WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Booting Without Having to Hit Enter  (Read 387 times)

Offline chisto_dex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Booting Without Having to Hit Enter
« on: April 01, 2012, 12:42:21 PM »
I am managing a server remotely using TC (apache, php, SSH) and I sometimes need to reboot it remotely. I decided to give TC a try and am currently using CorePlus since the machine is wireless.

Everything is working great and I've figured out how to reload all my configure settings from boot-to-boot. The only problem is, if I need to reset the machine remotely, I cannot be there to hit ENTER on the boot screen. I was just wondering if there was any way that I can have it boot into even the default FLWM topside option without having to be there to select it.

Online gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
Re: Booting Without Having to Hit Enter
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2012, 12:46:32 PM »
Google for whatever boot loader you are using.  They all have a timeout value and a default boot option.

Offline chisto_dex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Booting Without Having to Hit Enter
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2012, 01:03:14 PM »
Ohhhh, I feel dumb now. And thank you for the quick response! I guess I was just confused with the wording before the count-down: "BIOS default device boot." I am setting this up on another server from a flash drive and assumed it would then boot from the hdd if no action was taken at the end of the count-down. I apologize.