WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: No desktop after install  (Read 1591 times)

Offline Joe65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
No desktop after install
« on: November 04, 2011, 06:26:19 PM »
Using VirtualBox 4.1.6, Multicore 4.0.2. Live CD works great. Install seems to complete okay. Just no desktop after restart? Just get command line. Typing StartX command not found? Any suggestions?

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3296
Re: No desktop after install
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2011, 07:04:15 PM »
startx not startX.

Offline Joe65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: No desktop after install
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2011, 07:21:26 PM »
startx was the command, startX was typo. Sorry. Any reason why the desktop won't start?

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3296
Re: No desktop after install
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2011, 07:45:39 PM »
What does the 'version' command return?

Offline Joe65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: No desktop after install
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2011, 08:20:32 PM »
version returns  microcore_4.0.2

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: No desktop after install
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2011, 08:31:37 PM »
With microcore, you have to explicitly load the X related stuff.

Try adding

Xlibs.tcz
Xprogs.tcz
Xvesa.tcz
wbar.tcz and
flwm.tcz

to onboot.lst.  This should give you exactly what you would have with tinycore instead of microcore, so if you're not substituting something (Xorg instead of Xvesa or some other wm instead of flwm, for instance) you might just as well use tinycore.
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos

Offline Joe65

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: No desktop after install
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2011, 08:39:01 PM »
That was the problem. I was loading Micro Core instead of Tiny Core. I miss read micro as multi!  Installed Tiny Core and now desktop is working. Thanks for your help! :)