WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing  (Read 2917 times)

Offline robc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #15 on: April 27, 2012, 02:28:44 PM »
The getFlash11 extension has the ability to create older versions of flash11 into an extension.  Just run
Code: [Select]
~> getFlash11.sh FLASH_VER_NUM where the FLASH_VER_NUM is the flash 11 version that you want to use.  There should be a list of all the versions somewhere on the Adobe site...

Edit:
I am running 4.5 and do not have problems with flash11 in firefox and chromium.  Though, I also have 4GB of RAM.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2012, 02:31:01 PM by robc »
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #16 on: April 27, 2012, 02:33:35 PM »
rob

that is great advice and i really appreciate it.


so i run a terminal and

$ getflash11.sh (then the exact number of the required flash version)

i will see

thanks very much indeed.

V

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3852
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #17 on: April 27, 2012, 02:36:02 PM »
Hardware incompatibility issues with the last - literally!! - flashplayer version appear to be common. Known workaround: downgrading...   ;)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #18 on: April 27, 2012, 02:46:58 PM »
yes...wonder how many machines fail to run the new flash....jeeps

V

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #19 on: April 27, 2012, 07:16:33 PM »
quvi.tcz is in the repository.

it will parse video sites URLs.
then you can send them to mplayer for streaming

the invocation is
quvi URL --exec "mplayer %u"

from my days of using firefox, i remember there being lots of  plugins
that dealt with flash. flash video replacer always worked well for me.

i never felt adobe meant for flash to be a full fledged citizen of linux.
so I tried to avoid them mostly.

cheerio,
solorin
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3852
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #20 on: April 27, 2012, 09:37:49 PM »
There may be many more or less satisfying alternatives to using flashplayer in order to stream videos, but not addressing most other implementations of flashplayer content.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #21 on: April 28, 2012, 06:02:09 AM »
Yes Tinypoodle...

it just seemed mad to me that an adobe upgrade would not really draw attention about it's ram
demand doubling?. Wonder how many Linux machines will have owners who simply
can't work this bug out. They may not be on chat forums and just find they have a broken browser.

Maybe some auto script from adobe tests the hardware ram and only installs a working
version?. (but that didn't seem to be the case)

Yes soloran, your idea was mentioned before but it didn't seem to work. Terminal reported
it could find the --exec mplayer thing. (syntax?)

yes, ofcourse, there is minitube isn't there. Although that tcz was having some issues a while
back.

i have still not done the dmesg "ram count check" as advised by Rich. But i will do so. Don't really
know if ram is the issue yet, but it seems to be where it's headed to.

Tinycore is nice when it's working with a proper browser because it's low power keeps this laptop
silent. Nice for watching web streams and things.

thanks

V.


Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3852
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #22 on: April 28, 2012, 06:20:56 AM »
Yes Tinypoodle...

it just seemed mad to me that an adobe upgrade would not really draw attention about it's ram
demand doubling?. Wonder how many Linux machines will have owners who simply
can't work this bug out. They may not be on chat forums and just find they have a broken browser.

Maybe some auto script from adobe tests the hardware ram and only installs a working
version?. (but that didn't seem to be the case)

I never implied anything about amount of RAM, I referred to
Quote
Hardware incompatibility issues
If I needed to speculate, I would place an issue with amount of RAM as a rather unlikely possibility.

Forums are platfoms where users share experiences, and they get indexed by search engines...  ;)
More direct exchange of experiences could happen on IRC.

A browser can not be considered broken when some plugin from some 3rd party manufacturer is broken, and in particular case in question it happens with various browsers.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #23 on: April 28, 2012, 06:24:29 AM »
you need to have mplayer loaded

try with single dash.

cheerio,
solorin
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2012, 02:08:35 AM »
Hello

oh Tinypoodle. I had made an incorrect assumption about your initial hardware comment

 :-\

V

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2012, 03:44:15 AM »
soloron


terminal just reporst  --exec not found....OR ...-exec not found

i think it needs the correct path to my mplayer right?...which is what?

V

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #26 on: April 29, 2012, 07:20:17 AM »
my bad.

quvi URL --exec="mplayer %u"

should work.

No, you don't have to specify mplayer's path.
Extensions always put their executables in directories already specified by
the default path environment variable.
I think you can also use the video player of your choice, but I haven't tested it.

and, dude, try using the -h flag next time.
it will take you to wondrous places.
also please spell my name right.

thank you.

cheerio,
solorin
« Last Edit: April 29, 2012, 07:35:51 AM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2012, 02:34:41 AM »
I noticed flash was not working the minute that I installed Xorg, and, all youtube videos where just a grey screen, not sure if that was your problem but, if it is........ run this command .....

export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1 && firefox

I'm sure it will help somebody.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 637
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #28 on: May 23, 2012, 01:03:26 AM »
Hello

how many people are you getting reporting adobe flash problems?  (lately....3 weeks)

i assume the forum has 1000's of members some with older hardware right?

i can't get flash going ...any versions of 11.

V.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7876
Re: tcl 4.5 with flash web browsing
« Reply #29 on: May 23, 2012, 03:39:53 AM »
There is nothing we can do about it. Complain to Adobe.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.