WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: dCore 5.0-rc1 released  (Read 9446 times)

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9515
dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« on: August 23, 2013, 03:33:19 AM »
The first release candidate of dCore 5.0 is released and ready for testing:

Changes for RC1:

  • Separate custom arch specific packages, allow md5 tracking of them with -s secure option with changes to deb2sce, import, debGetDeps
  • deb2sce: Bugfix for custom meta packages
  • usr/bin/import: Fix bug that did not allow Debian meta packages to be imported.
  • import: correct identification of pkgprebuilt from dependency
  • loadsce: Check for wbar and update icons.
  • debExtract: Fixed chown typo resulting in a root:root owned tce.installed directory.
  • debExtract: using tar pipe as cpio was not preserving directory perms.
  • deb2sce: Fixed bug of removing already used md5sum files in secure function
  • debGetPkgList: Fixed bug of writing md5sum files in secure import mode


Files can be found at:

http://www.tinycorelinux.net/5.x/x86/release_candidates/

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2013, 11:53:17 AM »
I redid some of my testing, now with persistent /opt and /tce but non-persistent /home. And no mega-packages.

My extlinux.conf:

LABEL dcore
KERNEL /tce/boot/dcore/vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=/tce/boot/dcore/dCore.gz quiet host=zepto tz=CET-1CEST,M3.5.0,M10.5.0/3 opt=sda6 tce=sda6 psmouse.proto=imps nodhcp


My sceboot.lst (no mega-packages):

wireless-tools
wireless-3.8.10-tinycore
firmware-iwlwifi
wpasupplicant
xorg-intel
wbar
flwm_topside
Xtc
Xprogs

Directly after boot I ran:

import -b libreoffice-gnome
loadsce libreoffice-gnome

Then I looked at my wbar, no libreoffice icon. But in the Application menu libreoffice had appeared. I started libreoffice from the application menu. I found that I still was unable to create new documents from the welcome screen. All buttons/links were greyed out except the ones labeled Open... and Templates... I then took a screenshot. I got the popup saying the screenshot was saved to my home. I checked my home directory, no screenshot found. Running screenshot.sh from prompt gave me the same result and an error: imlib2_grab: not found. 

I then ran:

import -b firefox
loadsce firefox

I checked my wbar and no Firefox icon, it was present in the application menu though. By accident I then happened to right click my wbar. Wbar reloaded and the Firefox icon appeared (but still no libreoffice icon).

Now you should be able to reproduce some of my issues.

Regarding the inability to import flwm_topside, the same goes for Xtc and Xprogs.

Regards
Uggla
¤ Firefox wbar icon now appears without right click :)
¤ Libreoffice still has no wbar icon  :(
¤ Still unable to create new documents using Libreoffice  :(

Wireless is working fine when wireless-tools, wireless-3.8.10-tinycore, firmware-iwlwifi and wpasupplicant is loaded individually at boot but it does not when they are part of a  mega-package.
Still not working.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9515
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2013, 12:23:10 PM »
As for libreoffice, what is the output of "ls -l /home"?  I will check the wbar issue once I import it again.

Did you re-import the wireless stuff, by making a file with a name of your choice, here it will be /home/tc/wireless?
Its contents:
Code: [Select]
wireless-tools
wireless-3.8.10-tinycore
firmware-iwlwifi
wpasupplicant

And importing it with the command:

import -f /home/tc/wireless

« Last Edit: August 23, 2013, 12:25:17 PM by Jason W »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9515
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2013, 01:09:12 PM »
I think I see what you are talking about with libreoffice, I will look more into it tonight.

The wbar icon is not there because there is not a TC specific icon path specified in the .desktop file, I believe.  There will be some apps that do not have icons there as freedesktop is the standard.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2013, 01:19:22 PM »
Did you re-import the wireless stuff, by making a file with a name of your choice, here it will be /home/tc/wireless?
Its contents:
Code: [Select]
wireless-tools
wireless-3.8.10-tinycore
firmware-iwlwifi
wpasupplicant

And importing it with the command:

import -f /home/tc/wireless
Yes I did that. During boot I get an error that the iwlwifi firmware can't be found.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9515
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2013, 09:57:57 PM »
Does it work if the firmware-iwlwifi package is imported separately and loaded before the other packages in that file list?


Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2013, 02:35:59 AM »
Does it work if the firmware-iwlwifi package is imported separately and loaded before the other packages in that file list?
Yes, that did work.

Another observation:
I've imported Firefox and Gnash but Firefox doesn't find the Gnash plugin.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2013, 02:48:51 AM »
It's still not possible to import flwm_topside, Xprogs and Xtc.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9515
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2013, 04:11:47 AM »
I just imported Xtc, Xprogs, and flwm_topside with no issue.

Load the wireless mega extension you made and do this command if the name of the sce is "wireless":

find /tmp/tcloop/wireless > /home/tc/filelist


Then attach that filelist file with your next post.

Also, what is the output of the "version" command?  Just to be sure.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2013, 06:11:07 AM »
FWIW there is no need to import Xtc for the same reason as there is no need to import fltk-1.1.10.
Only the following 4 imports should be needed to get X on x86 dCore.

import -b Xprogs
import -b flwm_topside
import -b tcWbar
import -b xorg-all


« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 06:22:55 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2013, 08:54:02 AM »
FWIW there is no need to import Xtc for the same reason as there is no need to import fltk-1.1.10.
Only the following 4 imports should be needed to get X on x86 dCore.

import -b Xprogs
import -b flwm_topside
import -b tcWbar
import -b xorg-all
But Xsetup.sh is importing wbar, not tcWbar. What's the difference between wbar and tcWbar?

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2013, 09:02:05 AM »
I just imported Xtc, Xprogs, and flwm_topside with no issue.
I tried again and this time it worked for me too but flwm_topside is not found when doing import flwm, import flwm_topside works fine though.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2013, 09:33:10 AM »
Xsetup.sh should no longer be used as loadsce is being deprecated in favor is a single tool import.
Most of the work on the latest cut was to ensure that the base packages could be import'ed.
Perhaps your issues are related to not using import but instead Xsetup.sh and/or loadsce directly.
I have updated the README-X-Setup.txt
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2013, 09:40:26 AM »
Re: import of flwm. I see the issue. For now stay with topside.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: dCore 5.0-rc1 released
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2013, 09:45:03 AM »
Xsetup.sh should no longer be used as loadsce is being deprecated in favor is a single tool import.
Most of the work on the latest cut was to ensure that the base packages could be import'ed.
Perhaps your issues are related to not using import but instead Xsetup.sh and/or loadsce directly.
I have updated the README-X-Setup.txt
I'm not using Xsetup.sh. I looked at it earlier (last alpha) and thought that since it was using wbar I should too. So, what is the difference between wbar and tcWbar?