WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+  (Read 4929 times)

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #15 on: October 26, 2014, 10:42:52 AM »
Try /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce

Just for curiosity, you can try to with /tc1 /tce2 ... /tcen and symlink one to /tce on the same partition.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2014, 10:46:16 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #16 on: October 26, 2014, 10:56:57 AM »
Okay...

I am busy rest of evening, but will report back.

I am writing a script, which shall make user choose between 2-3 diff. Setups on same SD card..

Jesper

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #17 on: October 26, 2014, 11:52:15 PM »
i think
(1)no editing required in config.txt if your hdmi connected device displays OK .(you can uncomment #hdmi_drive=2 if you do not get audio in OS)
(2)currently my cmdline.txt reads
Quote
dwc_otg.fiq_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x3 dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=ttyAMA0,115200 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 initrd=0xa00000,3638903 root=/dev/ram0 elevator=deadline rootwait nortc loglevel=3 waitusb=5
Say , I want lst=server.lst & lst=local.lst in first & second entry respectively . There should be timeout of 30 seconds . Then , what should I do ?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #18 on: October 27, 2014, 04:07:49 AM »
Problem is that before booting video and USB terminal doesn't work, you don't have a peripherial device to see and select what to boot, practically it doesn't work. UBOOT is different, it has its own small "OS" running on the hardware in a limited way to perform such operations. It requires a kernel with device tree support also. It is not a simple staff to get it working on the Pi, you need a lot to do not only scripting. You may read http://elinux.org/RPi_U-Boot
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #19 on: October 27, 2014, 10:37:20 AM »
Hi. -I figured it out now.

Quote
Try /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce

Just for curiosity, you can try to with /tc1 /tce2 ... /tcen and symlink one to /tce on the same partition.

Syntax for choose tce -dir is ::

tce=mmcblk0p2/tce (or whatever e.g. tce=mmcblk0p2/tce/tce-a)

Regards;
   Jesper.

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2014, 04:37:35 AM »
from what I have read , it is difficult to give user option to choose boot entry as usb driver for keyboard are not loaded .
I think , bmarkus said that one way is to create a script that modifies cmdline.txt for next reboot .
Personally , I would prefix lst=something.lst in cmdline.txt  for different configurations & let all tcz,dep remain in tce/optional of second partition of micro sd card.

I came across berryboot which helps.
I tried to follow http://www.berryterminal.com/doku.php/berryboot/adding_custom_distributions for picore images .
But expected results were not obtained .
Will give full details ASAP .

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: how to have multiple configurations to boot in picore+
« Reply #21 on: October 31, 2014, 06:19:42 AM »
while following http://www.berryterminal.com/doku.php/berryboot/adding_custom_distributions , I get stuck here
Code: [Select]
$ sudo kpartx -av piCore-5.3-SSH.img
add map loop1p1 (252:1): 0 43008 linear /dev/loop1 2048
device-mapper: resume ioctl on loop1p2 failed: Invalid argument
create/reload failed on loop1p2
add map loop1p2 (0:0): 0 19584 linear /dev/loop1 45056