WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: grub-install recheck  (Read 5681 times)

Offline ananix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
grub-install recheck
« on: July 02, 2014, 08:29:42 AM »
Hello im making an install script and to begin with it was working fine but now it says "Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device" when trying to install boot record with grub-install.
I have tried to go back a few versions of my image, and tried to see if it was changes to system or script but I cant seem to find any thing...
Maybe some of you have an idea of how to install a boot loader with grub-install on TCL?

here is my install procedure:

tce-load -i grub-0.97-splash.tcz
sudo mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1
sudo rebuildfstab
sudo mount /mnt/sda1
sudo mkdir -p /mnt/sda1/boot/grub
sudo mount /mnt/sdb1
sudo cp -p /mnt/sdb1/boot/* /mnt/sda1/boot/
sudo mkdir -p /mnt/sda1/tce
sudo cp -rp /mnt/sdb1/tce /mnt/sda1/
sudo cp -p /usr/lib/grub/i386-pc/* /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/
sudo touch /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/menu.lst
sudo chmod 777 /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/menu.lst
echo 'default 0
timeout 10
title JayCore
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz quiet lang=da_DK.UTF-8 kmap=qwerty/dk waitusb=5 loglevel=3
initrd /boot/core.gz
' > /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/menu.lst
sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda

  -- Andreas
« Last Edit: July 02, 2014, 08:31:35 AM by ananix »

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 06:59:32 PM »
Any reason not go to grub4dos?

I stopped using the older grub long enough ago that I don't remember the details of it, but one of the reasons I switched to grub4dos was that it's so simple to install.
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2014, 10:00:33 PM »
I find grub2 extremely easy to instal   :P

Offline ananix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2014, 11:47:35 PM »
nope, no reason, the few TCL install guides i found where just using the grub-0.97-splash package.
grub4dos im thinking its for booting FAT filesystems?
grub2 i did not think i saw in the repo.
Do you have any hints for moving down any of those two roads to get me start?

  -- Andreas

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14553
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2014, 11:52:56 PM »

Offline ananix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2014, 01:47:33 AM »
sorry to be such a bugger, but any help with grub2 would be apreciated, im just trying to make tcl boot from a harddisk, all is okay except the boot record.

the howto in the pkg description is not really working for me im for instance missing the grub.cfg....

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14553
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2014, 03:08:58 AM »
You have to create the grub.cfg file yourself - for example:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo vi /mnt/sdc1/grub/grub.cfg
..or create the grub.cfg with a text editor, save it and then use "sudo cp" to copy it to the correct location.

Offline ananix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2014, 03:46:14 AM »
thanks for your help guys but im all lost here, i think im gonna close this one down and try post again from another angle.

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2014, 07:08:48 AM »
Quote
grub4dos im thinking its for booting FAT filesystems?

That's what I thought at first, too, but it works just as well with the ext family of file systems and others.  I have no idea why they gave it such a misleading name.

I have to confess, I -still- haven't tried out grub2.
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline ananix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: grub-install recheck
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2014, 09:08:58 AM »
ok ill keep that in mind, but it proved to be working with grub-0.97 after all, the recheck was misleading me from something that was already working and which i was testing wrong.
to install a grub in the master boot record all you have to do is to point at the boot directory located on your disk something like this "grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sda1 /dev/sda"
Ofcourse after you have copied the the boot folder to /mnt/sda1