WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Making use of GPIO pins on VIA VT1211 inside a HP T5520  (Read 2623 times)

Offline Project23D

• Technology Research and Development
Making use of GPIO pins on VIA VT1211 inside a HP T5520
« on: July 08, 2011, 04:27:18 AM »
Greetings all,

I'm new to hardware programming. I'm looking for a few pointers and here is what I'm wanting to do in a nutshell:

Using a thin client, HP T5520, it has a VIA VT1211 SuperIO chip that I'd like to use for a couple of projects. The basic idea is to use the GPIO pins to control LEDs and relays, and receive events from switches.

The LEDs are going to be used for display purposes; to show whether a mechanical device is supposed to be running or not, show stop or run of a mechanical or software process, etc.

The switches will be part of the HMI to allow control of the relays and software functions without the need of issuing commands on the computer's console.

So, this is a series of things that much be accomplished, however, what are some pointers for programming the VT1211 to accept and perform commands as they are entered in to the CLI?

anything else?

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: Making use of GPIO pins on VIA VT1211 inside a HP T5520
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2011, 08:53:27 AM »
That is what device drivers are for.
If one is not included in the kernel or as a module, you need to write one.
Try "Linux Device Drivers" published by O'Reilly

Offline bmarkus

• Administrator
    • My Community Forum
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2011, 10:03:22 AM »
« Last Edit: July 08, 2011, 10:05:11 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Tuftec

« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2011, 06:57:17 PM »
If you are not too concerned about Linux correctness and you just need to get soething going in a hurry, you can write directly to the machine hardware.

You need to have su (root) permissions.