WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: PXE Booting with Multiple Initramfs - Extensions Won't Load  (Read 4365 times)

Offline sodface

PXE Booting with Multiple Initramfs - Extensions Won't Load
« on: November 15, 2012, 04:39:31 PM »
Newbie here trying to PXE boot tiny core to a diskless workstation.  I like this method of adding extensions to the stock tiny core.  What I'm trying to do is pxe boot the stock tc kernel and initramfs plus an additional initramfs that contains additional extensions as well as the core x extensions in the cde directory from the stock .iso.

The PXE boot works fine.  TC boots to the command line but the GUI never starts.  I don't believe that any of the extensions are loading though the extra initramfs transfers fine and is integrated into the root file system.

I tried having the extensions in /opt/tce/optional and /tmp/tce/optional along with onboot.lst and xcore.lst files one directory above the optional directory.

What am I missing?  I have searched but I'm having trouble finding anything that looks helpful.

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: PXE Booting with Multiple Initramfs - Extensions Won't Load
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 05:00:41 PM »
Try the netboot instructions in the wiki.

Offline tinypoodle

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2012, 05:49:56 PM »
Based on your description I couldn't spot a reason why that should not work.

Could you try to boot the same configuration with extlinux or syslinux from a hdd ext* or FAT* partition and see what happens then?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline sodface

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2012, 06:13:16 PM »