes

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo modprobe rtl8821ae

tc@box:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by    Tainted: G 
rtl8821ae             212992  0
btcoexist             159744  1 rtl8821ae
rtl_pci                28672  1 rtl8821ae
rtlwifi                86016  3 rtl8821ae,btcoexist,rtl_pci
mac80211              258048  3 rtl8821ae,rtl_pci,rtlwifi
cfg80211              184320  2 rtlwifi,mac80211
cpufreq_userspace      12288  0
cpufreq_conservative    12288  0
cpufreq_powersave      12288  0
i2c_i801               16384  0
i915                  909312  2
drm_kms_helper         90112  1 i915
drm                   225280  4 i915,drm_kms_helper
intel_gtt              16384  1 i915
agpgart                28672  2 drm,intel_gtt
iosf_mbi               12288  1 i915
i2c_algo_bit           12288  1 i915
squashfs               28672 185
zstd_decompress        77824  1 squashfs
battery                16384  0
xxhash                 12288  1 zstd_decompress
loop                   20480 370
video                  32768  1 i915
backlight              12288  2 i915,video
wmi                    16384  0
r8169                  53248  0
mii                    12288  1 r8169
xhci_pci               12288  0
pcspkr                 12288  0
xhci_hcd               81920  1 xhci_pci
mei_me                 16384  0
mei                    40960  1 mei_me

second email sent
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 02:55:10 AM by aus9 »

Offline bonbob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #23 on: July 14, 2018, 10:38:22 AM »
Bad news. The situation is worth than was before. Upload speed became accurate 1Mbit/s. Download 10Mbit/s.
Without your TCZ perfomance was nearly 5/25 Up/Down.
Seems there is some speed limitation in driver, because 1Mbit/s is everywhere. Near the router or far from it. Not depends of signal quality.

Oh, and one more:
Code: [Select]
root@TCL:~# modinfo rtl8821ae
filename:       /lib/modules/4.14.10-tinycore64/extra/rtl8821ae.ko
author:         Realtek WlanFAE <wlanfae@realtek.com>
description:    Realtek 8821ae 802.11ac PCI wireless
license:        GPL
parm:           int_clear:Set to 0 to disable interrupt clear before set (default 1)

parm:           disable_watchdog:Set to 1 to disable the watchdog (default 0)

parm:           debug:Set debug level (0-5) (default 0)
parm:           msi:Set to 1 to use MSI interrupts mode (default 1)

parm:           fwlps:Set to 1 to use FW control power save (default 1)

parm:           swlps:Set to 1 to use SW control power save (default 0)

parm:           ips:Set to 0 to not use link power save (default 1)

parm:           swenc:Set to 1 for software crypto (default 0)

alias:          pci:v000010ECd00008821sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v000010ECd00008812sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
depends:        rtlwifi,rtl_pci,btcoexist,mac80211
vermagic:       4.14.10-tinycore64 SMP mod_unload
firmware:       rtlwifi/rtl8821aefw_29.bin
firmware:       rtlwifi/rtl8821aefw.bin


params not changed even if i in modprobe.conf set
Code: [Select]
options rtl8821ae fwlps=N swlps=N ips=N swenc=N msi=N int_clear=N

I want to remind once again, that i use wi-fi adapter as softAP with hostapd 2.6. Not as wireless client.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2756
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #24 on: July 14, 2018, 10:47:43 AM »
I want to remind once again, that i use wi-fi adapter as softAP with hostapd 2.6. Not as wireless client.
Sorry I missed the AP mode in original post, good luck

I’m sure you got this but just a reminder, always load firmware extension first, then the driver extension



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5993
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #25 on: July 14, 2018, 11:27:20 AM »
Hi bonbob
Bad news. The situation is worth than was before. Upload speed became accurate 1Mbit/s. Download 10Mbit/s.
Without your TCZ perfomance was nearly 5/25 Up/Down. ...
So what kind of speed are you expecting?

Offline bonbob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #26 on: July 14, 2018, 12:06:00 PM »
So what kind of speed are you expecting?

At least not so asymmetric internet channel.
On Windows 7 there was
40/40 (22MHz channel width)
nearly 80/80 (40MHz channel width)

Now i have 40Mbit/s with new kernel module, thanks to aus9, but only in one direction. From client to router.
In other direction speed is still 5Mbit/s
I will test connection stability, but seems it will be OK.
I Just have unpluged the power connector, wait a couple of minutes and powered on again the router.  After it 1/10 became 5/40.
Sounds like a magic, but simply poweroff not change perfomance.

