WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Changing extensions to OnDemand  (Read 1091 times)

Offline upstream

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Changing extensions to OnDemand
« on: March 23, 2012, 08:16:07 AM »
How can I change extensions from loading "onBoot" to loading "onDemand" using a command line interface?

Also, how do I start or load applications from the command line that have been installed "onDemand" ?

Thanks.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 08:46:37 AM »
1. OnBoot is represented by a simple text file located at:
/etc/sysconfig/tcedir/onboot.lst

Use your favorite editor or base CLI editor vi to adjust.

2. OnDemand from the command line is as follows:

To add for example flpicsee use
$ ondemand flpicsee

To remove flpicsee use:
$ ondemand -r flpicsee

Looking at your PATH you will see ondemand as the last location. So often you will just need to call the program by extension name to invoke from on demand, Subsequent calls find the program eariler in the PATH.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline upstream

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 09:05:02 AM »
Thanks very much.

So to change something from onboot to ondemand, just remove it from onboot.lst?

Offline Holmes.Sherlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Team Reboot
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2012, 09:34:06 PM »
What does it happen when "ondemand" command is used?

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline Holmes.Sherlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Team Reboot
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2012, 09:46:15 PM »
 :-X
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:persistence_for_dummies#selective_restoring_of_extensions

It says

Quote
This will add a script to the ondemand directory (in your path) that will mount the tcz when you need them.

Where will this script be added?

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2012, 09:56:01 PM »
apps (browser for tcz extensions)
apps -> maintenance -> ondemand maintenance
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline Holmes.Sherlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Team Reboot
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2012, 09:57:01 PM »
apps (browser for tcz extensions)
apps -> maintenance -> ondemand maintenance

But I am using Core which lacks GUI.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline Holmes.Sherlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Team Reboot
Re: Changing extensions to OnDemand
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2012, 10:11:55 PM »
need to change nickname? 8)

Not me, but better you change your nick to Holmes Mycroft  :P