WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....  (Read 4717 times)

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« on: October 29, 2011, 08:35:25 PM »
Firefox doesn't remember my settings/preferences after I reboot the computer if I use sudo LD_PRELOAD=/usr/local/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so firefox &

Why is that??????????

I tested it a 100 times. So I'm sure it's due to running LD_PRELOAD........

If I don't run LD_PRELOAD after once again setting up all my firefox configurations than everything does get saved.
Example: Home page, how many spacers, the location of the icons.

I searched google high and low with no results! It's killing me! <Many people have complained before about firefox not saving settings but not due to LD_PRELOAD.
My problem is LD_PRELOAD , so how can I get tinycore to save my firefox settings and still use LD_PRELOAD?????

I tried deleting prefs.js and sessionstore.js BUT once I run sudo LD_PRELOAD=/usr/local/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so firefox & ,
ALL MY SETTINGS GET LOST FOR FIREFOX WHEN I REBOOT !!!

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
Re: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2011, 09:01:49 PM »
What I did with Firefox - not sure if this will help you - but it does work for me.

a) When running, Firefox settings are stored in

/home/tc/.mozilla/firefox/somefolder.default/prefs.js

the "somefolder" name is a random set of characters like 123ab3423.default (always ends with default)

b) so you type

cd ~
cd .mozilla
cd firefox
and you can see the folder name, then type
cd 123abc.default (whatever it is)
and you will see (should see) prefs.js

c) copy that somewhere to a hard drive, flash drive etc. - permanent media

d) next time you boot firefox will create the folder again (it resides in ram with Tiny Core, though there are ways with the Firefox profiles.ini to change where it sits)

e) go find the folder (new abc123.default name)

f) Firefox cannot be running when you do this: copy your saved prefs.js to the folder, such as

cp /mnt/sda1/mysavedfirefoxfolder/prefs.js /home/tc/.mozilla/firefox/123abc.default/prefs.js

g) finally - start firefox and see if the prefs.js stuck.

I wrote a script that does all this when my system boots.

PLAN B:

Using the mydata.tgz method, I believe you can do a backup before shutting down - not sure if it will save your Firefox, skype and other settings  (I think it might) - another admin would know for sure...
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11246
Re: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 10:07:00 PM »
Hi cURIOUSgEORGE
Try this.
Create a file called  Firefox  containing the following:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
#
# Ensure that the LD_PRELOAD is clear
unset LD_PRELOAD

# Export LD_PRELOAD
export LD_PRELOAD=/usr/local/lib/libv4l/v4l2convert.so

# Execute firefox
exec usr/local/firefox-official/firefox

exit 0

### End of File ###


Then make it executable using   chmod 755 Firefox
Then enter  ./Firefox   and see if it works any better.

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2011, 10:43:10 PM »
 I GOT IT WORKING NOW!! ;)

All settings are being saved as they should be with no configuration no tweaks ect...

For some reason when using sudo ALL SETTINGS ARE LOST but if I don't use sudo than everything is perfectly fine.
I don't remember why I was even using sudo in the first place but LD_PRELOAD works fine without it.

What a fu**ing nightmare !!! 7 hours!! GOOGLE GOOGLE GOOGLE Do this try that move this move that and than lightbulb "try this", errrrrrr, haha!

It couldn't be any simpler! ;)

BIG Thanks to Grandma & Rich for responding so quickly and trying to help.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2011, 10:46:10 PM by cURIOUSgEORGE »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11246
Re: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2011, 10:48:23 PM »
Hi cURIOUSgEORGE
LD_PRELOAD is not a command, it's an enviromental variable, just like  PATH  is.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10965
Re: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2011, 12:33:37 AM »
Using sudo you ran FF as root, and so the settings were in ram, in root's home dir.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Firefox doesn't remember settings when using.....
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2011, 08:42:36 AM »
-_- <--------- Uhhh I'm almost speechless Rich,haha and it's hilarious how sure I was that it was due to LD_PRELOAD, Hahahaaa

Thanks for the education though, I'm learning as I go. Thanks for understanding and excusing my ignorance.

Rich and Curaga thanks for the education. Later.