WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Gnome in dCore  (Read 1015 times)

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9533
Gnome in dCore
« on: January 22, 2016, 06:22:13 PM »
Gnome was a a blocked package as it did not work as is in the past, but now with the current dependency resolution, it works well on dCore-wily.  So removed from the blocked package list.

Offline sm8ps

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: Gnome in dCore
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2016, 08:56:38 AM »
Noted in the wiki here
wiki.tinycorelinux.net/dcore:handling_extensions?&#blocked_packages
as well as in the FAQ.

Offline nitram

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
Re: Gnome in dCore
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2016, 11:12:25 AM »
Wow that's pretty amazing. Not sure how much you tested, were there limitations with Gnome and assosicated packages or was functionality similar to what would be expect running a full distribution?

Thanks sm8ps for updating the FAQ and wiki, did you also want to note it here?
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/dcore:x-desktop

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9533
Re: Gnome in dCore
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2016, 11:13:59 AM »
It was actually dCore-jessie that I ran gnome.  I have not run Gnome in years, but it seemed like it was working correctly. 

Offline sm8ps

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: Gnome in dCore
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2016, 02:04:51 PM »
Thanks sm8ps for updating the FAQ and wiki, did you also want to note it here?
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/dcore:x-desktop
Just did. Thanks for the pointer!
And I do think this is pretty amazing, too. I am tempted to try it out myself and, come to think of it, there is no reason not to, considering the system won't be cluttered by 1001 tools one cannot get rid of anymore. Ain't that sweet!

Offline nitram

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
Re: Gnome in dCore
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2016, 02:35:56 PM »
Sweet that it can be done, personally will never use a DE again except maybe MATE.

This section of FAQ also updated:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/dcore:faq#do_all_debian_and_ubuntu_packages_work_with_dcore

Curious about a FAQ/wiki entry, dCore is known to run Xfce?

If so, then of the major DEs maybe just KDE, Unity and MATE not yet working or confirmed.

Offline sm8ps

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: Gnome in dCore
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2016, 02:42:49 PM »
Curious about a FAQ/wiki entry, dCore is known to run Xfce?
Same here. Tested, anybody?   ;)