WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?  (Read 5187 times)

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« on: August 17, 2014, 02:45:05 AM »
Hello.

I am trying to edit the cmdline.txt, putting the smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N into it.

But everytime i do it, i cannot connect to SSH after reboot.

I am doing like this ::

sudo mount /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/mmcblk0p1
cd /mnt/mmcblk0p1
sudo nano cmdline.txt
-- then i insert "smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N" so it lookes like this :

smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N dwc_otg.fiq_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x3 dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0
console=ttyAMA0,115200
kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 initrd=0xa00000,3540895 root=/dev/ram0 elevator=deadline rootwait nortc loglevel=3 waitusb=5

I then filetool.sh -b

reboot...

What am i missing ??  :D

// Jesper

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2014, 03:10:12 AM »
filetool.sh -b is useless in this case, as cmdline.txt is a physical file on the boot partition.

Why are you adding this boot code? What do you want to solve?

BTW probably it is causing loss of Ethernet interface. Check status from a terminal.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2014, 03:18:23 AM »
Hi BM..

I (proberly) did know, that filetool, was useless, but i did anyway?

I cannot try from terminal, as i only have SSH avalible in my setup here.

I am adding this bootcode, because i am trying to solve some usbdac problems.
I am trying to make my own, SD, with squeezelite, lirc, LCD etc... but i simply cannot make it play as good as Steen's picoreplayer dist. - Seems like there are something "slowing" the system.
In picoreplayer i am able to play 24/196 files, but not on "pure" picore 5.3.1-SSH dist.
I allready tried to fiddle withe the squeezelite settings, but nothing seems to help.

Maybe there is a better picore dist, to start out with ???

// Jesper

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2014, 03:23:14 AM »
What do you mean you can't play? Can't set to 24/192 or you have poor audio quality?

What is your output device, is it HDMI?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2014, 03:31:53 AM »
Okay...

I can play 24/192 with piCore5.1.3-SSH, but poor audio quality (stutter+slow)

Output is USB Xmos+ DAC ES9023

I can play normal cd-quality files 44/48, but also here there is a thing with the quality!

I donno what Steen did excatly to his picoreplayer for avoiding this, but i know he did a LOOT of work getting there.

I would like to make my own, because as i wrote before, will add lirc, LCD etc... also, and not very happy with a webserver like in picoreplayer. -Would like a small as possible dist. - and HEY for the FUN of it too!  8)


Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2014, 03:34:13 AM »
Ask Steen :)
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2014, 03:41:31 AM »
Yep...

Well, i did ask the cmdline.txt quistion, while i was thinking i did something wrong.

Thanx anyway BM.

/Jesper

Offline Gerrelt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2014, 01:54:55 AM »
-- then i insert "smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N" so it lookes like this :

smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N dwc_otg.fiq_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x3 dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0
console=ttyAMA0,115200
kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 initrd=0xa00000,3540895 root=/dev/ram0 elevator=deadline rootwait nortc loglevel=3 waitusb=5


Maybe it's just the result of copy-and-paste, but you do know this should be one line? You cannot use newlines in the cmdline.txt, and you've got a newline after "dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0" and after "console=ttyAMA0,115200".
my Raspberry Pi page: http://raspberry.gerrelt.nl

Offline lykkedk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: picore 5.3.1-SSH / cmdline.txt edit ?
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2014, 02:00:56 AM »
Yep...

Seems i got it working now :

My cmdline.txt is as now, playing 24/192 with 19% load on the PI, without hickups on kernel 3.16.1

Quote
dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x7 dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 smsc95xx.turbo_mode=N console=ttyAMA0,115200 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 initrd=0xa00000,3669548 root=/dev/ram0 elevator=deadline rootwait nortc loglevel=3 waitusb=5 syslog multivt

//Jesper