WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: ALSA behavior  (Read 2364 times)

Offline Stone.Giant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
ALSA behavior
« on: June 04, 2015, 06:50:42 AM »
I already issued this problem in Seamonkey thread. I want some definite closure about this issue so I post a separate thread. Here is my problem: My alsa only works when I popped up first the alsamixergui then needed to execute first these following commands even though I already have alsaconfig at onboot.lst
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound startso that i can execute
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ speaker-test [-Ddefault:1] -c2 -t wav -l1
else, it will return an error if the exact order of procedure did not meet, or i insert the alsasound start at bootlocal.sh
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start
/usr/local/sbin/alsactl: load_state:1729: No soundcards found...
Something went wrong, sound was not set up.
Quote
alsamixer:function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: ALSA behavior
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2015, 07:16:04 AM »
Quote
[...] even though I already have alsaconfig at onboot.lst
You mean  alsa-config.tcz ?

Maybe your sound card needs some time to initiate. You could try starting ALSA delayed with  sleep :
Code: [Select]
sleep 5 && /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start &
bootlocal.sh runs as root. No need for sudo.

If sound is working and channels have been un-muted, do this:
Code: [Select]
sudo alsactl store
filetool.sh -b
Then check if things work after reboot.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Stone.Giant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: ALSA behavior
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2015, 07:46:17 AM »
Maybe your sound card needs some time to initiate. You could try starting ALSA delayed with  sleep :
Code: [Select]
sleep 5 && /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start &
bootlocal.sh runs as root. No need for sudo.
[/quote]

Nope it failed mate, placing alsasound start at bootlocal.sh did just return an error and cannot pop up the alsamixergui.
Quote
alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

Code: [Select]
[tc@box:~$ alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory
tc@box:~$ sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start
/usr/local/sbin/alsactl: load_state:1729: No soundcards found...
Something went wrong, sound was not set up.
tc@box:~$ speaker-test [-Ddefault:1] -c2 -t wav -l1

speaker-test 1.0.28

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
ALSA lib confmisc.c:768:(parse_card) cannot find card '0'
ALSA lib conf.c:4259:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_card_driver returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib confmisc.c:392:(snd_func_concat) error evaluating strings
ALSA lib conf.c:4259:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_concat returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib confmisc.c:1251:(snd_func_refer) error evaluating name
ALSA lib conf.c:4259:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_refer returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:4738:(snd_config_expand) Evaluate error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib pcm.c:2239:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM default
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory
/code]

Offline core-user

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Linux since 1999
Re: ALSA behavior
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2015, 10:35:00 AM »
Does your soundcard need a driver that isn't getting loaded, therefore not able to initiate it?
AMD, ARM, & Intel.

Offline Stone.Giant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: ALSA behavior
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2015, 06:05:16 PM »
Does your soundcard need a driver that isn't getting loaded, therefore not able to initiate it?

Idk. BTW my soundcard is SigmaTel STAC9752,53. I think it uses AC '97 in Windows

Offline Stone.Giant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
Re: ALSA behavior
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2015, 07:36:52 PM »
Also I noticed that my PS2 mouse is not working on first boot, I had to reboot my PC to make it work. WWW?