WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H  (Read 3232 times)

Offline Steve92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« on: July 10, 2011, 08:36:37 AM »
Hello !

I've spent the WE testing TCE 3.7.1 on my ASUS eee 1000H, booting from a SD card, and here are my comments I'd like to share with the community (they are not specific to NetBooks I think) :

Good points:

- starts very quickly  : i'm in Chromium in less than 40 sec. (booting from SD card) ready to surf on the Net (wired LAN) !
- stops very quickly : about 7 sec. (with no backup of course)
- no useless features, take just what you need from apps repository !
- quite quick for this small PC

Bad points

- non-US keyboard +[AltGr] key OK with FAQ tip (boot code doesn't work) except for Euro sign (I have to investigate further)

- Firefox 5.0 :
  application/extension links work only if application (vlc, epdfview...) has already been started at least one time
  ugly small font (it was nicer in previous release)
  no cursor !
  some windows open (not ad' pop-up) but I can't close them because  no [X] in the corner ! (I have to xkill window +kill Firefox ps!)

- Chromium : hyper speed but no ABP filter (install problem, the confirmation button quickly disappears)
  some windows open (not ad' pop-up) but I can't close them because  no [X] in the corner ! (I have to xkill window)
  no history purge on exit (OK if TC off with 'no backup')
  videos do not start directly from browser

- flpicsee : animated GIF not handled, slideshow KO

- epdfview : very slow on big PDF >1Mo (i.e.:bus map)

- foxitreader KO!

- AppBrowser : search function KO !!!(regression!)

- xarchiver : 7zip not handled !?!

- OpenOffice 3 : OK!

To do:

- find how to put resolution 1024x600 (I'm now in 800x600 :( )
- backup : none by default, if possible ?
- setup wifi

QUESTIONS
-----------------
Could you tell me your prefered software in TC for these categories :

Browser (Chromium, Firefox...) ?
PDF viewer ?
Pic viewer ?
Archiver ?

Thanks !

Regards,

Steve.

----------------------------------------------
FYI:

My boot parameters
-------------------------------
waitusb=4
initrd=/TC371/tinycore.gz
lang=fr
kmap=fr.latin1
tce=sdb1
BOOT_IMAGE=/TC371/bzImage

Started "On boot"
--------------------------
kmaps
alsa
flash10
chromium-browser-locale


Installed modules (about 300MB in /tce)
----------------------------
alsa
alsa-modules-2.6.33.3-tinycore
atk
bsddb
bzip2-lib
cairo
chromium-browser
chromium-browser-locale
curl
dbus
dbus-glib
dejavu-fonts-ttf
expat2
file
flash10
fontconfig
GConf
gdk-pixbuf2
glib2
graphics-libs-1
gst-plugins-base
gstreamer
gtk2
gudev-lib
hicolor-icon-theme
hunspell
icu
input-joystick-2.6.33.3-tinycore
iso-codes
kmaps
libasound
libcups
libevent
libgcrypt
libglade
libgpg-error
libiconv
libIDL
libnotify
libogg
liboil
liborc
libpci
libstartup-notification
libtheora
libvorbis
libxcb
libxcb-util
libxft
libxml2
libxslt
ncurses
ncurses-common
nspr
nss
openclipart-png
openjpeg
openoffice3
openssl-0.9.8
ORBit2
pango
pci-utils
pixman
poppler
python
readline
rox-filer
shared-mime-info
silgraphite
sqlite3
squashfs-tools-4.x
tcl
tk
ttf-bitstream-vera
udev-lib
Xorg-7.5-lib
xulrunner
« Last Edit: July 10, 2011, 02:55:22 PM by Steve92 »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7805
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 09:09:06 AM »
- euro is a latin9 character, you're using a latin1 keymap
- set your preferred fonts as defaults in ff
- backup default: see .profile
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2011, 09:28:39 AM »
Have you tried using the forum search function?
Search   1024x600   select section   Tiny Core Netbooks
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Steve92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 10:56:42 AM »
Hi again !

Thanks for Euro tip. I'll try.

For resolution 1024x600, after a quick search I understand I have to install Xorg for Intel and Resolutio915 packages that works for Intel 950 graphic chip too (not said in package help) and then configure xorg.conf .

I found this xorg.conf in a  live distro of BrowserLinux (Puppy) I have on my SD card too.
In the file I see 800x600 but BrowserLinux do start in 1024x600.
Strange, isn't it ? 
I don't know when it swaps from 800x600 to 1024x600.
It boots even quicker  than TC !

Regards,

Steve


---------------
xorg.conf for Intel_r__82945GM_Chipset162021
---------------
#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

# This loads the GLX module (if present)
    Load       "glx"

# This loads dri module (if present)
    Load       "dri"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "fr" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     220   130   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "HSD"
   ModelName    "3e9"
   HorizSync    30-41
   VertRefresh  56-65
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   Option      "PreferredMode" "800x600"
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ColorKey"              # <i>
   #Option     "CacheLines"            # <i>
   #Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ShowCache"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "XvMCSurfaces"          # <i>
   #Option     "PageFlip"              # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "intel" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
   BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 24
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       24
      Modes       "800x600"
   EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=Intel_r__82945GM_Chipset162021
--------------

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2011, 11:20:25 AM »
I have had much success with Xvesa and 915resolution.
Simply use appbrowser to download 915resolution to your tce directory.
Then add xvesa=1024x600 to your boot loaders boot options.
Reboot.

Works on eeepc900a, del mini9, hp mini 1030nr, compaq mini 110c

IMHO Using Xorg on atom netbook is too heavy.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Steve92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2011, 01:45:45 PM »
Roberts

Before reading your message I ve installed last release of Xorg for TC and I have now 1024x600 resolution  :) and it is much comfortable !
...BUT...sh!!!!t ... I ve lost my azerty keyboard  >:( because X11 crushes my previous setting.
That is much less pleasant !
I ve tried to modify xorg.conf but it is impossible; it is a link to a temp directory so.... grrrrr !

If I use Xvesa will I find again my azerty keyboard easily ?

Steve

Offline Steve92

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2011, 03:04:50 PM »
Great solution Roberts !

No need for Xorg, just 915resolution and a boot code.

On my SD card, in sysconfig.cfg, at the end of "bzimage" line, I put xvesa=1024x600x32 but it seems to be in fact 1024x600x24 according to TC control panel choices but it works :) .

I found again my azerty keyboard but still no Euro sign even with latin-9 keyboard, but it's not so serious, I don't use it everyday ! ;)

...and still no cursor in FF when typing in Google search field on default home page !?!
Strange but not so serious.

Regards,

Steve.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2011, 03:09:02 PM by Steve92 »

Offline killerhippy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2011, 02:37:49 PM »
Kernel options are to be placed at the line where initrd.gz is loaded, see isolinux.cfg at ISO distrobution. You can add whatever option you like tc has, see helpfiles, too (boot.msg, f2, f3).

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2011, 02:35:58 AM »
Hi again Robert!

I have finally got TC to work with the native resolution 1024x600 on my Asus EEE 1001PX and therefore I have resurfaced again. Thanks a lot for your input that led me on the right track!!! ;)

Have fun with Tiny Core,
meo

Edit: Now I just have to make the sound and webcam work. Any suggestions are very welcome!
« Last Edit: July 16, 2011, 02:40:04 AM by meo »
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2011, 03:21:14 AM »
Hi again Y'all!

Got the sound working but need to turn up the volume to the maximum to hear. Don't know if it's the right driver for this Intel sound chip. Any hints of getting the sound better would be most appreciated.

Have fun with this remarkable distro,
meo

P.S. Still have to work on the webcam that is built into the frame of the display D.S.
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2011, 05:44:08 AM »
Hi meo!

If you are lucky and OSS.tcz is working on your netbook then use ossmix to adjust volume.
ossmix is part of OSS,tcz.

What works for me is:

ossmix misc.pcm1 99:99
ossmix misc.pcm2 99:99

I have those commands in /opt/bootlocal.sh

Another nice extension to use is flit.tcz
It has battery status, time, and sound controls.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2011, 07:56:40 AM »
Hi again Robert!

I am using Alsa but will give OSS a try. Thanks for the tip!  :o

Keep on having fun with TC,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2011, 08:28:35 AM »
Me again!

OSS works just fine. Thanks a lot!  8)

Have fun working on improving TC further,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: TCE 3.7.1 on ASUS eee 1000H
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2011, 09:24:17 AM »
meo,

Glad to hear.

OSS is so much lighter than alsa. Tiny Core's Xvesa + OSS is ideal on atom netbooks.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.