WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: module-init-tools  (Read 6552 times)

Offline MSumulong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: module-init-tools
« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2014, 08:04:14 AM »
Before installing module-init-tools.tcz:

hash -r; type modprobe
modprobe is /sbin/modprobe

After installing module-init-tools.tcz:

hash -r; type modprobe
modprobe is /usr/local/sbin/modprobe

In given context this implies that your PATH and extension both seem to work fine as expected, but that there is a hardcoding bug in the software you try to run as already hinted in Reply #4.

Quote
After adding alias:

hash -r; type modprobe
modprobe is /usr/local/sbin/modprobe

Ah, yes, this is expected, what would be relevant instead would be:
Code: [Select]
type /sbin/modprobe

type /sbin/modprobe gives me /sbin/modprobe is /sbin/modprobe

I'll go ahead and submit a request to not have modprobe hard-coded.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: module-init-tools
« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2014, 09:21:35 AM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ type /sbin/modprobe
/sbin/modprobe is /sbin/modprobe
tc@box:~$ alias '/sbin/modprobe'='/usr/local/sbin/modprobe'
tc@box:~$ type /sbin/modprobe
/sbin/modprobe is an alias for /usr/local/sbin/modprobe
tc@box:~$

But then, according to:
http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9233435/How_to_use_aliases_in_Linux_shell_commands

Quote
Aliases are disabled for noninteractive shells (that is, shell scripts).

So I guess in case in question alias might be sort of a moot point.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline MSumulong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: module-init-tools
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2014, 11:46:05 AM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ type /sbin/modprobe
/sbin/modprobe is /sbin/modprobe
tc@box:~$ alias '/sbin/modprobe'='/usr/local/sbin/modprobe'
tc@box:~$ type /sbin/modprobe
/sbin/modprobe is an alias for /usr/local/sbin/modprobe
tc@box:~$

But then, according to:
http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9233435/How_to_use_aliases_in_Linux_shell_commands

Quote
Aliases are disabled for noninteractive shells (that is, shell scripts).

So I guess in case in question alias might be sort of a moot point.

Yea, I never had any success using the alias commands... VBoxLinuxGuestAdditions.run always tried to run the busybox version of modprobe.