WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Update wiki "adding a desktop to microcore"  (Read 3369 times)

Offline nbt384

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Update wiki "adding a desktop to microcore"
« on: October 18, 2011, 05:39:01 AM »
Hey

I was wondering if somebody could update the wiki article "Adding a desktop to Microcore".

Also, do we still need Xlibs.gz and Xprogs.gz. Do Xlibs.tcz and Xprogs.tcz fulfill the same function?

Cheers

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14506
Re: Update wiki "adding a desktop to microcore"
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2011, 11:58:52 AM »
Also, do we still need Xlibs.gz and Xprogs.gz. Do Xlibs.tcz and Xprogs.tcz fulfill the same function?

Yes, download them as usual using the apps browser

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Update wiki "adding a desktop to microcore"
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2011, 12:41:28 PM »
For microcore from the command line  use ab version of appbrowser.

$ ab

Then Search, Select and Install from within ab the following:
Xlibs.tcz and Xprogs.tcz
Then your choice of Xvesa or Xorg
Your choice of flwm, icewm, jwm, fluxbox, hackedbox window manager or lxde, xfce desktop environments.
And finally and optionallly wbar

Then 'q' out of ab back to $ prompt
$ startx

Note:
microcore + Xlibs.tcz + Xprogs.tcz + Xvesa.tcz + flwm_topside.tcz + wbar.tcz = tinycore
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.