WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Webcam microphone not working?  (Read 5201 times)

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Webcam microphone not working?
« on: April 01, 2012, 12:47:43 AM »
Hi I have a Toshiba Satellite L745-S4310, i've managed to get all audio to work except the microphone. In alsamixer I do not see a volume for a mic. Suggestions anyone?

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4249
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2012, 05:02:52 AM »
Hi actionbastard
Try expanding the window horizontally.

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2012, 05:28:34 AM »
Hi actionbastard
Try expanding the window horizontally.

Uhm or press tab?

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2012, 07:47:16 AM »
in alsamixer, push on the "F5".
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2012, 06:54:45 PM »
Ive tried F5 and even full screened the mixer. External mic seems to work fine. But the built-in one doesn't seem to appear.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4249
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2012, 07:03:02 PM »
Hi actionbastard
Maybe you can't use them at the same time? If you unplug the external mic, does the internal one work then?

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2012, 07:19:52 PM »
Hi actionbastard
Maybe you can't use them at the same time? If you unplug the external mic, does the internal one work then?

I doesn't seem to work either. Perhaps I need to add a driver or something?

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4249
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2012, 07:35:43 PM »
Hi actionbastard
There is a control labeled  Mic Sele , go to that control and use the up/down arrow buttons to change it.

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2012, 09:15:52 PM »
Hi actionbastard
There is a control labeled  Mic Sele , go to that control and use the up/down arrow buttons to change it.

Hi Rich

edit:
I've added a link of screenshot. Here's what im looking at..
http://tinypic.com/r/4uxe7p/5
« Last Edit: April 04, 2012, 09:19:16 PM by actionbastard »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4249
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2012, 09:22:41 PM »
Hi actionbastard
My version is 1.0.23 and shows Mic Sele when view is set to Playback.

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2012, 09:30:38 PM »
Hi actionbastard
My version is 1.0.23 and shows Mic Sele when view is set to Playback.

Not seeing that either. http://tinypic.com/r/2indxf/5

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4249
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2012, 09:36:18 PM »
Hi actionbastard
Sorry, I'm out of ideas. Maybe someone else can shed some light on this.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2012, 11:21:24 PM »
Have you tried with setting "Capture" to each of the possible selections?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: Webcam microphone not working?
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2012, 07:01:50 AM »
Hi I have a Toshiba Satellite L745-S4310, i've managed to get all audio to work except the microphone. In alsamixer I do not see a volume for a mic. Suggestions anyone?
New Ideas..

which chip is in the microphone? Seems to be an hda intel according your print screen.

It took me 4 months to find the solution for making working the internal mic of my asus in ubuntu: I had to install a linux-backports-modules-alsa-generic package.

======content not probably for you, but just an idea how was the solution for me========
The only solution to make microphone work is to install linux-backports-modules-alsa-generic...

Just go to:

Menu / System / Administration / Synaptic Package Manager

And search and mark for installation:

linux-backports-modules-alsa-generic

tip: if you have multiple versions click on the first and read the description which should inform what name to install...

If after the reboot and mic mute is off, still does not work, just go to terminal and type:

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

and add or change the following:

options snd-hda-intel model=auto enable=yes

Then Ctrl+X, type Y to write and exit, reboot and mic will work.

==============

So, perhaps you need an additional package, too.
Use google for finding any issue with your card/chip; perhaps this is not only a setup issue via alsamixer.
And: I came to the suspicious idea it was an ubuntu issue (not hardware) because "archbang"linux tested in live modus (USB boot) on my asus, made the front mic working without any specific setup.
So, perhaps this is an idea too, in order to exclude a hw issue, play around with archbang or others.
.. dont forget to come back here and make your mic working!
« Last Edit: April 07, 2012, 04:51:00 AM by floppy »
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed