WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: It's about time to fix the ISO to USB booting issue, it's holding TC back.  (Read 8522 times)

Offline hal9king

I'm a newbie to TinyCore but I have been very impressed with what can be done with it.

The primary reason I'm using TC is for a project that will be USB based so the various users will have the same OS and programs available.
One of the features needed was to have the ability to 'clone' a running system and end up with a fully functional result that can be handed on.

Within a few days I was able to accomplish this .. next to impossible on nearly any other Linux -- or even OS.

However, I must say I am NOT a fan of 'ezremaster' -- not easy to clone a system with this -- hence the USB exchange.

Adding a bit here,  I really somewhat confused on this 'issue' .  What I am saying is that is very easy to to install a copy of TC from a USB to another USB --  if you have another running Linux system.  I'm actually using TC on a USB to clone itself onto another USB (or even hard drive).   No problem.

In windows or other foreign OS the issue becomes formatting the USB to say ext2 -- this needs special software or a running Linux.
This is what the initial TC-CD provides.    Frankly I don't see why a simple copy of the base TC onto a flash drive (even DOS) couldn't be made to run -- assuming there is a way to make it bootable -- I don't know don't have any windows stuff to test with -- is some like extlinux available under windows??

Off course an isohybrid TC would solve the issue cleanly.

Haven't used that OS much since 1995 when I switched to Linux (Slackware using a 'pile of floppies). 
« Last Edit: April 23, 2015, 10:25:22 PM by hal9king »
In science, we know ... what we don't know.

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
TC is isohybrid.

Offline hal9king

good to know thanks.
In science, we know ... what we don't know.

Offline yiyus