All of them, who has the same problem use rtl8821ae in client mode, and stable 40/5 Down/Up speed is good enough for internet surfing. So they are found problem solved.
Ufortunately for me situation is the opposite.  In that case old adapter with 20/20 more usable that new with 5/40 (or even 5/80);
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 12:13:06 PM by bonbob »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #27 on: July 14, 2018, 05:37:43 PM »
hi

1)
Quote
always load firmware extension first

my TCZ includes the 3 FW but maybe I have to reverse the install script?  There is a dep that loads wicd and it has dep of
wireless-KERNEL to take care of cfg80211 and mac80211 modules

Code: [Select]
cat >> $P/usr/local/tce.installed/$P <<'EOF'
#!/bin/sh
# attempt to remove any conflicting modules first
# but leave cfg80211 mac80211 modules alone
MOD1=/usr/local/lib/modules/4.14.10-tinycore64/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/realtek/rtlwifi
rm -rf $MOD1

LOOP=/tmp/tcloop/rtl8821ae/usr/local/share/rtl8821ae
LIB=/lib/modules/4.14.10-tinycore64/extra
cp $LOOP/* $LIB/
depmod -a
udevadm trigger
# remove existing wl modules
rmmod rtl_pci rtlwifi btcoexist rtl8821ae
# load our new ones
modprobe rtl_pci rtlwifi btcoexist rtl8821ae
EOF
chown -R root:staff $P/usr/local/tce.installed
chmod -R 755 $P/usr/local/tce.installed


2)

Quote
softAP with hostapd 2.6. Not as wireless client.

I have no skills in this area so hopefully coreplayer2......might peruse my install script and if he agrees.....I will reverse the module load firmware bit.

in my info file for 8188....I show a dmesg that may have tricked me

Quote
8188eu: loading out-of-tree module taints kernel.
                Chip Version Info: CHIP_8188E_Normal_Chip_TSMC_D_CUT_1T1R_RomVer(0)
                EEPROM ID = 0x8129
                usbcore: registered new interface driver r8188eu
                R8188EU: Firmware Version 11, SubVersion 1, Signature 0x88e1
                MAC Address = (not showing as I am shy)

it  looked to me that the module loads first then the FW is enabled for device capabilities?

3) its morning here.....and altho I can not solve the speed issue....if does resolve with swapping FW and module stuff
I should have unloaded the existing modules first me thinks
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 05:51:35 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2018, 06:38:55 PM »
as we are in different time zones....I have leapt ahead and sent email number 3
with this tce  install script

Quote
#!/bin/sh
# attempt to remove any conflicting modules first
# remove existing wl modules
rmmod rtl_pci rtlwifi btcoexist rtl8821ae
# but leave cfg80211 mac80211 modules alone
MOD1=/usr/local/lib/modules/4.14.10-tinycore64/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/realtek/rtlwifi
rm -rf $MOD1

# try to load FW before new modules
udevadm trigger

# add new modules to tree
LOOP=/tmp/tcloop/8821ae/usr/local/share/8821ae
LIB=/lib/modules/4.14.10-tinycore64/extra
cp $LOOP/* $LIB/
depmod -a

# load them
modprobe rtl_pci rtlwifi btcoexist rtl8821ae

2) package name is 8821ae so that you can keep rtl8821ae
but please do a full reboot

3)  I urge you NOT to use /etc/modprobe.d for your options

IMHO it is only useful for first time boot

IMHO you are better off with a .local/bin script as previously mentioned

4) I have now read Larry Finger's post on the speed issues for your device. I am tempted to say coreplayer2's suggestion to buy and intel pci card is looking very good. ;)

good luck

Offline bonbob

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: rtl8821ae firmware problem.
« Reply #29 on: July 15, 2018, 02:25:46 AM »
4) I have now read Larry Finger's post on the speed issues for your device. I am tempted to say coreplayer2's suggestion to buy and intel pci card is looking very good. ;)

Last Intel adapter i have bought was good in all, except one thing. It has no AP-mode support. I see now, need to buy another one wi-fi. But with
lack of techical information, it has all chances to fill my collection of adapters, those is still not working properly on TCL.