WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Best way to detect what device you're booting from?  (Read 1976 times)

Offline nim108

Best way to detect what device you're booting from?
« on: September 21, 2015, 05:06:41 AM »
So long story short, I have a live CD remaster that can either be running off CD (/dev/srX) or USB stick (/dev/sdX). My application is embedded in the initrd, but I have large files on the device that my application reads off of; therefore, I need to access it. For ease of access, I simply symlink a directory in /opt/dirlink that points to the device folder I need access to. Currently, in my bootlocal.sh, I have:

Code: (bash) [Select]
if grep -qs '/mnt/sr0' /proc/mounts; then
  ln -s /mnt/sr0/dir /opt/dirlink
elif grep -qs '/mnt/sdb' /proc/mounts; then
 ln -s /mnt/sdb/dir /opt/dirlink
else
fi

Problem with this is the mount points can change depending on the hardware (i.e. user may have no HDD in the system so it'd be sda instead or user may be using an external DVD device so sr0 may not even exist). So what is the best foolproof way to do this? If I can detect what the device the user is booting from (does TC have knowledge of this in one of its hooks?), it'd be a lot easier.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2015, 05:28:21 AM by nim108 »

Offline Misalf

Re: Best way to detect what device you're booting from?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2015, 05:46:26 AM »
Not sure if it's 100% foolproof, but I use this:
Code: [Select]
TCE_DIR="$(readlink /etc/sysconfig/tcedir)"
TCE_DIR="${TCE_DIR#/mnt/}"
TCE_DIR="${TCE_DIR%%/*}"

So you could do:
Code: [Select]
/mnt/"$TCE_DIR"/dir
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2015, 05:48:37 AM »
Linux cannot detect what device it booted from.
Linux does not start until after the boot loader has loaded the kernal and initrds and is no longer running.