WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: CUPS extension?  (Read 9269 times)

Offline IMG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
CUPS extension?
« on: October 06, 2014, 11:36:22 AM »
Just installed piCore on my Raspberry Pi, I am looking for the CUPS package (and possibly hplip too), but they are not found using tce-ab.
I looked at the listing of tcz packages on the web, and they are not there for armv6 - did they fail to build, or is it a design choice? How can I get CUPS onto my Pi...?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 12:01:41 PM »
Cups and hplip  were not high prioroty apps for RPi. I will make a try to build them. Og course you can build them yourself.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline IMG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 12:23:11 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Happy to have a crack at building them... is there a guide/howto somewhere?

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 12:35:27 PM »
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline angryjack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2015, 01:38:23 AM »
Hello,

i have a RPi2 and my favorite distro would be TC as it is quick, modular, very small and allows to run in memory instead of SD, that would be the ideal headless server. This server should act as a print data converter which is already running on a 2nd SD running Raspbian.

I would need the following extensions for piCore:

- Ghostscript (mostly part of CUPS package)
- Lighttpd incl. PHP + CGI

I did follow the link which explains howto create own TCZ extensions but for me it looks very complicated...  :P


Offline kabera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2015, 07:08:02 PM »
I think you are the third person (including me) asking for CUPS ... in vain.

I tried to build it but it had countless dependencies errors and I gave up not knowing when to disable with a parameter to that purpose or when to satisfy the dependency.

bmarkus said he was going to build it but either he is too busy or he tried and failed...

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2015, 05:44:06 AM »
CUPS added to rep, please try and report your findings. Please note there is no startup script, you must start daemon on your own at least in this first release.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline angryjack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2015, 12:27:42 AM »
unfortunately installation does not work with piCore-6.1_v7-SSH image

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load -w -i cups.tcz
acl.tcz.dep OK
dbus.tcz.dep OK
Xorg-7.7-lib.tcz.dep OK
fontconfig.tcz.dep OK
freetype.tcz.dep OK
harfbuzz.tcz.dep OK
krb5.tcz.dep OK
libusb.tcz.dep OK
libudev.tcz.dep OK
Downloading: libudev.tcz
Connecting to repo.tinycorelinux.net (89.22.99.37:80)
libudev.tcz          100% |*******************************| 32768   0:00:00 ETA
libudev.tcz: OK
Downloading: libusb.tcz
Connecting to repo.tinycorelinux.net (89.22.99.37:80)
libusb.tcz           100% |*******************************| 40960   0:00:00 ETA
libusb.tcz: OK
Downloading: keyutils.tcz
Connecting to repo.tinycorelinux.net (89.22.99.37:80)
keyutils.tcz         100% |*******************************| 28672   0:00:00 ETA
keyutils.tcz: OK
Downloading: krb5.tcz
Connecting to repo.tinycorelinux.net (89.22.99.37:80)
wget: short write
krb5.tcz: FAILED
md5sum: WARNING: 1 of 1 computed checksums did NOT match
Error on krb5.tcz

I don't see a dependency with ghostscript so will it be installed with CUPS ?




Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2015, 12:32:52 AM »
ghostscript is not in the repo and it was not required by cups during build.

Short write means that there are no enough free space for download, partition is full.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline angryjack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2015, 05:09:32 AM »
Thanks for reply bmarkus.

I did expand the filesystem and then the installation finished. So cups should be installed but i cannot find it. I followed the description in the Wiki (http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:printer_setup_using_cups) but it does not work, cups seems not to be installed. "tce-load -i /mnt/hda1/tce/optional/cups.tcz" tells "/mnt/hda1/tce/optional/cups is already installed!" but there is no "cups" in /usr/local/etc/init.d which can be started and there is also no /etc/cups/cupsd.conf there, i would assume that it should be, or ?   

One addtional thing: I know it's off-topic but will you be able to add ghostscript also ?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2015, 05:16:46 AM »
As I told in the beginning, no start script provided, you must start it manually or create your own in this version.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline angryjack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2015, 06:24:40 AM »
As you probably notice i'm fairly new to TC so excuse if i do ask some silly questions. 

Maybe i do misunderstand something in the boot process but if tce-load tells me after boot that CUPS is already installed i should find the cups deamon in "/usr/local/etc/init.d", right ? If so i should also be able to find the cupsd.conf in /etc/cups but there is no cups folder at all. After configuration of cupsd.conf the cups deamon can be started using "/usr/local/etc/init.d/cups start and then i should be able to access the webinterface on "<IP_ADRESS:631>

If i'm wrong please correct me, any help will be appreciated  :)

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2015, 06:36:05 AM »
/usr/local/etc/init.d/cups  would be just a script that starts / stops / restarts the daemon.

In 6.x x86, it looks like this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

start() {
if [ ! -f /var/run/dbus/cups_flag ]; then
/usr/local/etc/init.d/dbus restart
touch /var/run/dbus/cups_flag
fi
if ! pidof cupsd >/dev/null; then
start-stop-daemon --start --exec /usr/local/sbin/cupsd 2>/dev/null
fi
}

stop() {
start-stop-daemon --stop --exec /usr/local/sbin/cupsd 2>/dev/null
sleep 2
}

status() {
if pidof cupsd >/dev/null; then
echo -e "\ncups is running.\n"
exit 0
else
echo -e "\ncups is not running.\n"
exit 1
fi
}

case $1 in
start) start
;;
stop) stop
;;
status) status
;;
restart) stop; start
;;
*) echo -e "\n$0 [start|stop|restart|status]\n"
;;
esac

Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline kabera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2015, 01:04:27 AM »
start-stop-daemon --start --exec /usr/local/sbin/cupsd
reports no errors
but then
ps -e |grep cups
shows nothing running...
samething running directly the cupsd binary

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: CUPS extension?
« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2015, 05:35:07 AM »
I see where the problem is. Will fix it.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."