WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1  (Read 1270 times)

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« on: February 04, 2012, 08:32:43 AM »
how to loop mount example copy of lvm2.tcz
 in time when it is loaded
 with 111 tcz loops extensions
and mount error [could not find any free loop device]

not including 256 loop option
 because it could be 300 of tcz

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2012, 08:58:05 AM »
Since v3.0 we have had unlimited loops.
Perhaps your issue is out of inodes which behaves as out of memory.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2012, 01:51:09 PM »
1GB RAM and 800MB free ram
so what is it ?

Online gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2012, 01:53:08 PM »
use "df -i" to check inodes.

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2012, 02:51:31 PM »
new tests and 'df -i' command result included in attach file
TC-4.2.1 installed in tce dir
 in Fat16 1GB /dev/sda1
boot with grub4dos with kernel boot options:
quiet nodhcp noutc laptop


first  in copy2fs.lst and onboot.lst 114.tcz's
mount *.sfs good

second in copy2fs.lst 100.tcz's and onboot.lst 114.tcz's
mount *.sfs error

third  in copy2fs.lst 100.tcz's and onboot.lst 114.tcz's
but add loop.max_loop=25 kernel boot option
mount *.sfs good

why? ? why? ? why? ?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2012, 08:23:34 PM »
sfs is not supported here.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2012, 07:09:03 AM »
sfs is not supported here.

what are you saying (not supported) it works fine
 not counting those loop error in time those loop number too small

and this *.sfs is *.tcz which is SquashFS v4 created in TinyCore
 with squashfs-tools-4.x.tcz so it is Defaults to 4096 block size
 so squashfs.ko.gz kernel support is the same
 or Newbie under my nick name is really good statute

Online gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2012, 07:58:57 AM »
He is saying that there is no support for .sfs extensions.
If you are running a respin you need to ask the respin provider.
Respins are NOT supported.

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2012, 09:49:26 AM »
ok now my english is too week
 what is it respin or respine proveder

why is loop file mounting error
 if loop.max_loop=??? boot kernel command not added

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4210
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2012, 10:02:49 AM »
Hi ibug
A respin is a copy of Tinycore that was repackaged and obtained from an outside source.
I assume these .sfs extensions came from some other Linux distribution. While you are free to use
extensions from outside sources, this is not the place to complain if they cause you problems. Try
asking the site where you got them why their extensions don't work with Tinycore and see what
they say.

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2012, 11:33:36 AM »
no it is not *.sfs files it is original *.tcz from
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/4.x/x86/tcz/
youst like written before
 example copy of lvm2.tcz

and I create some *.sfs file with squashfs-tools-4.x.tcz from
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/4.x/x86/tcz/
under TinyCore-4.2.iso with md5 b410a5a20a7adee41e5e4d39111a0541
all those misunderstand is to mount *.sfs befopre rename it to *.tcz
and even if rename to *.tcz it mount thesame

Online gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2012, 11:39:12 AM »
Until you can clearly describe your problem, and include the output of the commands giving you problems, you probably won't get much help.

Offline ibug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2012, 12:07:46 PM »
ok now will test under
81cdd3e69ec418ff950c2a22dfe8b239  TinyCore-4.3rc1.iso
starts from without one additional *.tcz

-----modify-----
and it is solved in TC-4.3rc1 by [this is saying] in polish.pl
[metoda prób i błędów] literally [trials and errors]

well do you want to know how ;)
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 03:04:56 AM by ibug »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7811
Re: too many loop error in TC-4.2.1
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2012, 09:00:55 AM »
Oh, you're using util-linux mount and manually mounting squashfs files. Known lack of feature in the util-linux version.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.