WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: QTweb  (Read 757 times)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
QTweb
« on: March 28, 2012, 05:35:59 PM »
Hello

In the near future it would be good for me to have qtweb in my library

How easy is it to make an extension of the type  "scm" of an existing Linux application.

.......Or to make a regular .tcz extension of QTweb  (web browser)

Where is the page of instructions on how to make extensions (.tcz)

thanks

V.


Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: QTweb
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 10:58:41 PM »
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:creating_extensions
Making extensions is as hard as reading and typing.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/4.x/x86/tcz/qtweb.tcz
since you are using it often, you are welcome to maintain it if you would like.

cheerio,
solorin
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: QTweb
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2012, 03:04:25 AM »
wow

you made it for me?

that is amazingly kind......i am so very very grateful.

QTweb has been on and off my desktop for 8 years...it's like embedded itseld
to me as a lovely lightweight browser with good performance...

ok, it does not have html 5....or anything of that nature...but it seems to perform
very well on old hardware....

that is SO kind of you...thankyou ever so much indeed.

i am downloading it now. i will Put it into local.

i will also take a look at making .tcz

you see, recently i have used "Opera next" and it's lovely...but even opera
does not get the performance status of QTweb on older hardware.

thanks a lot

V.


Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: QTweb
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2012, 07:08:03 AM »
hello...sorry but it seems that Qtweb.tcz won't work. It was a normal install from the app store
"onboot" but no icon or menu entry appears. Tried to start it from a terminal but nothing happened.
It is a clean "base" boot of TCL 4.3.1 with OSS sound installed first

any help would be appreciated.

V.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: QTweb
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2012, 07:14:37 AM »
hello

sorry....QtWeb is working correctly.  In the info it shows "qtweb" but in a terminal you must type "QtWeb"

thankyou ever so much for your time take to create this swift browser app for tinycore.

Vince.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4224
Re: QTweb
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2012, 07:18:46 AM »
Hi cast-fish
The files tab in AppBrowser shows no icon file or install script.
Quote
Tried to start it from a terminal but nothing happened.
Nothing happened, or File not found?
Quote
It is a clean "base" boot of TCL 4.3.1 with OSS sound installed first
If you are using the boot code  base , the extension won't be available.
Try starting it by entering  QtWeb

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: QTweb
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2012, 08:58:47 AM »
Hello

well as expected here, the "QtWeb" internet browser is working great.

As expected, this browser is giving my hardware "the edge" and everything is that much quiker.

See, it's a very old laptop...about 2002 and the bios is around that year...2001....but QtWeb seems
to have brought back that little bit of extra speed and "performance boost" on very old hardware.

i am not saying that this would be the case for everybody...on all types of old hardware...this specific
laptop is a bit of a dog..Compaq Presario 700.

ye

thanyou very much

V.